Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lick My Frozen Metal AxSS
Nothing is sacred to Matt Groening's Futurama, so buckle your seatbelt and get ready to take off again with the crew of the Planet Express. Volume Two leaps directly into more sticky situations for Frye, Leela, Bender, Dr. Zoidberg, Amy, Hermes, and Professor Farnsworth. Back for more episodes are Zap Brannigan and Kiff, (Brannigan's uniform is still waaaaaaay too...
Published on August 30, 2005 by Schtinky

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No "play all" feature on discs
I love the show, it's great. I just wish there was a "play all" feature for season 2, but there isn't.
Published 11 months ago by Janine Hillard


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lick My Frozen Metal AxSS, August 30, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Volume Two (DVD)
Nothing is sacred to Matt Groening's Futurama, so buckle your seatbelt and get ready to take off again with the crew of the Planet Express. Volume Two leaps directly into more sticky situations for Frye, Leela, Bender, Dr. Zoidberg, Amy, Hermes, and Professor Farnsworth. Back for more episodes are Zap Brannigan and Kiff, (Brannigan's uniform is still waaaaaaay too short!) and more of Mom from Mom's Robot Company.

The only problem with Volume Two is that, again, there is not 'Play All' option on the discs, which is really annoying. You have to start each episode separately and hit Play a second time. (This is fixed by Volume Three). There are more commentaries and deleted scenes though, available for each episode.

Here's a rundown of the episodes:

Disc One:

Episode One-I Second That Emotion.

Nibbler chips a tooth biting Bender's hinder. Everyone makes a fuss over Nibbler and Bender gets jealous. Bender flushes Nibbler down the toilet. Bender has to wear an emotion chip tuned to Leela's frequency so he will feel her pain of loss. Everyone winds out down in the sewer looking for nibbler and finds the mutants colony.

Episode Two-Brannigan, Begin Again.

Zapp and Kiff are stripped of their titles for destroying the DOOP station. This episode spoofs Midnight Cowboy in a hilarious, side-clutching parody. Professor Farnsworth hires Zapp and Kiff. Zapp fools Bender and Frye into mutiny against Leela, but then they have to reinstate her so she can save the day.

Episode Three-A Head In The Polls.

It's election day. Bender sells his body for cash, and Richard Nixon's head buys it to run for presidency against clones John Jackson and Jack Johnson. Leela and Frye have to help Bender get his body back and get Nixon out of the presidential race.

Episode Four-Xmas Story.

Nothing says xmas like a roaring fire and a super-squirter full of cognac. The crew visits the Catskills on a ski trip. The skiing is sidesplitting, especially the professors and Zoidberg's. In Xmas of the future, the robot Santa Clause's standards are too high, so *everybody* is naughty. If you are caught out after dark, Santa will cut your head off. Not one for the kiddies. "I'm going to shove coal so far up your stocking you'll be coughing out diamonds."

Episode Five-Why Must I Be A Crustacean In Love?

One of my favorites! Dr. Zoidberg becomes heavy with male jelly, and must visit his old scuttling grounds on his home planet for the mating frenzy. But Edna, the female of Zoidberg's interest, becomes infatuated with Frye. Zoidberg challenges Frye to Claw-Plock, a fight to the death.

Disc Two:

Episode Six-The Lesser Of Two Evils.

While driving an old fashioned automobile at the Past-O-Rama, fry hits another bending unit named Flexo. Bender and Flexo become friends. The professor takes everyone into his bed to show off the jumbonion atom they have to deliver to the Miss Parallel Universe Contest. The crew requests a more comfortable setting for the showing, so Farnsworth takes them to the bath. The atom is stolen on the trip to the Contest, and Flexo is suspected.

Episode Seven-Put Your Head On My Shoulder.

Amy buys a new car and takes Frye on a drive to Mercury, where they run out of gas. Amy and Frye become an item afterward. But when Frye tries to break up with Amy by taking Zoidberg with them on a trip to Europa, Zoidberg crashes the car and has to attach Frye's head onto Amy's body.

Episode Eight-Raging Bender.

Hermes comes back from vacation with a brain slug on his head. In an incident at an 'All My Circuits' movie, Bender accidentally takes down The Masked Unit and is recruited for Ultimate Robot Fighting as Bender The Offender. When he looses popularity, he has to wear a tutu and fight as The Gender Bender. But the fight is really between Leela and an old acquaintance that hurt her feelings a long time ago.

