Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Anime, April 16, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40) (DVD)
I love Fullmetal Alchemist. I heard about it online and began watching the show last year. It is amazing. The Elric brothers will do anything for each other because they are the only family they have. There are funny points, there are surprising points, there have even been some points that have been so dramatic that I have cried. This show has it all and so much more.

The four episodes in this DVD include 37 - The Flame Alchemist, The Bachelor Lieutentant and The Mystery of Warehouse 13; 38 - With the River's Flow; 39 - Secret of Ishbal; and 40 - The Scar.

Epi. 37 - A bunch of shorts about the military. Definately a must see for fans of Roy Mustang and the gang. The first is about Havoc, Fuery, Falman and Breda spying on Roy for profit. The second is about Havoc trying to get a date with Armstrong's sister (Very funny!). The last one is about an old ghost story about the military's barracks that has Mustang's group scared out of their wits when they explore the area at night. This was a pleasant change from the storyline.

Epi. 38 - Ed and Al are on their way to Ishbal and stop at a desert town to rest, where they have a fight and storm off in different ways. Al meets Marta and the brothers make up after realizing how important they are to each other.

Epi. 39 - Marta tells Ed and Al during their travels about the real reason of the Ishbal campigan. The military, which is stationed in Lior, finds the travellers and they return to the town. Ed learns that Lior became a violent region after he and Al exposed Cornello and explores undercover.

Epi. 40 - Marta, who had gone after Kimbley in terms of revenge, is rescued by Al. Ed confronts Scar, Lust and Gluttony in an alleyway and the two escape the Homunculi when Ed paralyzes Lust with an item of her previous life. Ed sees Rose again, who has become a mute after being captured by the military. Marta has gone exploring again and finds that the Fuhrer is planning to turn Lior into another Ishbal and the final Homunculus is revealed.

All of these episodes are key to the plot, and very enjoyable to watch. My favorite of the four is 38 for its balance of humor and drama. This is definately the DVD to add to your FMA collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rougher Journey Than They Thought, February 22, 2006
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40) (DVD)
The Brothers are on their way to ishbal and they have a new guide and she reveals all the dirty secrets waiting to be told. Internal Affairs investigate Colonel Mustang and Second Lieutenant Havoc has no problem putting together a pile of info on everything Mustang's been doing. Things get worse as Kimbley catch up with Ed, Al, and Marta and Al is doing everything possible to hide his new friend from harm. Contains Episodes 37-40, 37/The Flame Alchemist, The bachelor Lieutenant, & The Mystery Of Warehouse 13, 38/With The River's Flow, 39/The secret Of Ishbal, 40/The Scar. I have talked to some people who are saying the series is coming to an end on Cartoon Network but the Fullmetal Alchemist movie is coming to clear up where the series left off. The movie Conquerer of Shambala is most likely to be released on September 26th.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Anime, April 16, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40) (DVD)
I love Fullmetal Alchemist. I heard about it online and began watching the show last year. It is amazing. The Elric brothers will do anything for each other because they are the only family they have. There are funny points, there are surprising points, there have even been some points that have been so dramatic that I have cried. This show has it all and so much more.

The four episodes in this DVD include 37 - The Flame Alchemist, The Bachelor Lieutentant and The Mystery of Warehouse 13; 38 - With the River's Flow; 39 - Secret of Ishbal; and 40 - The Scar.

Epi. 37 - A bunch of shorts about the military. Definately a must see for fans of Roy Mustang and the gang. The first is about Havoc, Fuery, Falman and Breda spying on Roy for profit. The second is about Havoc trying to get a date with Armstrong's sister (Very funny!). The last one is about an old ghost story about the military's barracks that has Mustang's group scared out of their wits when they explore the area at night. This was a pleasant change from the storyline.

Epi. 38 - Ed and Al are on their way to Ishbal and stop at a desert town to rest, where they have a fight and storm off in different ways. Al meets Marta and the brothers make up after realizing how important they are to each other.

Epi. 39 - Marta tells Ed and Al during their travels about the real reason of the Ishbal campigan. The military, which is stationed in Lior, finds the travellers and they return to the town. Ed learns that Lior became a violent region after he and Al exposed Cornello and explores undercover.

