Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough camera to take on the road!
I bought this little camera in blue for my grandson. He is a teenager and doesn't have a smart phone but wanted to take video of his friends this summer. I bought this because it is waterproof and shockproof and teenage boys tend to be rough on things...so far it has held up and we are seeing lots of neat videos on facebook! Great camera for a great price.
Published 14 months ago by hotdog58

versus
116 of 117 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars to start... 1 star to end....
Last update 7/31/2014: Died in about 1 year of light use. Water leaked in and damaged it. I always checked to make sure all covers were properly closed before using near any water. Never left it outside overnight to avoid extreme cold and heat which can damage the rubber seals. Unfortunately, it's not a durable product.

My old and original review...
Published 14 months ago by njmalevoice


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 117 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars to start... 1 star to end...., July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Last update 7/31/2014: Died in about 1 year of light use. Water leaked in and damaged it. I always checked to make sure all covers were properly closed before using near any water. Never left it outside overnight to avoid extreme cold and heat which can damage the rubber seals. Unfortunately, it's not a durable product.

My old and original review below:
Ok, I normally won't write a review before I fully test the product. But seeing the previous review rated only 1 star because of his/her shipping problem is not fair to this product.

My initial imppression when I received this GE DVX...a candy bar like device with nice feel. solid built, no rattling sound anywhere nor unfitted USB arm. SD card is easy to be put in and taken out. Not much printed labels on the device besides a tiny "made in xxx, model number" label; other "indicators" of HDMI (this device has a built-in mini HDMI out, not micro, not regular), SDHC, USB, etc are "engraved" (or "molded") on the both sides, meaning you don't have to worry about losing any paper stickers used for labeling stuff. To my surprise, while playing back your videos and pictures, the small LCD monitor screen automatically rotates to vertical or horizontal (like a smartphone) depending on how you wanna view/hold it.

Other facts: recording format is .MOV (I googled it last night, the advantages of having a .MOV format is for easier editing, etc) for videos and .JPEG for pictures. I only tried the highest setting 1920x1080 (at 30 fps) to take videos, and a 1-minute video is about 100mb in size. You are also able to snap pictures while recording videos, but the picture quality will only be as good as the video resolution (highest video setting of 1920x1080 can only produce a 2-3 megapixel pictures).

I dropped this device into a drinking glass filled with water and recorded some videos; it works as advertised. Don't panic when you see small amount of water inside both the "open arms" for accessing HDMI, USB, SD card, there are small rubberbands (looks like rubberbands, not sure what you call them) surround the inside opening which block out water from going in...so try not to damage the rubbery parts inside.

I will soon bring this to the pool and water park with the kids; I will update my review later.

Update 7/31/2013: Swimming in the pool with this camcorder in my pocket for about 2 hours. Pulled it out from time to time to take videos and pictures of the kids. Only thing I noticed when viewing from my big screen TV, some audio was kinda muffled, no big deal, I think the reason was that small holes for mic (top 3 dots in the front next to the lense) were blocked by water (just small drops cos this thing was actually in the water and I pulled it out without checking). Next couple times when using it, I make sure no water got trapped in the top 3 holes, blow it out as needed, problem solved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough camera to take on the road!, July 29, 2013
By 
This review is from: GE DVX Waterproof/Shockproof 1080P Pocket Video Camera (Amethyst) with 2GB SD Card (Electronics)
I bought this little camera in blue for my grandson. He is a teenager and doesn't have a smart phone but wanted to take video of his friends this summer. I bought this because it is waterproof and shockproof and teenage boys tend to be rough on things...so far it has held up and we are seeing lots of neat videos on facebook! Great camera for a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible for the money!, August 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I used to use the first and second generation Kodak waterproof cameras. I loved the first one, but the second generation model is horrible and mine broke within a month. I was happy to see a good alternative at less than $100 and tried my luck with the GE DVX. This takes awesome video (probably similar to my old Kodak) and was held up well at the pool, beach, and my boats. It's really amazing how cheap this is. Great camera and you won't find a better alternative anywhere near the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little camers, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good video and still camera. Excellent for short videos that can be posted to Facebook or YouTube. Picture and video quality very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional underwater camera!, November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE DVX Waterproof/Shockproof 1080P Pocket Video Camera (Amethyst) with 2GB SD Card (Electronics)
This camera is outstanding for the price. I searched Amazon and read reviews extensively for an underwater camera to take on vacation that would be great for snorkeling and pictures around the beach. This camera did all that and I am extremely pleased with the pictures it took both in the water and on land. I went snorkeling with it and was able to take marvelous pictures and videos. I did not get any water inside the compartments and was surprised when I viewed the shots I took underwater. They were just as they looked while I was taking the pics! I believe this product is an exceptional value for the price and would highly recommend it if you are planning on underwater activities. I even dropped my camera a couple of times and there wasn't any damage either.
Sometimes I think that when people take pics while snorkeling they may be disappointed due to the fact that sediments are stirred up and they expect a camera to take a pic through the sediment. I took my pics before there were too many people swimming and stirring up the sand and sediment. You also have to remember that if it is cloudy or sunny out when you take your pics will affect the lighting underwater. It is best to take the pics on a bright, sunny day which illuminates the fish and rock formations you want to photograph.
I have used the disposable underwater cameras in the past and was disappointed with the pics. Try this camera and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portable, 1080p, Shock and Water Resistant and High Quality Video. ITS PERFECT!, November 27, 2013
By 
Vegas Techy (Las Vegas, NV, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had misgivings about this camera...but the other reviews, the specs on it, I had to give it a try.

It arrived the day before I was going to the Bahamas (to celebrate my divorce) and I knew I would have it in the pool, in the ocean, and I didn't want to worry about anything happening to it. Well, it came already charged and ready to go. I added 32GB of storage (WAY more than I ever even came close to using...which is nice!), and I immediately shot some video around my apartment and played it back on my 47" 1080p HD TV...it looked AWESOME!!! The frame rate is fast and very smooth, the video is sharp and clear, the sound is EXCELLENT! Of course, in the water and coming right out of the water you should expect the sound to be a little dicey because of water on the mic...but obviously that's just life, not the fault of the camera.

Its exceedingly portable, it stood up to a vacation of abuse in the pool, in the ocean, on a jet ski at full speed with a lot of bouncing and it did a champion of a job!

I can't imagine you regretting this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Camera, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GE DVX Waterproof/Shockproof 1080P Pocket Video Camera (Amethyst) with 2GB SD Card (Electronics)
I really like this camera. There are a few things that I need to figure out with it still, but thus far it has done everything that I have needed it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars small and good, July 24, 2013
i like this camcorder cause its easy to take places. i bought it because of that. it also takes good videos and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear video and pictures, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my first video camera. It is easy to use. A complete manual is available online and can be mailed if requested. The video is clear from edge to edge. The pictures are clear. I do have a complaint about the audio, it is clear, but it doesn't sound loud enough to hear in playback. A loud noise or voice would probably be hear-able in playback. Strangely, the audio does pick up every breath and grunt of the user. I am very pleased with the quality, the clarity, the ruggedness, the ease of use and the affordable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, August 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This camera has been a gem since I bought it. Mainly purchased the camera to use in the pool, and it takes excellent videos and pictures. My kids love using it to take pictures of their underwater activities. It's small enough to fit in your pocket or purse, so you can easily take it anywhere. Still figuring out some of the specs on it, but I am very pleased so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.