Episode Nine-A Bicyclops Built For Two.

Everyone enters the internet, and spends time in chat rooms. During a virtual reality game, Leela finds one of her own species but Frye destroys him. Now she has to find him in real life. When he contacts her, she abandons a delivery to visit him, but discovers he's not what he says he is. This episode spoofs 'Married With Children'.

Episode Ten-A Clone Of My Own.

It's Professor Farnsworth's 150th birthday. Faced with his own mortality, he presents a clone he created 12 years ago from one of the shapelier growths on his back. Hubert Farnsworth. Hubert is such a brat that the Professor calls the Sunset Robots to take him away. Now the crew must find him and bring him back.

Disc three:

Episode Eleven-How Hermes Requisitioned His Groove Back.

Hermes makes a mistake and is demoted by the Central Bureaucracy and forced onto paid vacation. Morgan, a level 19 bureaucrat, replaces him, and is turned on by Frye's filthiness. (Dirty Boy! Dirty Boy!) Morgan takes Bender's brain because Bender catches her with Frye. It's up to Hermes, who knows his way around Bureaucracy, to save the day.

Episode Twelve-The Deep South.

Instead of a pet license for Nibble, Hermes requisitions a mandatory fishing license. So the crew goes fishing. Bender catches a colossal big mouth bass that pulls the ship underwater. Frye meets a mermaid named Umbriel from the Lost City of Atlanta.

Episode Thirteen-Bender Gets Made.

Bender causes an accident on the Elzar show (digs on Emeril) and has to work off a debt. He falls into company with the robot mafia, and has to assist them on a heist of Zuban cigars from Leela and Frye.

Episode Fourteen-Mother's Day.

Mom is back! The bony, chainsmoking old woman in the mechanical fat suit. Mom has always hated mother's day, so she programs all the robots to rebel against humans unless she is elected Supreme Overlord of Earth. Mom is grumpy because Dr Farnsworth once played 'pelvic pinochle' with her, and she misses him. Now Farnsworth must step up and steal Mom's bra.

Episode Fifteen-The Problem With Popplers.

This is one of my very favorites. Two days away from earth with no food, the Planet Express stops at a remote planet for food. They find a hole filled with fried shrimp and discover they are delicious. Frye says, "They're kind of like $ex, except I'm having them." Bender starts selling popplers and their franchise is bought by Fishy Joe's. But Leela discovers Popplers are intelligent, and while trying to ban the consumption of them, the popplers violent space parents show up. Zap Brannigan is back as negotiator.

Disc Four:

Episode Sixteen-Anthology of Interest 1.

Professor Farnsworth activates his "What If" machine. Bender wonders, 'What if I were 500 feet tall?', Leela asks 'What if I were more impulsive?', and Frye asks 'What if I never fell into the freezer?'. Guest stars Steven Hawking, Nichelle Nicols, and ex-VP Al Gore.

Episode Seventeen-War Is The H Word.

Love this episode too! Frye and Bender join the army to get their 5% discount on ham-flavored gum, but are sent to war. Leela must enroll as a man to save them, because Zap Brannigan doesn't allow women in the armed forces. Spoofs M.A.S.H. Bender becomes a hero and is planted with a bomb set to explode when he says the word "AxSS". Time is short for Leela and Frye to save him. Very funny shower scene in this episode, plus the hilarious scene where Henry Kissinger's head tells the Ball-People that, in war, we've all seen too many body bags and ball sacks.

Episode Eighteen-The Honking.

Bender's uncle dies and leaves him his castle, on the condition that he spends one night in it. The crew stays the night, but Bender becomes haunted by a strange car. After consulting a circus fortune telling booth, Bender discovers he's a Were-car. This episode makes fun of Christine and Dracula.

Episode Ten-The Cryonic Woman.

Bender and Frye steal the Planet Express ship and go for a joyride. Leela is held responsible and all three are fired. Through an employment chip mix-up, Frye gets a job as cryogenic counselor in charge of waking freezers. He is surprised to see his old girlfriend Michelle waking up in the future. Michelle doesn't fit in and convinces Frye to go to the future with her. Guest stars Paulie Shore.

