Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: GDB Pocket Reference (Pocket Reference (O'Reilly))
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 1, 2007
In my opinion, the GDB quick reference that you can download for free is more useful. To go over the basics, this book is OK, but for daily lookup purposes, the quick reference is more useful.

I purchased this book as a "filler" to reach over $25 for free shipping. I'm a software engineer and do use GDB frequently.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2010
To learn GDB get: The Art of Debugging with GDB, DDD, and Eclipse
by Norman Matloff

This one is ONLY if you already know GDB, it will not teach you how to use it!
44 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2009
I work on a very large C codebase, and 99% of our debugging is done in GDB.

Most of the time, singlestepping through every. single. line. would be prohibitively exhausting. Unlike the downloadable GDB refcard, this pocket reference contains enough info on conditional breakpoints and command sequences (among other GDB treasures) to _greatly_ reduce the amount of time it takes to locate the source of a problem among data structures that are simply too big (and sometimes sparsely populated) to step through one at a time.

I'm a big fan of the O'Reilly "Pocket Reference" series, and this one is definitely worth the price.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
It covers enough information to debug. It is short, so read once, you may find some new functions. I am using this with Kindle DX.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2015
Not only does it list/explain all commands alphabetically (except those for remote debugging), it also groups commands by topic, e.g. what are all the commands related to breakpoints, what are all commands related to examining data. etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
Great reference guide to those who are learning how to use GDB.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
Perfect. Much borrowed around the office!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2015
Awesome and to the point
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.