Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A req'd reading for "Futures 101" An Intro to Futures Trad'g
This book is:
1) ONLY for non-futures traders looking to understand the art of commodity trading,
2) illustrating step-by-step of when, what, who, and how of futures trading,
3) depicting how you can win or loss BIG from futures.
This book isn't:
1) an advice on how to WIN,
2) a tool on how to beat the system.
Since I am a bystander...
Published on December 27, 2003 by Jason Chang

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good general overview of commodity futures trading.
This book is for those who know nothing or virtually nothing about commodity futures. If you already know even a little about commodity futures, this book is not for you. It is just a foundation. You will not be ready to trade commodity futures after you read this book (and the author does not pretend that you will be), but you will be ready to go on to more...
Published on October 17, 1998


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Futures Clueless, October 2, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received the 1997 edition, NOT the 2000...therefore my comments are based on the earlier edition. I enjoyed the book as it is a very easy read and could more appropriately be titled 'Futures 100: An Orientation', as the author does exactly what he promises to do and that is to introduce the reader to the world of Futures. I read it in one day and would recommend it to anyone who is eager to learn about Futures. Waldron does provide a couple of interesting examples of success in trading, but more knowledge should be ascertained. He also offered additional resources to assist the reader with their journey for more information regarding concepts, research and trading.

I would recommend this reading if your only interpretation of Futures are multiple tomorrows :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appetite for Deconstruction, July 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read through the book in about 2 days, but it can be read in one sitting if you have the time. As some of the other commenters have stated, this book will not teach you how to trade. However I would not trade without reading this book first. Richard Waldron has done a wonderful job in explaining something as complex as futures trading to the person of average intelligence like myself.

The Hillary Clinton chapter is worth reading, he states how he was not a Hillary Clinton fan, but after researching her 1000 to 100k in cattle futures he sees that the media was trying to smear her. She did nothing illegal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Future 101: An Introduction to Commodiy Trading(1999 Edition, November 30, 2000
By 
EDWARD HUNJA WAITHAKA (SAPPORO, HOKKAIDO Japan) - See all my reviews
It explains commodity trading in a very simple way.This book taught me more than I could ever manage by poring over numerous web sites.A very good book for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it's OK if you only want an extremely basic overview, November 14, 1998
By A Customer
This book only touches on the very basic elements of commodities trading. It would more appropriately be titled Futures 099. If you have any aspirations of trading in the commodities markets and want more than a very superficial understanding of how those markets work, this is not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For Rank Beginners or Grade School Students., October 22, 2002
By 
Tradewright (Los Alamos, New Mexico USA) - See all my reviews
If you have no experience in any market, this book is for you. Takes 2 hours to read/skim. I learned a little about the background of commodities. Book is also annoying to read because of it's unorthodox style of font (block lettering), strange page layout (Sentences are sometimes indented in a ladder-style, like poetry), and repeating of information. Find a meater text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leave Hillary out of it!!!!, August 30, 2000
By 
Kristine Eustice (Janesville, MN USA) - See all my reviews
I truly enjoyed 95% of this book and found it to be an incredibly simply written and easily understandable beginning text. My only complaint is that there is a multi-page (17 page) examination of Hillary Clinton's commodity investments of the late 70's, during which Waldron does some of the most partisan campaigning that I have ever read. I dont know whether she did anything wrong or not. Frankly, not reall interested. But please stop telling me how innocent she is. Other than that--really good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete intro understanding of basic commodities futures exchange trading fundamentals, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
after reading the book i decided i would keep it to refer back to for trading of commodity futures contracts, which are the basis of market trading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible, July 29, 2001
By A Customer
Very poorly written. No charts, No visuals. I bought it for a frind who is interested in a basic undertanding of commodities. I sent it back after trying to read a little of it. It doesn't flow. I got the feeling the author wrote with no outline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, May 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Futures 101: An Introduction To Commodity Trading. (Kindle Edition)
exceptionally bad e-book format. just plain text. almost no formatting & no chapters to jump to.
content is ok, but most of what you will find, you can easily learn yourself on wikipedia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Seller., September 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Received as promised. Good Seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.