Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Fundamentals of Microfabrication and Nanotechnology, Third Edition, Three-Volume Set
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 27, 2000
This book helps you explore the world of micromachines and miniaturization. First 6 chapters review and explain the methodogy of microfabrications including micromachining technologies available today. Chapter 7 compares traditional and non-traditional microfabrication tools for different applications. New device development and hot topics of micromachined packaging are explored in chapter 8. Nice up-to-date list of hyperlinked documents from all around the world is placed at the end of the book for futher exploring the world of micromachining and microfabrication.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2012
The content is ok but I totally cannot understand why the publisher chose glassy paper. It's like a mirror or Ipad. My eyes feel very uncomfortable when reading it for even one minute!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2011
This book is the single best resource anyone can have for microfabrication. It's incredibly thorough in the content that it covers and goes into great detail on not only what processes exist for MEMS fabrication but also HOW it's done, WHY it happens (the physics behind it), and even a history behind the processes. Even as thorough as it is, this book is still pretty easy to follow and requires little background knowledge on the subject.

Definitely a must-have for anyone that will be working with MEMS or nanotechnology, even if as nothing more than a reference book.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Feynman noted that back in 1959. Nanotechnology, MEMS, microfluidics, labs on a chip, and NEMS have all gotten a lot of press more recently. This encyclopedic book remains the bible of manufacturing at the very small scale. I do not know of a replacement book yet, though some sections of this one are getting quite dated, especially, as noted in another review, the clean room section.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2012
Pretty good distribution of the topics in the three volumes. Useful information about MEMS, NEMS and biomedical aplications. Pretty good paper quality of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2001
Nanotechnology and MEMS are among the active research areas world and will continue to be so during the next decade and paving way to new generation of taking an insight into micro world making this work "Fundamentals of Microfabrication" an important stepping stone for the better future. Marc J. Madou is internationally recognized expert on sensors and sensor instrumentation who is also a leading authority on nanotechnology and microfabrication. This book will functions hand book for beginners. This book helps you explore the world of micromachines and miniaturization. The Ten chapters cover in detail, topics explaining the methodogy of microfabrications including micromachining technologies available today. Comparision of traditional and non-traditional microfabrication tools for different applications. The book also provides discussion about quantum structures and reviews molecular engineering. Appendices offer valuable information in an easily accessible format. Hyperlinked documents are provided for futher exploring the world of micromachining and microfabrication.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2005
Comprehensive in-depth reference tool - this is how the book has been characterized by a university professor using it for his course instruction. I concur. Amazing amount of practical detail in one refernce. Dimensionally a bit large and gangly but likely would require mulitple volumes if in standard book size. The web page link is a nice feature given the fast moving topic. Cleanroom reference is out of date and could be updated given the reference focus. Text discusssions well written and unusually pleasant to read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2013
good!! very useful to me!!!
I want to recommend this product to my friends.
the color is very great apparently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2011
It covers a lot of material and has some good pictures, but definitions and equations are a little terse or confusing. The book is also heavy...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2010
I got my book from this seller in the exact condition describe and it came within 5 days even though I selected the most cost effective (and longest wait time) shipping. I would definitely buy from this seller again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.