As in Volume One, the humor of Futurama is adult and racy, but campy and hilariously enjoyable. It's a warped comedy with a naughty sense of humor, so if that is your cup of tea, run out and grab all four seasons! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Season, May 5, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Futurama: Volume Two (DVD)
This dvd will have the production season 2, meaning that instead of 16 episodes it will have 19 with 3 that were aired in season 3. The episodes are all very good, having some of my favorites. The episodes and a brief description are as follows:
I Second That Emotion: The professor installs an empathy chip in Bender when he flushes Nibbler down the toilet.
Brannigan Begin Again: Zapp Brannigan gets a job at planet express.
A Head in the Polls: Bender sells his body for profit and it goes to Richard Nixon who runs for president of earth.
Xmas Story: In year 3000, Santa Claus is an Eight-Foot Robot that everyone fears.
Why Must I Be a Crustacean in Love: Zoidberg is back to his home planet for mating season.
Put Your Head on My Shoulder: Fy and Amy start an office romance before Valentines day.
Lesser of Two Evils: The professor hires Flexo a robot who looks exactly like Bender.
Raging Bender: Bender becomes a superstar in the brutal Ultimate Robot Fighting League.
A Bicyclops Built for Two: While online Leela meets the last remaining male cyclops.
A Clone of My Own: Professor Farnsworth revives his clone and goes for retirement at the "near death star."
How Hermes Requisitioned His Groove Back: Hermes is sent on vacation and is replaced by Morgan Proctor, an attractive woman that has a crush on Fry.
The Deep South: After their ship sinks on a fishing trip, the crew has to build a town under the sea and Fry finds love in a mermaid.
Bender Gets Made: The secret robot mafia recruits Bender.
My Problem With Popplers: The crew lands on an unknown planet and discover a rare and strangely addictive kind of life called popplers.
Mother's Day: Mom, founder of Mom's Friendly Robot Company, enlists all robots in an attempt of world domination.
Anthology of Interest I: Professor Farnsworth creates a "what if" machine. Bender wonders what if he's 500 ft. tall, Leela is a little bit more impulsive, and what if Fry would have never been frozen 1000 years ago?
War is the H-Word:Bender and Fry volunteer for military duty to enjoy the benefits of the soldiers's discount only to have war break out later that day.
The Honking:A curse turns Bender into a were-car and tries to run over Fry.
The Cryonic Woman: Fry and Bender get everyone fired after joy-riding in the planet express ship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


165 of 200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Reason To Hate FOX...For Cancelling this show., April 15, 2003
By 
Brett D. Miller (Boothwyn, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Futurama: Volume Two (DVD)
The Pitts.... still on the air
Cedric the Entertainer.... still on the air
30 Seconds to Fame.... still on the air
Futurama.... Cancellation Announced
You have got to be kidding me. Shows like Cedric, The Pitts, and 30 Seconds to fame...not to mention Married by America, Temptation Island 3, and Wanda at Large still get production dollars, but they are cutting Futurama, and they already cancelled the Family Guy? Jeez. There truly is no accounting for taste. Futurama really hits it's stride in Season 2, but even Season 1 was sharp, and well written. Buy this DVD and you will be turned on to the best show you've never seen. Trust me and everyone else that write a review for this DVD set, you will be glad you bought it. And try out Season 1 and the Family Guy Seasons 1 and 2. Now that is MUST SEE TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have, October 17, 2005
By 
Mr. Neil "Neil" (Planet Earth, Galaxy Milky Way) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Volume Two (DVD)
What can I say that hasn't been said already? If you're a huge Futurama fan, then you owe it to yourself to have this collection. Lots of goodies for true fans. There's commentary on every episode as well as animatics and deleted scenes. The alien alphabet is also present.

There are only a couple negative things I can really say. For one thing, there's no play-all feature. It's such a glaring omission that I was actually astonished to see that it wasn't there. The other bad thing is that there's only five episodes per disc. I've seen many season collections of other shows that had as many as eight. Since Season 1 is so much shorter, they probably should have bundled the two seasons together on five discs total.

