Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Small But Lovely Circus
The art collected inside the pages of "Fushigi Circus" is some of my favorite Mark Ryden work to date. And while each piece is amazingly unique and surreal in the way that Ryden's work always is, several of the previous reviewers are entirely correct: this book is tiny! Tiny, tiny, tiny. It is hard to appreciate an intricate piece of artwork when it has been reduced...
Published on December 28, 2010 by Jeannie Blue

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "More than entertaining, a real treasure to have & hold"
"Fushigi Circus" by Mark Ryden, 2nd Printing 2009 (Porterhouse) Last Gasp Publ. San Francisco. ISBN-978-0-86719-720-4. HC. 128 Pgs. in 9 1/8" x 6 1/8" (small) format. But, book format is less than awkward, reflecting perhaps the original back to front Japanese compilation with conventional introductory information on back pages, plus a bizarre pagination style with...
Published 17 months ago by Russell A. Rohde MD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Small But Lovely Circus, December 28, 2010
By 
Jeannie Blue (Long Guyland, New Yawk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fushigi Circus (English and Japanese Edition) (Hardcover)
The art collected inside the pages of "Fushigi Circus" is some of my favorite Mark Ryden work to date. And while each piece is amazingly unique and surreal in the way that Ryden's work always is, several of the previous reviewers are entirely correct: this book is tiny! Tiny, tiny, tiny. It is hard to appreciate an intricate piece of artwork when it has been reduced down to such a miniscule size. I would not trade my copy for the world; it is, afterall, still Mark Ryden and I find his work genius and inspiring. However, I would have gladly paid the extra money to have the book in a sufficient size so that the detail of the work can truly shine through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ryden's best book!, August 9, 2013
By 
Mo (New Mexico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fushigi Circus (English and Japanese Edition) (Hardcover)
I have most of Mark Ryden's books. I think this one is the truest to his nature. It is all written in Japanese but the various paintings are all so great that the language doesn't even matter. It's hard to put down. I'm very happy with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "More than entertaining, a real treasure to have & hold", July 19, 2013
By 
Russell A. Rohde MD "Owl" (West Covina, California USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fushigi Circus (English and Japanese Edition) (Hardcover)
"Fushigi Circus" by Mark Ryden, 2nd Printing 2009 (Porterhouse) Last Gasp Publ. San Francisco. ISBN-978-0-86719-720-4. HC. 128 Pgs. in 9 1/8" x 6 1/8" (small) format. But, book format is less than awkward, reflecting perhaps the original back to front Japanese compilation with conventional introductory information on back pages, plus a bizarre pagination style with standard even-numbered pagination at bottom left, but strangely on what would correspond to a tabulation page 124, the numeration switches to triple-digit style, but weirdly omitting pages 076, 078 (and thereby also omitting pages 077 and 079)! I suppose we must wonder which Ryden's images we are missing? Paper quality, binding, color reproductions, and presentations are nicely arranged and cropped, especially so for small format.

Ryden's "Fushigi Circus" has a lot to offer to aficionados of Ryden's style paintings, beginning with the surrealistic Steam Punk front cover, and the numerous 50-60 full-color reproductions of his (in my opinion) magnificent paintings. I was curious about his reversal of the pianoforte but not the clock dial in painting entitled "The Ecstasy of Cecelia".

Without question, Ryden created unique specific niches for his novel neo-contemporary style that is being mimicked by contemporaries (though they would make a similar challenge). I find the concealed eroticism; diverse symbolic surrealistic metaphors admixed with comedic, metaphysical, and whimsical themes entrancing. Ryden's innovatively differing recipes defies easy explanation, hence its mystique.
Finis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's pretty., February 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fushigi Circus (English and Japanese Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a pretty book, and not bad either for the price. I think perhaps one should do their homework before ordering it and find a book written in the language that you speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ryden is raw and wildly creative, October 28, 2014
This review is from: Fushigi Circus (English and Japanese Edition) (Hardcover)
Ryden is the master of this hyper realist edgy genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars been a fan a long time, June 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fushigi Circus (English and Japanese Edition) (Hardcover)
I've liked Ryden for a long time, now. Just adding to the collection! If you're not familiar with the artist I highly suggest looking into him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You'll need a magnifying glass!, September 22, 2014
This review is from: Fushigi Circus (English and Japanese Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a Chinese version, if you just want illustrations, this is for you. That said, there are a good number of pages that are blank except for a tiny photograph
of a Ryden painting. There are only a few close-ups.
If you are like me, Ryden's work is all about his fabulous detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fushigi Love-Mark Ryden The God, December 23, 2009
By 
Melanie M. Gray (Seattle WA,Visalia CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fushigi Circus (English and Japanese Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful Mark Ryden book.A MUST-HAVE if you are a fan!!Actually, A MUST-HAVE even if you are not!It's great to leave out on the coffee table and let people thumb thru it,and let the conversations BEGIN!His art is soooo unique and stunning!Truly a master of this time in American Art.Groundbreaker. The paintings make you 'feel' sooo much.Words just don't do it justice.You must see these paintings to truly know & love them.They have become 'good old friends" to me.A MUST-HAVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fushigi Circus (English and Japanese Edition)
Fushigi Circus (English and Japanese Edition) by Mark Ryden (Hardcover - October 1, 2009)
$35.00 $29.43
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.