Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Short Summary of A Future For The Latino Church, July 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Future for the Latino Church: Models for Multilingual, Multigenerational Hispanic Congregations (Paperback)
Recently I began to think and pray upon the possibility of planting a new church. A church for Hispanics whose most dominant language is English. I grew up in a Spanish speaking church and consider myself a second generation Hispanic. I am bicultural and biliterate. But as the years have passed I notice that I don't fit completely in either a Hispanic church with Spanish as the main language or an English speaking church with a predominantly homogenous group of people that are not Hispanic (what the author calls "living in the hyphen"). I must say, that I had not thought of this idea before, even though I have been reading about the changing demographics of Hispanics in the United States for a long time. So I stumbled upon the book by Daniel A. Rodriguez, A Future For the Latino Church: Models for Multilingual, Multigenerational Hispanic Congregations. The book offered case studies of two broad types of churches, "multigenerational Hispanic churches," those that have Spanish and English ministries integrated in an Evangelical church and the "multiethnic, predominantly Hispanic churches," which are the churches that have English as the dominant language in an Evangelical church. There are ten churches that are part of this study in the former group and seven churches in the latter group. Together with the case studies, the author discusses demographics, acculturation, linguistic characteristics, and cultural distinctives of Hispanics that should have a profound effect on how the Church does ministry now and should do so in the coming years. He challenges the Evangelical Hispanic Church to stop being monolingual and thinking that Spanish must be the only way to do ministry and think instead as missionaries whose calling is to establish multilingual, multigenerational, multiethnic, missional churches of all Peoples. He also advocates that Hispanic churches become holistic in ministry, meaning that the preaching of the Gospel must be presented in the context of the whole person not just the spiritual aspect. Interestingly enough, the author notes that he is not the first to point out that the Hispanic church needs to do holistic ministry, but asserts that it was twenty years ago that Manuel Ortiz pointed this out, but little has taken place since then and our Hispanic population continues to struggle socially and economically (as well as spiritually). The Church has not done its job emphasizing evangelism and social responsibility when doing ministry. He ends the book by advocating "organic seminary," biblical training that arises from the local church, where the pastor is the professor and indigenous leaders are trained and tackling the challenge that is before the Hispanic Church. The Hispanic church needs to overcome "cultural and spiritual superiority" (thinking that only those churches that speak Spanish are superior), do "more than "English services and programming" (it must adapt to the Hispanic culture, especially in worship), preach and model a holistic Gospel and develop leaders for this "moment of transition" (the moment is now) and become "cross-cultural missionaries" (our mission is more than reaching Hispanics, we must go into the world).

Many of the ideas, principles were not new to me but it reaffirmed what I believe needs to happen in the Hispanic Evangelical church. It also gave me some church models to study and observe if the Lord opens the opportunity to start a new church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Defining Moment of Transition For the Hispanic Church, June 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Future for the Latino Church: Models for Multilingual, Multigenerational Hispanic Congregations (Paperback)
From a Hispanic point of view this was a very informative and exciting book to read. However, this is a book that every pastor should read wether Hispanic or not, particularly those ministering in cities where there is a large percentage of Hispanics. It would be an eye opening book for first generation Hispanic pastors, should they want to continue to expand beyond the immigrant population (first generation). Like Rodriguez states, it is the spiritual state of the second and third generation of Hispanics that's at risk. As I said in a business meeting with First United Bank & Trust Co. in Paul's Valley, OK, "The demographics are not changing, they have changed", there are now more Hispanic children in the USA than any other ethnic group, and we must face the fact, and these are still connected to the first generation, who for the most part are Spanish dominant. Therefore, not only the Church has to pay attention, but also the business entities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, June 29, 2011
This review is from: A Future for the Latino Church: Models for Multilingual, Multigenerational Hispanic Congregations (Paperback)
I an a pastor and have been working in a congregation in multicultural transformation the last eight years. Oh, how I wish I had had this book eight years ago! The research is evident. The case studies are extremely informative and the theological and biblical perspective, which are often missing in "how to do church" books, is rock solid. For anyone who is paying attention to the rapidly changing demographics of this country and whose primary allegiance is to Christ and his kingdom, this book is a must read. It is particularly helpful because the conclusions and principles are functional/applicable across all ethnic and socio-cultural lines. American churches cannot afford to be comfortable with maintaining the dominant culture driven church models--whatever the dominant culture is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you work with immigrants you need this book., October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Future for the Latino Church: Models for Multilingual, Multigenerational Hispanic Congregations (Paperback)
A thorough study of why some Latino churches grow and why some fail. A realistic and sometimes surprising conclusion - excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for Hispanic ministry, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dr. Rodriguez has done an excellent work in this book laying out the challenges and opportunities for ministry with Hispanics in the U.S. His research reveals the successes that are being realized among those willing to adapt. One key is to stop trying to fit Hispanics into an Anglo cultured church... methods need to change if we are going to get serious... and as the Hispanic population grows, we need new ideas, new forms, new approaches... This book provides the foundation for these types of discussions...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Future for the Latino Church: Models for Multilingual, Multigenerational... Daniel A. Rodriguez, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I serve as pastor for a small church in Texas. The Great Commission in Mt. 28:19-20 and the Great Command and its summary by Jesus in Mt. 22:36-40 is the mission of the Christian Church all over the world. "A Future for the Latino Church" by Dr. Rodriguez, is an excellent resource for the context and demographic of our congregation's mission here in Texas. I recommend this excellent resource to all pastors and lay leaders, especially to those whose situation is in concord with the treatise of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enriching and encouraging, August 2, 2011
This review is from: A Future for the Latino Church: Models for Multilingual, Multigenerational Hispanic Congregations (Paperback)
I couldn't put it down. I read it in only a few hours. It's clear, accessible and wonderfully practical yet consistently scholarly. The message is deeply hopeful. It oozes a love for the lost, a love for those "living in the hyphen" (i.e. native born, English-speaking Latinos) and a love for Christ along with a passion for sharing in His mission. The author's personal stories and the strong Biblical parallels make the message sing. The first chapter opens with a bang. The last chapter is especially powerful. Loved it! For churches desiring to reach their increasingly multicultural communities, this book offers the encouraging examples of a number of effective ministries around the US. For men and women doing ministry in America's at-risk inner-city neighborhoods "A Future for the Latino Church" is an invaluable resource. As a new minister of a small congregation in Los Angeles, I found the message of this book is profoundly encouraging and empowering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opener !, February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Future for the Latino Church: Models for Multilingual, Multigenerational Hispanic Congregations (Paperback)
I am a Latino church planter. And this book opened my to the real needs and future of the Latino Church. I recommend this book to anybody that seeks to serve the Latino community in the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can identify, May 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Future for the Latino Church: Models for Multilingual, Multigenerational Hispanic Congregations (Paperback)
Excellent explanation of the difference between first, second, and third generation hispanic churches and the importance of starting english speaking hispanic churches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is easy to read and gives great insight about the Latino Church. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Future for the Latino Church: Models for Multilingual, Multigenerational Hispanic Congregations
$20.00 $15.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.