But these are negligible. I say buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn you Fox!, May 16, 2005
This review is from: Futurama: Volume Two (DVD)
I have a bone to pick with Fox as I'm sure other people do. What's with their cancellations? It's like they just can't get enough of them. If you watched the beginning of Family Guy's Season 4 premiere(which by the way was cancelled at one point too) you would've seen a loooong list of shows. They cancelled(sort of, I'll get to that) Futurama which is really too bad. This review covers season highlights.

Season premiere(for this disc anyway) is I Second That Emotion which has Bender's emotional frequency tuned to Leela's which makes him quite depressed about flushing her pet, Nibbler. Zapp Brannigan is court-martialed and working for Planet Express in Brannigan Begin Again.

Zoidberg tries to find love in Why Must I Be a Crustacean in Love where he and Fry have to battle to the death after Fry accidentally makes Zoidberg's love interest love him instead. The Deep South has the crew find the lost underwater city of Atlanta and Fry falling for a mermaid.

The Problem with Popplers is about the latest food sensation: popplers, little chicken nugget-style food from a planet which are actually baby creatures. The first of what was supposed to be I bet a tradition similar to Simpsons Treehouse of Horror is Anthology of Interest I where the Professor invents a What-If machine, prompting the crew to ask what would happen if...

War is the H-Word has Fry and Bender joining the Army and being set to a planet full of balls. Fry's cowardice makes him Kif's assistant and Bender becomes a tool for the Army. Contains probably the funniest newspaper headline I've seen.

And in the "season finale" Cryonic Woman, Fry finds that his cheating girlfriend from 1999 froze herself and is now in the 31st century and being extremely weirded out. They decide to skip it and be frozen until year 4000 which is a post-apocalyptic warzone. Little do they know it's L.A.

If you're curious about Futurama's "cancellation", it was never officially cancelled but put on a big long hiatus. Kind of like a bike you keep in the shed even though you could fix it up, you just leave it there. Same with the show. Fox can pick it up but since the creators all went to work on separate projects, it's best to call it cancelled which is too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Fantastic Addition to any fan of these type of shows, August 3, 2003
This review is from: Futurama: Volume Two (DVD)
Simpsons, Family Guy, King of the Hill, Futurama. These 4 "Adult" Cartoon shows broadcast by Fox are all great in their own way. Sadly Family Guy and Futurama, which i thought could have even beat the Simpsons were cancelled after only a short run. I don't know what fox was thinking but Family Guy never really got established. Back to Futrama however, unlike the Simpsons, it's first season, since it was started by Matt Groening in about 1999, had highly polished and well done animation. Also unlike the simpsons, its animation hasnt changed drastically which I think is fine cause it's really great. The first season was awesome, the only drawback was its 13 episodes is a little short. This, along with simpsons season 3 are the ones I've been waiting for. All episodes from season 2 plus three from season 3 are rumored to be on this set. The complete list is as follows (19 episodes) Running Time: over 7 hours =)
1. I second that emotion
2. Brannigan begin again
3. A head in the polls
4. Xmas story
5. Why must I be a crustacean in love?
6. Put your head on my shoulder
7. Lesser of two evils
8. Raging bender
9. A bicyclops built for two
10.How Hermes requisitioned his groove back
11.A clone of my own
12.The deep south
13.Bender gets made (AKA Bendfellas)
14.The problem with popplers
15.Mother's day
16.Anthology of interest I
17.War is the h-word
18.The honking
19.The cryonic woman
Bottom Line:
Pure Genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious animated series..., April 19, 2005
This review is from: Futurama: Volume Two (DVD)
A brainchild of Simpsons creator Matt Groening, Futurama launched itself into homes across the galaxy in Spring 1999. Employing the same quick wit and visual humor that has made The Simpsons one of the most successful shows in television history, Futurama (despite its early cancellation in August 2003) maintains its own loyal cult following...

Set one thousand years in the future, Futurama follows the life of a modern day American pizza delivery boy named Fry who finds himself reanimated 1,000 years after being accidentally cryogenically frozen. Brought back to life, Fry hunts down his great, great, great nephew - a tinkering scientist named Professor Farnsworth - and spends his days working for his distant relative's intergalactic delivery service alongside good friends, Leela (a female Cyclops) and Bender (a morally-challenged robot). As the characters (usually Fry and Bender) engage in various schemes throughout the universe, Professor Farnsworth and his crew meet up with a number of interesting characters and civilizations...

