Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME
totally recommend this book. Only thing is that the book is all about breakfast and is sort of stuck on eggs, oatmeal, and fruit recipes/creations.
Published on March 31, 2012 by Edith G. Janec

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nightmarish!
I don't arbitrarily hand out 1 star reviews, but this is one of those rare times.

I thought I was getting a book full of cute and silly breakfast ideas and recipes.

What did I actually get?

First of all, there are very few recipes in the book. And those that are there are basics like how to make a scrambled egg.

Instead, you...
Published 12 months ago by OutlawPoet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts (Hardcover)
totally recommend this book. Only thing is that the book is all about breakfast and is sort of stuck on eggs, oatmeal, and fruit recipes/creations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nightmarish!, August 18, 2013
By 
OutlawPoet "OutlawPoet" (My Den of Iniquity - Vistors Welcome) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts (Hardcover)
I don't arbitrarily hand out 1 star reviews, but this is one of those rare times.

I thought I was getting a book full of cute and silly breakfast ideas and recipes.

What did I actually get?

First of all, there are very few recipes in the book. And those that are there are basics like how to make a scrambled egg.

Instead, you get photos of faces and animals made with some very basic ingredients: Scrambled Eggs, Fried Eggs, Boiled Eggs, Oatmeal, Toast, Pancakes, Waffles, Cereal, Cottage Cheese and assorted fruits and vegetables.

Although there are a few cute faces and animals, the majority are hideous nightmares, grotesque, leering, and snarling. There were some that I simply couldn't figure out, a few too many that appeared to be nude or bare-breasted women, and the majority were simply freaky.

Even as an adult, if I saw these faces staring up at me from my plate, I wouldn't be amused or ready to eat - I'd be horrified and lose my appetite.

There are no ingredient lists, so if you do happen to like one of the faces, first of all you may be in serious need of therapy and second of all, it's up to you to figure out what the ingredients are from the photo.

Does your child love orange peels, mushrooms and olives for breakfast? This might be for you, but my child and I found this book hideous. It's currently in the recycle bin ready for pick up!

A disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts (Hardcover)
Just like it says - fun, healthy silly and creative ways of attracting kids of all ages to breakfast. Even little ones can choose what they want to make from the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book to do projects with kids, April 19, 2012
This review is from: Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts (Hardcover)
With the perfect combination of an artist-educator Bill and Claire Wurtzel created Funny Food, a book aim for children. But their breakfast ideas are equally well suited to serve for guests whether friends or family. You don't have to be an artist to create most of the 365 breakfast ideas but it helps to have some artistic inclinations. This is a picture book with photos illustrating the many, many ideas the authors came up with, most very funny. They may be simple and easy to reproduce but some are hard (such as reproducing Mona Lisa painting). Yet these are ideas, and once you tried a few, you are on your own to create a breakfast with your child from available ingredients. You must have ideas ready, work fast and have very warm plates handy so hot items like fried eggs, fresh pancakes or a bowl of oatmeal remain hot. Each creation stresses nutrition as well thus ingredients are not chosen haphazardly. The photos range from quarter-page to full page size and there is very little text. The four chapters include eggs, waffles/pancakes, oatmeal/cereal/fruit and toast/bagels/snacks. The book is small with sturdy splash-resistant pages. Great project with kids. (As reviewed for Sacramento/San Francisco Book Review.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Foods, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts (Hardcover)
This book was a gift for my son-in-law, who cooks Sunday breakfast for his young family. Everybody had great fun getting ideas from this great little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, creative ways of cooking, November 21, 2013
By 
Molly Hauck (Kensington, MD, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts (Hardcover)
Funny, interesting, creative, good way to increase intereest in eating good food, will be a great Christmas present for my grandchildren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The possibilites are EGG-ceptional!! (sorry.....just had to say it), November 19, 2013
By 
Andy Lyons (Johnston, IA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts (Hardcover)
What a fun and fabulous book of great ideas. I only wish I had come up with them. Great inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Food, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my former stepdaughter, who is a preschool teacher and who will soon have grandchildren. It is a delightful book, full of lots of creative ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny Food, January 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts (Hardcover)
This book is so funny. I love the creativeness of the author. Not only
do you laugh at the pictures, it's also a great way to start the day with a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big hit with the little guys!, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts (Hardcover)
Purchased this as a Christmas gift for my creative and energetic sister-in-law who always seems to have something fun going at meal time for her 4 and 2 year old sons. She seemed to really like it when she opened it, but it was definitely a hit a few days later when the boys woke her up having bookmarked the "guy they wanted to have for breakfast." She made the "parts" and they both had a ball assembling the silly faces. Lots of pictures, good fun and a great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts
Funny Food: 365 Fun, Healthy, Silly, Creative Breakfasts by Bill Wurtzel (Hardcover - March 27, 2012)
$19.95 $13.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.