Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 4, 2008
This movie is completely independent from the other two films, with everything back to normal at the beginning of it from when the last ended. It's pretty easy to follow along for thsoe who haven't seen the other two, or even the rest of the series. As others have mentioned, this movie takes on a D&D / Lord of the Rings feel to it as it explores the fantasy realm, but it's nicely explained as to why it happens that way. Everything seems to blend together well in this movie (the various subplots set up at the beginning join together). The movie also refers back to the original series and explains various things: a possibile origin between the Farnesworth-Wordstrom rivalry, more on the Mom-Farnesworth relationship, Nibbler being picked up off Vergon 6 as it implodes (and why it does implode), and a few other things. I think all of these add to what's known in the Futurama universe without taking away from anything, and fits very well in to what is already established.

I really enjoyed the movie, probably more than the other two movies. The one thing I didn't like so much about the DVD were the features. I didn't find them all that exciting. I enjoyed seeing how to draw the characters, and the genetics lab was somewhat interesting (but limiting). Everything else wasn't bad, but just seemed a bit short.

Features:
-Movie Commentary
-Storyboard Animatic for part one (~ 20 minutes)
-Futurama Genetics lab (you can choose two characters and see what they look like merged- but only for a small number of characters)
-Dungeons & Dragons & Futurama (~ 7 minutes, explains D&D references in the show)
-How to draw Fry, Bender/Flexo, Leela, & Zoidberg (~ 8 minutes)
-3-D modeling of various ships in the series (~ 5 minutes)
-Deleted scene (only one)
-"Blooperama," outtakes from the movie (~ 2 minutes)
-Bender's Anti-Piracy Warning
-Trailer for the fourth movie: "Into the Wild Green Yonder"

The packaging I got my DVD in was the cardboard "carbon neutral" packaging, in which the disc is put into a cardboard slit. I went out and bought a CD envelope to put in my box instead of using the slit.

The box did contain 4 Futurama postcards: giant Bender and Zoidberg (from the Anthology of Interest), Fry and Leela running away from aliens attacking, an ad to "Keep your robot clean" and a generic "The future is today, worry about it tomorrow." Even though these were mostly put in to advertise that these images were for sale in paintings, I kind of like the extra of having postcard-sized art ("One 'art' please").
33 comments|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 4, 2008
The first two Futurama movies were ok (well, to be honest, Beast with a Billion Backs was terrible), but this third installment is a winner. It has all the sly humor from the classic Futurama seasons that you've missed, and then some. I enjoyed the greater inclusion of Dr. Zoidberg.

The premise is quite true to life; the Planet Express crew must deal with the increase in dark matter fuel prices. This somehow segues into a Lord of the Rings plot which I won't spoil, but it actually works out quite well. We have an interesting tie-in between Mom and Professor Farnsworth.

All the old favorite characters are here too, including Morbo the Annihilator, Nibbler, Sal, Scruffy the Janitor, and George Takei. I didn't see Zapp Brannigan or Kif, but they weren't missed, and would've detracted from the story, or rather, the semblance of a story.

In conclusion, I think it's the unmistakable stench of dwarf urine that makes this Futurama movie a winner!
11 comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2015
First off: I have the entire collection; from Space Pilot to Meanwhile, on DVD.
Now that I have my PS3 hooked up to a 37" HDTV, it looks awesome, and I'm looking forward to getting as many episodes as have been put to BluRay...
I especially love the picture in picture commentaries...
Highly recommended for Futurama fans with HDTVs and BluRay players...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
The disc is fine, plays well but the packaging is terrible. Cheap cardboard sleeve that quickly ruins the surface of the disc. Scratches appear quickly after only a few viewings. You will need to buy a case to keep this disc in if you want it to remain playable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
If you like Futurama, Simpsons, Family Guy, Cleveland Show, Big Bang Theory, or other cartoon/nerdy shows, this movie (and the series in general) is a must see!

This is the 3rd out of 4 full length movies made during the time frame after Futurama was originally cancelled but before it was revived on Comedy Central.

There are some connections between the series and the other movies, but you can watch it individually and enjoy it. It might take a little while to get to know the characters, but even if you are not familiar with the characters, the jokes are still really good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
It's classic Futurama, which is like watching MST3K with extra deliberate visual jokes. Somehow I missed this when it was new, but it's worth seeing, unless you don't know the characters, in which case you should watch some of the show first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2014
The dvd arrived timely, perhaps a little too cramped in its package, but with a bonus - four blank postcards! I uploaded the image for everyone to see. I was happy enough with the quality of the item but having received the postcards I'm even more satisfied with the seller. Will definitely buy from them again! Thanks a lot!!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 15, 2008
I'm the target audience for Bender's Game. A lifelong gamer of over two decades (yeeck, I'm getting old), I also know and love the book by Orson Scott Card, Ender's Game. With the title alone, the Futurama writing staff is clearly letting me know this is the movie for me.

Bender's Game starts promising, with jokes about the rising cost of fuel prices. There's also a sly joke about Leela's anger issues, which are controlled by a shock collar. A shock collar Leela starts to find ... titillating. Just when things get interesting and this plot point could turn into something awkward and funny, it's dropped.

Bender discovers that he has no imagination and, aggravated that he can't participate in a game of Dungeons & Dragons, flips out Mazes & Monsters-style, renaming himself Titanius and wandering the sewers. He then gets sent to the HAL institute, Arkham Asylum for robots. This plot point is pursued to a point and then dropped.

Meanwhile, Mom (that's her name) has been controlling dark matter prices for years, but there is a means of invalidating her stranglehold on fuel prices. Professor Farnsworth accidentally invented "anti-backwards matter" which, should it ever encounter dark matter, would render dark matter useless. It just so happens that this anti-backwards matter is a 12-sided die. Hilarious, right?

As our lovable misfits build towards a confrontation with Mom and her Killbot goons, reality shifts and suddenly everyone's in a parallel fantasy dimension. And then we get, in descending order of comedic value: D&D jokes, Greek myth jokes, Lord of the Rings jokes, Star Wars jokes, Call of Cthulhu jokes, and did I mention the Lord of the Rings jokes?

There's actually more interesting material on the extras, covering all the allusions to D&D that have appeared in Futurama and confirming that the guys who write the show are hopeless geeks themselves. Unfortunately, they're not really boosting their own geek cred with this movie.

Look, I love Futurama and I love D&D. But this movie is all over the place, using tired, easy jokes for fantasy. I always identified Futurama as a series of in-jokes for sci-fi and tech geeks, which is a much broader category than fantasy gamers. The bizarre diversion into the fantasy realm isn't well thought out, isn't particularly funny, and not all that interesting.

Sorry guys. This is one D&D adventure that doesn't give out nearly as much XP as it should.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
MY WIFE AND I LOVE FUTURAMA. IF YOU LIKED THE SERIES (R.I.P.) YOU WILL LOVE THIS MOVIE. I LIKE THE FAT THAT SOME OF THE JOKES SLIP BY UNTIL WATCHING IT FOR THE THIRD OR FOURTH TIME. FUNNY, FUNNY STUFF. VERY WELL WRITTEN.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2013
This is definitely the goofiest of the Futurama movies. It's an long joke that journeys into a world half D&D and half LOTR. Even then, this is probably the best of the four movies too, at least for nerds like myself here. And there's lots of Roberto, who is one of the greatest one joke characters ever. Him and Hedonismbot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.