Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars still walking
my husband wore a similar pair by a different maker to festival last year and could barely walk by the time the weekend was over. he said the difference this year was like night and day. these are much better boots. he really liked them.
Published on November 4, 2009 by K. brown

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be careful with these boots!
I know you get what you pay for...so if you're looking for quality boots that will hold up after multiple wearings, don't buy these boots. If you're looking for an inexpensive costume boot that will only be worn once or twice, then go ahead and get these. I bought several pairs of these boots for our summer production of The Taming of the Shrew. They look great -...
Published on August 17, 2008 by Jennifer Bogut


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be careful with these boots!, August 17, 2008
I know you get what you pay for...so if you're looking for quality boots that will hold up after multiple wearings, don't buy these boots. If you're looking for an inexpensive costume boot that will only be worn once or twice, then go ahead and get these. I bought several pairs of these boots for our summer production of The Taming of the Shrew. They look great - worked perfect for the costumes - but zippers broke and the bottoms of the boots (soles and all) came off - and we only used them for 2 dress rehearsals and 3 performances. We had to run get Gorilla Glue to make them usable for the performances.

Again, if you're looking for something cheap that you only need for, say, Halloween, then they're super. But they just don't seem to be designed for more than one or two wearings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do not Buy these from Costume911 !, October 11, 2010
By 
This review is from: Funtasma by Pleaser Men's Halloween Captain-105 (Apparel)
I ordered a pair of these to be fulfilled through Costume911. They arrived very quickly however the actual item that they shipped me was not the Captain-105 boots by Pleaser (Funtasma) but a lookalike set from a company named Plats (model 1401).

The boots I received looked almost exactly like the ones pictured however the sole of the boot was clearly stamped as size 13 (not 14 as an X-Large from Pleaser would have been) and so the boots fit a fair bit tighter that I would have preferred. These Plats boots also didn't hold up well at all and the soles were starting to peel away from the bottoms of the boots after about three hours of wear.

Overall a terrible purchase from Costume911.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars still walking, November 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
my husband wore a similar pair by a different maker to festival last year and could barely walk by the time the weekend was over. he said the difference this year was like night and day. these are much better boots. he really liked them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This product was just how I needed it! I am so happy with the height of the boot as well as the size. Great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad but not ready for prime time, August 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Funtasma by Pleaser Men's Halloween Captain-105 (Apparel)
I purchased these boots to be used as part of a Ren Faire costume, we usually go every weekend that it's open. First they are just a little bit "cartoony", the upper cuff section flares out a bit more than what I think it should(almost like bad Santa boot). and they are not very comfortable for all day long everyday wear.

Since I'm just dressing up for fun and not a character participant/actor, I don't need my outfit to be 100% period accurate, just was tired of wearing tennies or doc martins with my pirate clothes....so to that end, these do work.

**tip**
to make these more comfortable, I added gel insole inserts, and I wore these boots every Saturday and Sunday for 7 weekends strait and these boots are still intact and ready to use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice looking but gave me blisters, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The boots shipped and arrived with no problems. They look fine, but they did give me blisters. I know, I probably should have broken them in before Halloween, but how often are pirate boots acceptable attire? They aren't a bad purchase, but if you plan to wear them while doing any walking, make sure you have them broken in and that you have blister pads handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I like mine but., October 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Looks good but not good for ren fairs or s.c.a unless you plan on having them re soled by an actual shoe maker. They are thin and will rip if strained or catches on something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great boots! Waterproof, November 5, 2014
If you arent higher than a 12 foot size dont get large. Great boots ! Waterproof too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, August 5, 2014
By 
C. Douglas (Southern Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A little large but that us better than too small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pirate boots, August 9, 2009
This is an excellent company!! I would work with them again anytime! They worked with me to make sure I got the product on time, even when I ordered the wrong size!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Funtasma by Pleaser Men's Halloween Captain-105
$59.95 $28.99 - $70.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.