Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great dimming switch
I've had this product installed for a few days now and figure I'll share some of the good and bad

Pros:
-Dimmer switch that looks great (doesn't have a slider, just hold in the switch up or down position to dim)
-Easy to install and use Z-Wave feature
-Works flawlessly with z-waves remote, on/off, dimming, it's great!
-a little switch on the...
Published on November 30, 2008 by J. V. Caruana

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GE Z-Wave dimmer
Pros:
pretty blue color LED
good feel/action
easy installation
Cons:
Blue LED is really Bright.
Dimmer is noisy when dimming a load. With no ambient noise, the buzzing sound was noticable with only 1 75 watt incandescent bulb hooked up.
Published on November 17, 2008 by cb950


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Does What They Say It Does., September 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
works great. does exactly what GE claims what it will do. I have it linked through my home security system and it works beautifully. just a word of advise before you install these switches, draw out how your existing wiring is for the fixture you are controlling. Figure out how power is supplied to the fixture, this way it will make sense how to hook up the GE Dimmer switch. you need to buy a power indicator pen to know which is the "black" line and load, "white" neutral, and the "red" which is the traveler line.

Beware when I installed this to a buddies house, which was an older house the colors was completely different. so you need to first draw out how your wiring is in your house, identify which wire is which, and install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, September 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
These were easy to install and they work great! I connected them to my Vivint system and they work great (just make sure that you have the package with lights/switches).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars works great, but wonder about reliability, May 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought and installed two of these and they work great. After about a week one quit working. A replacement is on its way. I'm hoping it was just a random bad one... I will likely buy more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Switch, March 5, 2011
This review is from: GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
Pro's

1) Easy Install Hot, Ground and Load
2) The wide mount plate is scored so the excess width can be remove easily with a couple bends from a pair of pliers
3) They work great with vera have 5 hooked up (have automated turning of the kids room lights every morning when they have left for school and our outdoor coach lights)
4) Blue light can be turned off or reversed if it is bothersome via vera

Cons

!) Not compatible with standard CFL's have seen some reviews with dimmable CFL's would not try this though as it will shorten either the life of the dimmer or bulbs
2) Not obvious that it may be dimmed instead of off completely (sometime my daughter will say she cannot get light to go on, but it is on just completely dimmed)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesnt fully turn off... must be a energy vampire, August 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
I installed these dimmers and Leviton dimmers in my home as part of my zwave network. The GE's worked fine until I replaced the par20 bulbs with GE Dimmable LED bulbs (which are awesome). The bulbs only use 7 watts in comparison to the original incandesent 50W bulbs and even give off a better color of light, unlike CFLs.

.... And then I realized that the LEDs that were controlled by my GE dimmers never fully turned off... yet the ones controlled by the Leviton dimmers worked fine... My only logical guess is that the dimmers dont fully turn off, probably leaving less that a watt of energy open, which wouldnt power an incandecent but substantially lights up a efficient LED.

LAME... GE LED bulbs dont work with GE switches... but do with Leviton. Even more lame is the energy wasted... 15 switches = 15 watts wasted 24h 365d.

Ironically they have a separate "pull out" safety switch that should be used when changing the bulbs... hmmmm... 2+ 2 = ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The switch is too wide and big, April 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
As another reviewer noted, this GE dimmer is too wide and won't fit next to another existing switch. Also, the face plate itself is too wide. The size is not obvious from the picture shown here. I returned it and bought an Intermatic dimmer switch at a much lower price and is working perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
Works perfectly with my Frontpoint security system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent article really is a great investment., November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
excellent article really is a great investment.
its reliable functioning is necessary although it is a bit difficult to configure for the first time, then you do not want to quit using.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works wonderfully, July 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
This dimmer was very good. It never broke and I've had it for over a year. I am purchasing another one for the second switch. Very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lasted 1 year at most, March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch (Tools & Home Improvement)
I'm a Electrician, this was NOT a good product to buy for my own home let alone a customers. I'm going to replace all 5 units just to have peace of mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

GE 45606 Z-Wave Technology 2-Way Dimmer Switch
$49.95 $37.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.