Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McBain at his Best
The 87th Precinct in the fictional city of Isola is hopping...two murders in one day. The first, a married couple found dead in their apartment, unrecognizeable, two shotgun blasts to the face of each. The second, a middle-aged woman found on her kitchen floor with a bread knife sticking out of her chest. The hard-working detectives of the 87th tenaciously follow leads...
Published on January 12, 2001 by Roz Levine

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low-quality Kindle version
The story is fine.

The e-book is not: it's pretty obviously an OCRed version with insufficient proofreading (missing or incorrect punctuation, typos).
Published on June 14, 2012 by Miloslav Trmac


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McBain at his Best, January 12, 2001
The 87th Precinct in the fictional city of Isola is hopping...two murders in one day. The first, a married couple found dead in their apartment, unrecognizeable, two shotgun blasts to the face of each. The second, a middle-aged woman found on her kitchen floor with a bread knife sticking out of her chest. The hard-working detectives of the 87th tenaciously follow leads and clues as they circle closer and closer to the truth.....Shotgun is Ed McBain at his best and nobody does it better. This is a police procedural that has it all...great memorable characters, tight, compelling plot, spare, gritty writing and unrivaled, true to life dialogue. Easily read in one sitting, the story pulls you in from page one and doesn't let go. And after finishing Shotgun, it's easy to see why McBain is considered "the best crime writer in the business."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUZZ IS A FIVE!!!!, August 19, 2002
By 
Fuzz is a five, to me anyway. There are really three stores going on at the same time. One is: someone is throwing gasoline on bums as they sleep and setting them on fire. Carella goes undercover for this one and gets burned himself. Another is: who is after John the Taylor? He is to be robbed but different people show up at the time of the robbery. The other story is the main one.A commissioner is killed after a threat. The Deputy Mayor is killed after a threat. The Mayor is to be next. The squad figures it is the "deaf man" again. All the 87th precinct people work on this. Carella considers him to be a "master criminal"--can he be caught???????? Read as the entire group try to bring this man to justice. As usual McBain writes so you can believe you are there.You get to where you have feelings for each officer and really think you know them. This is the 22nd book I have read by McBain and I think there was only one I did not like. The odds are pretty good you will like this one also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Deaf Man's Second Appearance, June 4, 2001
By A Customer
Ed McBain's 1968 "Fuzz" is a terrific read and a lot of fun from a great writer. Notable mostly for the second appearance of the Deaf Man, whom the reader learns more about his brilliance, and the 87th Precinct detectives who try to thwart his every move. Unfortunately, the Deaf Man will try to stop the detectives by making them look stupid and incompetent in the process.
I loved this book. The more I learn about the Deaf Man, the more I want to know. Congratulations to Mr. Ed McBain, the master, for creating such a terrific character. Maybe I could learn a few things or two from the Deaf Man about being a criminal genius.
I also enjoyed the background story about the squad room painters and the Tailor Shop. As for the reader from Minneapolis, MN, did it ever occur to you that not all cops are corrupt and rascist? Even then, remember reading about Detective Andy Parker? Next time, try reading the book before writing a bad review and insulting a great writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God for Public Libraries!, March 11, 2000
Since McBain has written a zillion books, I wanted to be caught up with the 87th Pct books by enrolling to my nearest public library. The Fuzz caught my eye because it was one of his earliest, printed in 1968. The book I picked up was reprinted in 1972. Great book, I must add! Carella always gets a beating--and to a pulp! Somebody teach this man self-defense!
A money-hungry deaf man terrorize the city, making the 87th pct go berserk! He's demanding money from them, but when they don't deliver, some well-known city official is murdered. There is lots of action: car bombing, shooting, beating, etc.
The Fuzz was hilarious and a great read--a page turner. Although, I stumbled into some British-custom vocabulary for a U.S.A. plotted book (and I found this odd), it was written well. I'm sure that if McBain revised this book, it would contain American lingo and a year 2000's style.
Excellent book! I recommend it to anyone who wants to read it. As a matter of fact, GO TO YOUR TO NEAREST PUBLIC LIBRARY TO GET IT IF IT'S OUT OF PRINT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH FIVE STARS!!!!, September 4, 2002
By 
Another great one by Ed McBain. There are two different crimes going on at the same time. Two people have been shot in the face with a shotgun. Another womean has been stabbed to death. Carellla and Kling catch the first one and Myer and Hawes the second. With very good police work the men go after the one or ones who did these two deeds. McBain uses his usual good writing to move the case forward. He makes you feel like you are there and these things can actually happen. There is a very good twist at the end or it was to me. We even have Roger Broome back from a previous book, number nineteen, I think. If you like a good mystery that will hold you attention and make you not want to put the book down, you will enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low-quality Kindle version, June 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fuzz (RosettaBooks into Film) (Kindle Edition)
The story is fine.

