Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a closet classic
I feel compelled to write this review because this is a diamond in the rough. This is outstanding hard rock. If you like Grand Funk, Purple, Zep, etc. BUY this cd. It is NOT amateur night; these guys pound out some great guitar playing and the bass is that fun "rollicking" style of playing. Very active bass. Everyone does a fine job; the singer has an outstanding...
Published on September 28, 2006 by mbfthrasher

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RN / TP started here with this Iron Butterfly like lp...(pls. read on)
Three-and-a-half stars out of five
The original Fuse (EP) of 8 cuts, has
the two missing cuts added. Both have
Bun E on drums! Then it was on to Philadelphia
and Sick Man of Europe. This band was brought
back by Tom and Pete Comita in the mid'80's
when Jon B Brant was Cheap Trick's Bassist.
This isn't anything special, but it's pre-Cheap...
Published on December 23, 2005 by Rich The Reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a closet classic, September 28, 2006
By 
mbfthrasher (Renton, Washington United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fuse (Audio CD)
I feel compelled to write this review because this is a diamond in the rough. This is outstanding hard rock. If you like Grand Funk, Purple, Zep, etc. BUY this cd. It is NOT amateur night; these guys pound out some great guitar playing and the bass is that fun "rollicking" style of playing. Very active bass. Everyone does a fine job; the singer has an outstanding voice. I cannot emphasize enough - if you love 70's hard rock then buy this!!! I guarantee you will rock out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the guitar!, April 25, 2011
By 
Rural Rocker "Rural Rock" (Amboy, il United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fuse (Audio CD)
Having lived close to Rockford, IL, groups of us would travel to see Fuse on a number of dates in the early 70's. The band was excellent live, and I would say the same about this studio release. The band was tight and powerful, and I would add that we were blown away by the lead guitar, more than anything. I believe Craig Myers played lead at that time, and we always wondered why we didn't hear more from him in later years. This is a full 5-star rock'n'roll album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hard-rock - pre-dating & rivaling British peers, January 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fuse (Audio CD)
Classic hard-rock of the 70s - an exceptional keyboards-driven music, with roaring fuzzy guitars and manic drumming. One of the very few U.S. acts which should be placed as equals next to their more renown British peers*.
"Fuse" (released in 1969) is in many aspects is pre-dating true Deep Purple (In Rock: 25th Anniversary (UK)) and Uriah Heep, and one can easily hear even the ideas which later inspired "Baby I'am gonna leave you". The composing is outstanding, with a strong tendency towards acid-influenced progressive rock, each piece is endlessly evolving into new melodies - like a mini-symphony; there is no lack of creativity.
Rick Nielsen (of the future Cheap Trick fame) in his interview to Ira Robbins (very unjust towards his ex-bandmates) said: "we were big fans of the British bnds; we always thought British bands were the coolest" - to my opinion, "Fuse" outshines many of them.
In this aspect "Fuse" comes rather close to "Rare Bird" (As Your Mind Flies By), "Beggar's Opera" (Act One or "King Crimson" (In the Court of the Crimson King (Deluxe).
The vocals of Joe Sundberg are not high-register falsetto - powerful manly voice, without any efforts handling the most challenging parts.
At the same time "Fuse", which was ahead of time and far superior to its more successful contemporaries, remains one of the most underestimated and misjudged bands - in Wikipedia it is labeled as "pretty ordinary hard rock with a couple of interesting progressive influences", while Irwin Stambler in his "Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock and Soul", when writing about Cheap Trick, mentioned the LP "Fuse" adding "about which the less said the better" - only a totally unqualified person with strong prejudice could have written that (or someone who never listened to the album).
"Fuse" released only one album regretfully, and became another victim of brainless record industry executives. The founding members - Rick Nielsen and Tom Peterson - finally got rich and famous with "Cheap Trick". Nielsen in "Los Angeles Times" - "we have made certain concessions to commeciality" - well indeed. Whatever "Fuse" was, it was never cheap. Sure, it's a matter of taste, but "Cheap Trick" next to it sounds too "decaffeinated" and groomed for family consumption.