The Futurama (Season 2) DVD offers a number of hilarious episodes including "Brannigan Begin Again" in which Zapp Brannigan begins working for Planet Express. Convincing Fry and Bender to conspire against Leela, he's elected the ship's new captain, but is forced to put Leela back in charge when he can't handle the situation... Other notable episodes from Season 2 include "Xmas Story" in which Christmas involves the destructive exploits of an evil robot Santa Claus (John Goodman) who punishes all people and "Raging Bender" in which Bender joins a the Ultimate Robot Fighting League (URFL), learning that it's really fixed - just like a modern day form of "fighting" entertainment... Season 2 features a new and more complex proprietary alien language which can be found on various signs and billboards throughout the Futurama galaxy...

Below is a list of episodes included on the Futurama (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 14 (I Second That Emotion)

Episode 15 (Brannigan Begin Again)

Episode 16 (A Head in the Polls)

Episode 17 (Xmas Story)

Episode 18 (Why Must I Be a Crustacean in Love)

Episode 19 (Put Your Head on My Shoulder)

Episode 20 (The Lesser of Two Evils)

Episode 21 (Raging Bender)

Episode 22 (A Bicyclops Built For Two)

Episode 23 (How Hermes Requisitioned His Groove Back)

Episode 24 (A Clone of My Own)

Episode 25 (The Deep South)

Episode 26 (Bender Gets Made)

Episode 27 (The Problem with Popplers)

Episode 28 (Mother's Day)

Episode 29 (Anthology of Interest I)

Episode 30 (The Honking)

Episode 31 (War is the H-Word)

Episode 32 (The Cryonic Woman)

The DVD Report
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Futurama is one of the best, July 15, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Volume Two (DVD)
Futurama Volume 2 is a great buy for the Futurama fan. Hey, it was only on 5 seasons so it's easy to own the entire collection. Still, I wish it would come back. Volume two continues to amuse with its sharp wit and creative stories... and some not so creative. Some quick humor as well as some pretty lame puns makes it fun to watch. Hey, whatever makes you laugh right? Seasons 3, 4, and 5 will soon be added to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars futurama vol. 2...., September 24, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Volume Two (DVD)
I'm not going to review Futurama itself, if you want to read my review about this show, you're welcome to read my review of "Futurama Vol. 1", instead, i'll go to review the DVDs themselves.
Video: Excellent! nothing to complain! this show since the first volume looks top-notch... the blend of 2D and 3D animation couldn't look better.
Audio: Booooo! Hissss! Again, Fox released this volume with the Dolby 2.0 (sounds good, but the 5.1 sounds muuuuuch better), even, i think that this serie have more chances for the 5.1 than the Simpsons (and they got this audio treatment), anyway, you cannot notice any hiss or sound alteration in this track.
Foreign language support: Very good, with english, french, and spanish audio tracks, plus the subtitles in the same languages (besides, Fox Latam have never released the Vol. 1 in Mexico or Latin America (Region 4), so, if you like this show, better buy it in amazon ;) )
Extras: I haven't checked them, but a fatal flaw (again!) was the absence of the PLAY ALL function (they put this on the Simpsons, but not here... go figure!)
The menus are very good (not more the static menus of the Vol 1, but not irritating like many others dvds), and i love the package (the slim cases for each disc are so cool... i like this presentation more than the Fold-in packaging of the simpsons sets (that, i must add are beauty, but they cannot hold the DVD's very good)
Very recommendable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first volume., October 18, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Volume Two (DVD)
19 episodes, all with audio commentary, with delected scenes from 15 of the episodes and tons of extras. Some of the greatest episodes are in this volume, such as 'A Head In The Polls','Raging Bender','Bender Gets Made' and 'The Honking'. OK, OK, I am a Bender fan. But that's the best part - with four DVDs, even the fans of Dr. Zoidberg will find a few episodes they can enjoy (the poor losers). DVDs full of Nixon, new alien races, clones, the Robot Mafia, lots of talking heads plus lots of guest stars like Al Gore and Bob Barker. Futurama also steals from and/or makes fun of Star Wars, Star Trek and other Sci-Fi classics and not-so-classic Sci-Fi. Bender says to buy this collection or else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Futurama: Volume Two
Futurama: Volume Two by Billy West (DVD - 2003)
$29.98 $16.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.