Start reading GB84 on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
This title is not currently available for purchase
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

GB84 [Kindle Edition]

David Peace
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Pricing information not available.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $9.99  
Paperback $14.01  
"The Longest Ride" by Nicolas Sparks
In the tradition of his beloved first novel, "The Notebook", Nicholas Sparks returns with the remarkable story of two couples whose lives intersect in profound and surprising ways. See more

Book Description

Great Britain. 1984. The miners' strike. The government against the people.

In a bloody and dramatic fictional portrait of the year that left an indelible mark on the nation's consciousness, David Peace brings Britain's social and political past shockingly to life.



Editorial Reviews

Review

“It’s history as noir in the style of James Ellroy, political and compelling."
Brooklyn Magazine, Eight Books to Read in November

“Peace is known more for his Red Riding Quartet, but, to my mind, this retronymic dystopia is his best book. Originally released in 2004 — twenty years, obviously, after 1984 — and set in Thatcherite England, the novel is an epic political hothouse and construction of genius that is, if anything, grossly underrated."
Flavorwire, 50 Best Independent Fiction and Poetry Books of 2014

“This is a big book about one of the most important struggles in British history... As a novelistic rendering of history, GB84 is first rate."
Barnes & Noble Review

“A behemoth of British fiction."
Flavorwire, Must-Reads for November 2014

“A curious, intense, formally innovative thriller from the Herman Melville of soccer fiction."
WORD Bookstores, Books of the Week, on Largehearted Boy

“Profoundly moving."
Bookslut

“Haunting, seminal, bleak, iconic, furied... It’s a necessary novel, vital even.”
The Observer

“A conspiracy thriller laced with apocalyptic poetry.”
The Independent

“The writing is clever, terse, incisive... This mammoth conspiracy tale is a thriller daubed with horror.”
The Scotsman

“Superb... [Peace] has turned the whole episode into a gripping thriller, with no detriment to documentary realis... GB84 is a bold mixture of thriller, monologue, theatre script, chants, slogans, crime story, sexual subplot and documentary fiction... This is an epic novel...a crowded, ambitious, quick-moving novel, and as such is the literary equal of the epic events it commemorates.”
The Guardian

“A violently original novel.”
The Times

“Exhilarating... Compelling.”
Times Literary Supplement

“The book is so compelling... Peace’s terse, urgent sentences are perfectly suited to depicting a large-scale confrontation. The tactics and resources of both sides, their histories, their mindsets, the likely battlefields—all are vividly laid out in little more than a few paragraphs. Alliteration and repetition establish a marching rhythm like massing pickets or policemen... Only a rare political novel manages that.”
London Review of Books

November Picks, Entomology of a Bookworm

About the Author

David Peace – named in 2003 as one of Granta’s Best of Young Novelists – is the acclaimed author of the Red Riding Quartet (1974, 1977, 1980, and 1983), which was adapted into a BBC television series that was released theatrically in the United States, and is currently being adapted into a major motion picture directed by Ridley Scott. Peace is also the author of the highly praised Tokyo Trilogy, which so far includes Tokyo Year Zero and Occupied City. His book GB84 was awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, and The Damned Utd was called “probably the best novel ever written about sport” by The Times (UK). His newest book, Red or Dead, was shortlisted for the UK’s prestigious Goldsmith’s Prize.

Product Details

  • File Size: 2099 KB
  • Print Length: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber Fiction; New Ed edition (February 3, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004N3CBD4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #642,196 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
(6)
4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a unique treatment of the clash between the ... February 22, 2015
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a unique treatment of the clash between the miners and Mrs. Thatcher, in the tradition of Kes, Brassed Off and now Pride. I don't know why it took me so long to read this book but it was a very moving treatment of a contentious topic. Having read Orwell and gone down a mine (if only a training one), I would not want anyone to work down the mines. Moreover, I have mixed views of trade unions and their history, and I was no admirer of Mr. Scargill, but this book exposes what I do believe were the twisted values of Thatcherism and her "selfish society", even if society did not exist
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book to make you angry September 6, 2012
By HelenNZ
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
If you want a book that is politically fascinating, that makes you angry and keeps you reading, this is it. The multiple voices used by David Peace make this a mosaic of possible interpretations of the 1984 miner's strike in Great Britain. This strike tore the heart out of the union movement, and pretty much ended coal mining in the UK. It reads like a mystery novel, with level after level of intrigue being exposed. And it keeps you turning the pages.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best to discover the mood of the times January 2, 2006
Format:Paperback
I was born during the miners' strike and have spent most of my life in Ossett, where Peace originates from. The book was very interesting just to learn about the events as they unfolded and the mood of the coalfields. Most young people are now quite poorly informed of the strike, especially in areas that actually have recovered like this fine town.

At times, the language conveys feelings of anger, frustration and despair wonderfully. The main characters are:

Terry - an N.U.M. official

"The Jew" - an anti-strike journalist with links to organised crime

Neil - taxi driver for "The Jew"

"The Mechanic" - a mysterious criminal, who sometimes does work for British national security

Martin and Peter - two pickets from Thurcroft colliery at the southern edge of Yorkshire, close to strike-breaking Nottinghamshire

It's good to get a broad range of views. The back of the book reads "The miners' strike. The government against the people." This suggested to me that the book was likely to be a pro-strike view. Seeing as it suggests that the government employed gangsters to help break the strike, this would seem to be true, although there were parts of the book when I did forget this. Some accounts of violence against working miners were written in such a way that I'm sure Peace was appalled by them - the two most notorious being the beating of a man in his home in Castleford and the murder of a taxi driver who escorted a miner to work.

There were some things that annoyed me, though. One big thing is that Peace likes to write like, "Neil did this. Neil did that. Neil gave up. Neil went home. etc. etc." He certainly doesn't like pronouns, which is a shame.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category