*It is widely accepted that the British bands set up the standards for progressive rock, and defined the genre. It would be useful (from that point of view) to listen to some U.S. acts - "Touch" (Touch) and "Ford Theatre" (Trilogy for the Masses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing heavy rock album, February 13, 2014
By 
This review is from: Fuse (Audio CD)
To many people Fuse is probably thought of as little more than a Cheap Trick footnote, as that was the group Rick Nielsen and Tom Petersson were in many years before Cheap Trick. In 1970 Fuse released their sole album on Epic Records, and it's too bad this album really didn't get much notice at the time. Maybe they were having to compete with the likes of Steppenwolf, the up-and-coming Grand Funk Railroad, and of course, overseas with the likes of Led Zeppelin and couldn't compete with them (the Fuse album doesn't have any songs that would be a hit on FM radio like those other bands mentioned). What you get here is some wonderful intense heavy rock, dominated by guitar and organ with psychedelic and prog overtons. "To Your Health" even features a little Mellotron, and in fact was one of the first Mellotrons ever brought in to the States (the US had the Chamberlin, but few rock groups used one, aside from a little from the Beach Boys at the time, and Harry Chamberlin frowned at the thought of rock musicians using his machines). Unsurprisingly Rick Nielsen had to buy the tron from England, as the Mellotron was not made commercially available in the States until around 1972. Don't expect any proto-power pop or a proto-Cheap Trick sound, but more of a proto-metal sound, another great album for those wanting to explore the roots of metal. The vocals are rather American in style (no surprise), influenced by blues and soul (the liner notes states how these guys were big on not just the Yardbirds, but the likes of Otis Redding and Ray Charles)., but musicially with psychedelic and prog overtones. A great heavy rock album that's required in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long search ended!, May 14, 2007
This review is from: Fuse (Audio CD)
Being from Rockford, and having worked as a carpenter remodeling Rick Nielsens house, it is a relief to have FINALLY found this on CD!!! I have loved the unique sound these boys put out since I first heard a friends dads vinyl L.P. copy of this album about 30 years ago, and have not heard it in for the last 18 years. Great tunes, my favorites being 4/4 3/4, Show Me and To Your Health. Rick Nielsen mainly plays Keyboards on this, but he does display some early signs of songwriting ability as in Show Me and To Your Health. The singer was only 17 years old when this was released, what a strong voice for a kid!!! Tom Peterson has to be one of the most UNDERrated Bass players in popular rock. Just listen to his tight, chunky-bass on this album, and he was only 19 years old! Each track is different, nothing seems repetitive. That is to say, the guitarist, keyboards everyone sounds different on each track. I can skip the Bonus track of Hound Dog, though, only because I have NEVER liked that way-to-often-covered song in the first place.Do not expect to hear any "Cheap Trick sounding" material on this album. It is Hard-rock, a bit progressive, hard hitting music. This is a very good album, played by a bunch of Rockford kids, and is highly recomended by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where It All Began, September 9, 2013
This review is from: Fuse (Audio CD)
This is where it all began for me. I ran around with Joe Sundberg's younger brother Mike. We used to go watch the band perform and mostly just get in Joe's hair late at night after he would get home from doing a show. Then Humble Pie came to town and we went to see them at the old amusement park, Sherwood Forest. They were on the Rockin' The Fillmore tour. It was the best of times as a teenager in the early seventies. Oh yea, The Fuse album. Not only does it still hold up for me some forty years later, it takes me back, "where it all began", every time I hear it. All I can say is thank you to the band for the musical foundation they helped lay down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MUSIC, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fuse (Audio CD)
This music by two of the founding members of Cheap Trick is just fantastic. Fuse was back when they were a local band from Rockford, IL in 1968. The songs written by Rick Nielson really put the band into motion. They all played really "tight" together. At that time I believe they were all high school band mates. All of the songs really reflect the times. Just listen to some of the samples and I'm sure you'll agree, FANTASTIC music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The legacy begins here..., April 5, 2005
This review is from: Fuse (Audio CD)
With two future (and the founding) members of Cheap Trick in its rankings, this album couldn't be that bad. After purchasing a copy, it seems it's actually quite good. Fantastic even! It has a heavy rock sound very similar to that of Vanilla Fudge (their debut at least). If you're at least a casual to semi-serious fan of Cheap Trick and/or Vanilla Fudge, then you're in for a real trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skeptically uninformed! My bad!, November 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fuse (Audio CD)
I've gotta admit I was prejudiced against this album and skeptical that it was anywhere near approaching a "heavy psych" classic LP. With two future members of Cheap Trick, Rick Nielsen and Tom Peterson, I didn't see any way it was possible since Cheap Trick is strictly a "pop" band. I'm here to admit I was completely wrong! The key is that Rick Nielsen plays rhythm guitar and keyboards on "Fuse" not lead guitar as he is credited on Cheap Trick albums. Craig Myers, the lead guitarist of Fuse gives the band a true "heavy psych" sound! This is one killer album! Five stars without question. My question is, what happened to Nielsen and Peterson that they would become involved in a lightweight band like Cheap Trick after playing in a real kick ass band like Fuse? I suppose the easy answer is that Cheap Trick sold a lot of records and made Nielsen and Peterson wealthy. But the price they paid was their musical integrity. Vocalist Joe Sundberg and guitarist Craig Myers carry Fuse through an incredible 8 track album which has 2 bonus tracks added, making "Fuse" clock in at a bit over 46 minutes. I am here to tell anyone with any doubts that Fuse is well worth the high asking price as this cd has been out of print for some time and who knows when it will again be available. So, if you are a fan of true "heavy psychedelic rock" bite the bullet, fork out the cash and snag this baby while you can. The highlights of the album? Every song! No filler to be found here, just solid, incredible fuzzed out lead guitar and gorgeous vocals, held down by the rock solid rhythm section of Peterson on bass and drummer Chip Greenman. I truly could not believe my ears when I heard this album. No wonder it was rated as one of the top 50 "heavy psych" albums ever released in the US, albeit rated in the upper 40s. I am completely blown away and can't believe anyone involved in Cheap Trick would be found on this cd! But what a pleasant shock! So, to all fans of loud, rowdy, garage type heavy psychedelic rock, grab this cd while you can. If not you will truly miss the boat! I was completely wrong on this one and am man enough to admit it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RN / TP started here with this Iron Butterfly like lp...(pls. read on), December 23, 2005
By 
Rich The Reviewer (Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fuse (Audio CD)
Three-and-a-half stars out of five
The original Fuse (EP) of 8 cuts, has
the two missing cuts added. Both have
Bun E on drums! Then it was on to Philadelphia
and Sick Man of Europe. This band was brought
back by Tom and Pete Comita in the mid'80's
when Jon B Brant was Cheap Trick's Bassist.
This isn't anything special, but it's pre-Cheap Trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fuse
Fuse by Fuse (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.