• List Price: $110.00
  • Save: $11.00 (10%)
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by -usedbooks123-
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Very Good Some wear on book from reading, we guarantee all purchases and ship all items via USPS mail.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Górecki (Oxford Studies of Composers) Hardcover – June 19, 1997

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
$50.78 $50.78


Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Series: Oxford Studies of Composers
  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press (June 19, 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0198163932
  • ISBN-13: 978-0198163930
  • Product Dimensions: 5.8 x 0.6 x 8.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #12,792,007 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews


`Adrian Thomas's monograph felicitously bridges a substantial gap in the study not only of the history of contemporary Polish music but also of the history of twentieth-century music more generally ... A particularly valuable feature ... is its documentary material.' Zbigniew Skowron

`a detailed work-by-work study by a leading expert who knows the composer, fleshed out with biographical details and useful appendices; there are copious music examples ... a highly detailed text which veers between analytical charts and more straightforward descriptive writing' Gramophone, September 1997

About the Author

Adrian Thomas is at University of Wales, Cardiff.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Robert Badger on May 8, 2004
Format: Paperback
This book is an excellent guide to the complete oeuvre of Henryk Gorecki. It covers Gorecki's earliest compositions, his work during his radical phase, and his return to tonality. For those interested in the life and work of this composer, this book is an excellent introduction. Some musical background will be helpful, though.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again