Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both Harrowing And Uplifting: An Important Documentary About Gang Life, Potential Rehabilitation, And A True Humanitarian, April 17, 2013
This review is from: G-Dog (DVD)
Sometimes it is the subject of a documentary film, as opposed to its execution, that make it a can't miss proposition. The centerpiece of the new feature by documentarian Freida Lee Mock (Oscar winner for 1994's "Maya Lin: A Strong Clear Vision") is such an inspiring and fascinating man that you'll simply want to invest in "G-Dog." I don't mean to undervalue the filmmaker's achievements in any way or imply that this isn't a well constructed project, it was just that I was completely captivated by Father Greg Boyle and his efforts to rehabilitate the East Los Angeles gang culture one member at a time. Whether called Father Greg, Father G, or simply G-Dog, Boyle has dedicated his life to working with at-risk kids and offering them compassion, surprising candor, and essential training to pursue a different lifestyle. In an era of apathy and failing social and educational structure, Boyle has built a virtual empire (Homeboy Industries) by doing good deeds. And it's a great story.

The film gets up close and personal with the Homeboy Industries rehabilitation program. Much time is spent interviewing Boyle, but others close to the Father weigh in with their personal stories of success and tribulations. Almost everyone in positions of responsibility have come from the streets and understand the challenges facing the youths of today. It's inspiring to see how far some of them have come and how much they want to give back to the system that helped them to escape the inevitability of their existence. The demand to get into the program is high, and funds (as expected) are tight, but Boyle is always upfront and honest with any potential candidate. And even turning someone away, he still offers hope without sugar-coating the realities of the challenges ahead. The film follows about a year of real time in 2010. During the course of that period, we see the struggle for solvency, the difficult decisions of shutting down part of the business, and are rocked by the reality that claims the lives of people we've been introduced to.

Elements of "G-Dog" certainly appeal to a feel-good aesthetic. But make no mistake, this world is harsh and unrelenting and there is a lot of unpleasantness presented. The film expertly balances these themes. Set in a world of gang violence and drug trade, I'm glad that the film faces these facts. That's what ultimately makes the film so effective. You get a first hand account of what might happen (and does happen) if Boyle and people like him weren't struggling to build a better world. In the end, the film is both harrowing and uplifting and that's a huge compliment. If you are familiar with Boyle (I was not), "G-Dog" gives you a more intimate look at the operation he's been building for 25 years. If you've never heard of Boyle, this is a great introduction to the man who was once awarded the California Peace Prize for his efforts. Strong and memorable. KGHarris, 4/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to see this movie!, May 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: G-Dog (Amazon Instant Video)
You will laugh and be moved to tears and wish you could go right out to Homeboy Industries and be some sort of help. Support this awesome man doing the job we are all called to do. You need to also look at Homeboy Industries on line. Supporting Homeboy supports all of us and allows us to share in the kinship!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's great to see what the determination of one person can do, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: G-Dog (DVD)
Father Greg Boyle is an inspiration to all who have had the good fortune to make his acquaintance. He is the living the gospel message, serving a group of people most of us would rather not even think about. G-Dog is the story of what can be accomplished if we set aside our prejudice and instead look for the humanity that resides in us all. You cannot watch this movie and not be touched by the love that is shared and the possibilities for goodness that exist in everyone's life. Thank God for gracing us with people like G-Dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: G-Dog (DVD)
A wonderful first-hand look -- unscripted -- over some time at one of the outstanding groups working to redeem gang members in Los Angeles. You can see personal traumas and hope, organization crises of funding and succession, and through it all -- hope and redemption. A must see for people who care about changing lives and communities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really loved the film!, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: G-Dog (DVD)
I had read Gregory Boyle's book and was fascinated by his dedication to the people in East LA. I have been telling all my friends about both the book and the film. When I traveled to see my family, I brought the film with me and my mother loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G-Dog, July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: G-Dog (DVD)
Bought several copies for various friends. How one person has changed the lives of so many is amazing. This DVD shows Father Boyle's many ministries and the mutual love between he and the homeboys and homegirls he serves. It also shows how much Homeboy Industries depends on donations.
I can't get enough of this story and have watched the DVD many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Mother Teresea, June 18, 2013
By 
Neil Quinn (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: G-Dog (DVD)
Greg Boyle is truely a saint among us. The man is amazing at what he has been able to do with gangs in LA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tattoos R Forever? Maybe..., June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: G-Dog (DVD)
Fr. Greg Boyle, a white Jesuit, somehow instigated and orchestrated real-life-turn-around Homeboy Industries in East LA for former gang members. Boyle is commonly referred to as G-Dog by his heavily-inked tribe. This vid documents a miraculous twenty-five-year journey of boundless love, compassion, and non-judgment. Boyle walks his talk, 'Nothing Stops a Bullet like a Job', and it's stunning to watch him do so. The man should be sainted. Five stars for the vid, the producer, and the saint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story!, February 18, 2014
This review is from: G-Dog [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
We need more people like this in the world for sure! It's time to rethink our CJ system and for more Christians to get active in social justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love baked in, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: G-Dog [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
This is true story of struggle and redemption. G is a wise teacher. He wants every person to know how much God loves them. His work and presence reflect that love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

G-Dog
G-Dog by Freida Lee Mock (DVD - 2013)
$29.95 $17.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.