The e-book is not: it's pretty obviously an OCRed version with insufficient proofreading (missing or incorrect punctuation, typos).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, September 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fuzz (RosettaBooks into Film) (Kindle Edition)
This was a wondrous book, funny, complex, ironic, completely satisfying.

It is a police drama featuring several complex and well developed characters. Each reader will have their own favorite to lament over or cheer on.

The book is so good you will want to reread the last 100 pages; I did, just to savor it in my mind.

I have only recently been introduced to Ed McBain. This is the book that anchors his other police books about the 87th Precinct. Many of them are well written but one are dimensional straight ahead stories. Yet they become more fascinating after reading this one, as the characters are well developed and made "real" in Fuzz.

The villain is superb, by the way. You will be half cheering for him. For example, he calls the police and makes an extortion threat. The police officer expresses disbelief, saying "do you know what the penalties for extortion are?". The bad guy promptly hangs up, only to call a few minutes later saying "yeah, it's 15 years in prison" and then goes on with his threats.

This is one of McBain's best, and they are all excellent.

Melvin Morse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly farcical addition to the case files of the 87th, January 9, 2009
Ed McBain's long-running series of mystery novels spanned fifty years and over fifty books. Based in the fictional city of Isola (with its eerie similarities to New York), McBain's conscientious cops spent thousands of pages chasing down every sort of villainous behaviour. From 1956 to 2005, readers were introduced to serial killers, money laundering, granny dumping and more.

In Fuzz, McBain's recurring villain, the Deaf Man, returns - but so does everyone and everything else. McBain takes the entire cast out of the box and dusts them off in this one.

While the Deaf Man begins another reign of terror, the precinct also investigates a robbery and a series of attacks on the city's homeless population. The ending (in which all three plot threads combine) is slightly contrived, but the book as a whole is one of the most exciting, with something happening on every page. (Also, per usual, Something Awful happens to the unfortunate Detective Steve Carella).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'd Give This a "Five" but for the Poor Editing, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fuzz (RosettaBooks into Film) (Kindle Edition)
Another great McBain 87th Precinct story --- I'm reading them all and I'm never disappointed. Great plot, sharp dialogue, smart commentary. The problem with this particular edition, published by RosettaBooks, is the terrible editing job --- mostly run-on sentences. Apparently whatever editor skimmed through this book had lost touch with the concept of periods to end sentences. I've read enough of McBain's books to know that he knew what periods were for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, March 3, 2009
Mysterious death threats against city officials seem like a joke at first. Then the bullets and the bombs come out, and the boys of the 87th Precinct realize that they're dealing with another caper by their old nemesis, the Deaf Man.

This is an exceptionally well-crafted police procedural. The characterizations of Carella, Meyer, and Cotton Hawes are like being reunited with old friends, and the subplots all dovetail to support the main plot. Another great book by McBain -- fun, interesting, and absorbing.

Reviewer: Liz Clare, co-author of the historical novel "To the Ends of the Earth: The Last Journey of Lewis and Clark"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fuzz (RosettaBooks into Film)
$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.