Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TEAC Product Review
After receiving a bad product made by another company, I received this wonderful CD Recorder made by TEAC. Right out of the box it started working properly and has been ever since. It is so easy to use and the instructions are simple to understand. I recommend this recorder to anyone who is interested in making CD's from old phonograph records and cassette tapes and it...
Published on September 10, 2011 by Paul

versus
83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great while it lasted...
I bought this about three years ago, and for the first couple years it got light use...mostly listening to old records and cassette...during which it worked well, the sound quality was decent, and I was a happy camper. Recently I started recording some of my cassettes and records to CDs, and my favorable opinion collapsed. The cassette player fried itself while recording...
Published on January 30, 2011 by SueV


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TEAC Product Review, September 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TEAC GF-550 Turntable with Cassette, Radio and CD Recorder (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
After receiving a bad product made by another company, I received this wonderful CD Recorder made by TEAC. Right out of the box it started working properly and has been ever since. It is so easy to use and the instructions are simple to understand. I recommend this recorder to anyone who is interested in making CD's from old phonograph records and cassette tapes and it has an excellent sound also. After recording a CD on this recorder I immediately played it on my big stereo and it sounded terrific. Thanks to TEAC for making such a good product and to Amazon for selling them.

Sincerely,

Paul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great general compact audio system, October 10, 2011
By 
mykecusa "mykecusa" (Roseville, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TEAC GF-550 Turntable with Cassette, Radio and CD Recorder (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I have records, tapes and CDs. I simply wanted a compact system I could listen to these, plus a tuner. My first effort was a major flop. Wrong product and wrong vendor. One of those "Bad" internet purchases. Fortunately I recovered from that and ended up with a great compact audio system from an excellent vendor. Both are needed to be really successful.

The Teac GF-550 serves my purpose perfectly. I am impressed by the sound clarity and volume coming from a compact system. Granted it does not have dual cassette player/recorder, nor multi-disc CD player. However it has a very useful CD recorder for burning audio CDs of my cassette tapes and records. I think it comes down to exactly what one is looking to accomplish, and at what price.

The manual is adequate, but not terribly fully explanatory enough for this technically limited individual. While I burned a CD I really do not fully understand all of the settings that can be made. I am truely happy it is basically an automatic process. The default settings seemed to work just fine for me. The Teac GF-550 does just what I was looking for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great while it lasted..., January 30, 2011
This review is from: TEAC GF-550 Turntable with Cassette, Radio and CD Recorder (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this about three years ago, and for the first couple years it got light use...mostly listening to old records and cassette...during which it worked well, the sound quality was decent, and I was a happy camper. Recently I started recording some of my cassettes and records to CDs, and my favorable opinion collapsed. The cassette player fried itself while recording a Patsy Cline tape (didn't like C&W maybe?) and then a short time later the recording function itself started acting quirky...sometimes it would record and sometimes not. (not just C&W)
Basically, the unit worked well as long as I didn't use it much. Now I'm looking for something with which to send records and cassettes into my trusty iMac where I can burn them to CDs. Suggestions appreciated. TIA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teac is the brand you want to purchase!, December 18, 2011
By 
Carl Taylor Sr (ACCOKEEK, MARYLAND, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TEAC GF-550 Turntable with Cassette, Radio and CD Recorder (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I am a long time purchaser/user of the Teac stereo products and they have proven to be of good quality,workmanship,durability and sound! There are many different brands of these Turntable with cassette,radio/CD recorders that I had never heard of so I strayed away from the unknown and went with what I new and have experienced. I don't believe you can go wrong with this one (Teac GF-550) for the money; check out "Hammacher Schlemmer magazine and you will find the identical product,(Teac)model HT-76797 for $399, I paid little more than half of that for my GF-550.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TEAC GF-550 a good buy, March 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TEAC GF-550 Turntable with Cassette, Radio and CD Recorder (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this for my 55 year old brother who always wanted a CD burner to back up his collection of cassettes he created over the years. He doesn't own a computer and couldn't afford a separate CD burner. I came across this on Amazon.com and when I saw the price and it was manufactured by TEAC I had to buy it for him. He loves it. He spends hours making CD's. It's easy to operate and he is happy with the sound. The one thing he said that is missing are bass and treble knobs when recording. He did say the preset levels are perfect and he probably wouldn't adjust them anyway. Don't judge the recording quality by listening to the CD on the unit with it's 3" speakers, but pop it in a car or a home entertainment system with larger speakers and it sounds great! I would recommend this as an inexpensive way to burn CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, January 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TEAC GF-550 Turntable with Cassette, Radio and CD Recorder (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
Received it last week & bought it for the most part to turn my tapes into CD'S. Have spent 3 days playing with it & am very satisfied with the result. My only flaw that I have experienced so far is while recording the tapes, the tracking number skips occasionally. One song may start in the number 9 slot & finish in the 11 spot. This does not effect the recording of the song to its conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TEAC Turntable, etc., February 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TEAC GF-550 Turntable with Cassette, Radio and CD Recorder (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
This is EXACTLY what I have been looking for, easy to operate, sound quality is awesome and it's all in a nice package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, January 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TEAC GF-550 Turntable with Cassette, Radio and CD Recorder (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
It arrived as promised and was in excellent condition. Made for a great Christmas gift and my wife was extremely pleased with it. Just what she wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some what disappointed, May 21, 2012
By 
DJP (St. Louis, MO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TEAC GF-550 Turntable with Cassette, Radio and CD Recorder (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
The unit does do what it says it will. However, the record player needle is of poor quality and skips quite a bit. You would think for the money that the needle would be of better quality. In addition, you really have to baby sit this thing while your recording albums. The auto advance doesn't work very well and you end up with multiple songs on the same cd track if you don't manually advance it. The sound of the recorded cd's was actually pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TEAC GF-550, January 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: TEAC GF-550 Turntable with Cassette, Radio and CD Recorder (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I have had this item for about a week and I received it in a timely manor. So far it is working well and making good CD's. I have recorded two records at this time and the CD's sound great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.