Epi. 40 - Marta, who had gone after Kimbley in terms of revenge, is rescued by Al. Ed confronts Scar, Lust and Gluttony in an alleyway and the two escape the Homunculi when Ed paralyzes Lust with an item of her previous life. Ed sees Rose again, who has become a mute after being captured by the military. Marta has gone exploring again and finds that the Fuhrer is planning to turn Lior into another Ishbal and the final Homunculus is revealed.

All of these episodes are key to the plot, and very enjoyable to watch. My favorite of the four is 38 for its balance of humor and drama. This is definately the DVD to add to your FMA collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A roll of the dice, January 26, 2007
By 
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40) (DVD)
*Yes* you will read this same review on each of the DVDs for this series. I do not own them all as of yet, but have seen the series in it's entirety.

I am absolutely impressed with this show. The first time I watched any of it, I was not the least bit interested. I'm a definate anime fan, however, I'm very select about what I choose to watch (no sailor moon, or pokemon for myself thanks!). My original take on this show was that it was over-hyped and childish. At the time I was involved in another set of shows and was content, but when I finished those shows this series was rerunning from the beginning on cartoon network's adult swim, so, with nothing else to watch I thought I would give it another chance.

This time I fell in love with it, it has become one of my favorite anime's to date! The story is very indepth, and detailed. There isn't near as much "fan-service" as in other shows which can take away from the show itself, and it has relevant undertones.

I am a fan of shows like Cowboy Bebop, Trinity Blood, Trigun, Big O, FLCL (Fooly Cooly), Samuria Champloo, and such. If you share similar interests, then you may very well enjoy this show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner!, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40) (DVD)
My son loves FMA and I can always count on Amazon to have what he wants and get it here in a hurry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Condition, June 29, 2013
By 
WookieWifey (Undercity, Eastern Kingdoms, Azeroth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40) (DVD)
This got here in absolutely pristine condition, was on time, and I'm happy to be able to add another one of these to my growing collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SECRETS COME OUT, July 7, 2006
By 
Sesho (Pasadena, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40) (DVD)
The first episode on Volume 10 focuses on a more comedic aspect of Fullmetal Alchemist that has gradually dwindled from the anime but has been present in the manga of this title from the beginning. This abrupt switch in gears in Episode 37 which spotlights Colonel Mustang in a ghost hunting expedition right out of Scooby Doo doesn't mix at all with the more tragic bent of the show and comes off as a too little to late homage to the manga. Episode 38 follows Winry and the bookworm Sciezka as they wiretap the phone of King Bradley's secretary, a woman that was supposed to have died many years ago! The last two episodes go back to Ed and Al as they arrive at the ruins of Ishbal and learn about the role of the Chimera in that war from Marta, one of Greed's ex-minions that was crossed with a snake and is seeking revenge against the military establishment that killed all her friends.

I thought the comedy episode was really weak. It's too late to bring in the laughs now as a bunch of lives touched with tragedy are coming to a meeting, and with some dark secrets of the past being revealed, the humor is even less welcome. After that throwaway, the other 3 episodes made up for the non-beginning. The writers of the show are starting to get to the humanity of the characters, most ironically, with the Homunculi, if that makes any sense. You get the sense that the characters paths are set, and they have to do what they have to do and not look back. Whether it's Scar, Ed, Al, Winry, Mustang, or the Homunculi, they all have a reason and a goal they are trying to achieve, even though some of their dreams will lead to the deaths of whole nations. Great show.

I would also recommend the anime Scrapped Princess and Cowboy Bebop. Also the manga version of Fullmetal Alchemist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny anime, February 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40) (DVD)
This anime is funny. They're afraid of ghosts. There's some wierd stuff with poltergiests. The alchemy aspect is kinda wierd but enjoyable. A well rounded script for anime. This is meant for adults so don't get this for your 4 year old. It's not meant for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, August 3, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40) (DVD)
This show is one of the greatest anime shows available. The characters are good, as well as the story line. A very engrossing show for people of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE FOR THE FMA FAN, February 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40) (DVD)
IF YOU HAVE A FMA FAN, YOU WILL MAKE THEIR DAY, IF YOU BUY THIS FOR THEM. I BOUGHT ALL THE VOLUMES AND I BARELY SAW MY KIDS FOR 3 DAYS, THEY WERE BUSY HAVING A FMA MARATHON. WORTH THE MONEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fullmetal Alchemist, Volume 10: Journey To Ishbal (Episodes 37-40)
$29.98 $7.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.