Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good
I got this Funai player a few months ago from a wholesale club at a great price. My cheap CD player played out and I wanted to replace it with something more portable and versatile. Although skeptical of the brand name, I was sold because of its ability to stream Netflix movies, access internet radio, mp3 files, and SD cards. It's nothing to write home about, but it...
Published on January 1, 2013 by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay if you watch movies with the volume loud
okay before i bought this, i read tons of reviews between this and the sony 9" model. i decided to go with the cheaper one(cheaper by $75)(thats a lot of blu ray movies i can buy with that savings)
i pop in a twilight movie and am saddened that i get the feeling that i am in a loud jet airplane seat. now the picture is awesome, 1080p and the action sequences...
Published 20 months ago by henry birkenstock


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, January 1, 2013
This review is from: Funai PB750FX1 Portable Blu-Ray Player with 10.1 Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
I got this Funai player a few months ago from a wholesale club at a great price. My cheap CD player played out and I wanted to replace it with something more portable and versatile. Although skeptical of the brand name, I was sold because of its ability to stream Netflix movies, access internet radio, mp3 files, and SD cards. It's nothing to write home about, but it does what it's supposed to do quite well. Besides CDs and DVDs, I enjoy watching Netflix and listening to my favorite internet radio programs on it in my bedroom. The screen can be rotated 180 degrees.

CONS
1. Sound without external speakers is not so hot with the lid closed. It's okay with lid open but too muffled when I listen to Bible CDs with lid closed while going to sleep, unless I turn it up loud or plug it into my battery-operated iHome speaker (picked up dirt cheap at a big lots). With the speaker, however, the audio is exceptionally nice and clear--like night and day.

2. The player is NOT user friendly or intuitive. Without the manual, it seems impossible to figure out how to use all the different features. Although the manual is comprehensive, it is somewhat difficult for me to understand. I would not give the player as a gift to someone who is not tech savvy.

Overall, I'm extremely pleased and glad I bought it.

Update 1/29/2013 -
Finally taped a sticky note to my Funai with directions for returning to homescreen from CD screen--using the remote control pad--without removing current CD (though I think I have it memorized by now):

1. Click "Setup" key on remote
2. Click "OK"
3. Click right arrow
4. Click down arrow once to "Network" key. (It will skip past "SD card" unless you have an SD card inserted in machine.)
5. Click "OK"
6. Click "Setup" key again
7. You're back at homescreen.

Update 10/2/13
Playable Discs:
*Blu-ray Disc
*DVD-video
*DVD-RW
*DVD-R
*CD-DA (audio CD)
*CD-RW
*CD-R
*KODAK Picture CD
*DTS-CD

Playable Files:
*AVCHD
*MP3
*Windows Media Audio (unless contents protected by Windows Media Digital Rights Mgmt (DRM)
*JPEG

Readable cards:
*SD Memory Card (8 MB - 2GB)
*SDHC Memory Card (4 GB - 8 GB)
*miniSD Card with adapter (8 MB - 2 GB)
*microSD Card with adapter (8 MB - 2 GB)

Region Codes:
"This unit has been designed to play back BD-video with region "A" and DVD-video with region "1" or "ALL." You cannot play back BD-video or DVD-video that are labeled for other regions. Look for the symbols on your BD-video or DVD-video. If these region symbols do not appear on your BD-video or DVD-video, you cannot play back the disc in this unit."

Supplied Accessories:
*Remote control with button-type lithium battery
*AC adapter
*Battery pack 7.2V
*USB wireless Lan adapter
*AC power cord
*AV cable
*Owner's Manual
*Quick Start Guide
*Wireless Network Connection Guide
*Netflix Box-insert

"This unit can be used with AC adapter or battery pack."

Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its okay if you watch movies with the volume loud, May 16, 2013
By 
henry birkenstock (new york, ny United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funai PB750FX1 Portable Blu-Ray Player with 10.1 Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
okay before i bought this, i read tons of reviews between this and the sony 9" model. i decided to go with the cheaper one(cheaper by $75)(thats a lot of blu ray movies i can buy with that savings)
i pop in a twilight movie and am saddened that i get the feeling that i am in a loud jet airplane seat. now the picture is awesome, 1080p and the action sequences are not blurred like with crappy pc monitors.
so if you want to save money(or need to save money) and dont mind the loud whirring sound than this is a good deal. at $126. i tried to get used to the whizzing sound but when you expect quiet like during a hunting scene, you dont want to hear vzzzvzzvzz!

the speaker doesnt suck like other reviews stated, its just you have to crank up the volume to drown out the cd spinning sound. but a $10 mini speaker would help with the bass.
i decided to return it the same day i got it, hopefully amazon doesnt give me a hassle since i didnt pack it so neatly. 2 reasons i returned it, 1. it was already opened(dam fingerprints in the cd compartment, they must of missed those when they wiped it down for resale) 2. the cd spinning sound makes it appear defective, this was a 3rd party fufullied by amazon so i know amzn didnt try to resell a returned item as new.
end of the story, i bought the sony 9" portable blu ray model. the quiet cd spinning is very important to me to get into a movie like twilight where there is lots of crying to be done, and noisy distractions are not welcome.
but this is ultimately a review about the funai pb50...its a good buy because the price is supercheap, if you use it in a car its perfect since a car is kinda noisy already when doing 90mph on the turnpike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars was good at first, March 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funai PB750FX1 Portable Blu-Ray Player with 10.1 Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
i brought this and it was fine for a week. great sound and picture. then after one week nothing but a griding sound! this for
$400?

Stick to a known brand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Player review, September 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funai PB750FX1 Portable Blu-Ray Player with 10.1 Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
Having just received the portable Blu-Ray Player made by Funai (PB750FX1) I've had little time to utilize it.
The time that I have utilized this Funai player I've found it to be reliable with very good imagery on the screen.
The sound volume could be a little better for people like myself with bad hearing what with the volume fixed at a certain level.
If one uses head phones for listening to the program, volume is fine. The swivel feature of the screen makes for great viewing
while one moves about a room working on items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price., June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funai PB750FX1 Portable Blu-Ray Player with 10.1 Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
The picture is good, but could be a little sharper. The sound is so-so. The unit itself is a little too bulky. Other than that, it's a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great unit for the price., May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funai PB750FX1 Portable Blu-Ray Player with 10.1 Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
Fast delivery and the player has prformed as fine on the two times that we have used it camping. It is easy to operate but there is a little noise from the player that I notice when we are holding it close to watch although it is not destracting to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, May 6, 2013
By 
Billy Lubensky III (Montebello, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funai PB750FX1 Portable Blu-Ray Player with 10.1 Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
Product is as described!! Delivery was as prompt as indicated! I am pleased with the product thus far and think the seller deserves accolades! Although the volume of the product could be louder, this is a known issue, nothing to do w/ seller feedback. Best is the fact that it can connect to Netflix, Blockbuster via Wifi! Yes, the product does WiFi! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this DVD Player!!, April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funai PB750FX1 Portable Blu-Ray Player with 10.1 Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
This item arrived on time and in great condition! My toddler is able to play "His DVD's" by himself. It is great for the trips to the Children's hospital 800 miles away. I would refer this seller!! Most of all I would like to buy another one!! I have tried to get another one and everyone is out of stock!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not to bad, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funai PB750FX1 Portable Blu-Ray Player with 10.1 Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
speaker is poor, but all and all it is a good unit. Picture quality for its size is good, as long as you have an external speaker to plug in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Estatic over quality especially for this price!!!, December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funai PB750FX1 Portable Blu-Ray Player with 10.1 Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
I was pleasantly surprised with all the extras included with my purchase...free Netflix trail subscription, ability to access Blockbuster on demand, vtuner and "WIreless Lan" (device included). I saw nine inch DVD players in Targets for what I paid for this blu ray player!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.