Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, but could use one alteration.
High quality protective glass. Works beautifully. But it could use some kind of sealant around the edges of its frame. The integrated viewfinder piece is a great idea as it assures the frame will stay in place and never fall off and possibly get lost. But the frame itself sits loosely at the bottom, allowing sand and dust and moisture, etc. to get in. If you could somehow...
Published 18 months ago by pfdfiremedic

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a shadow-box...not stick on.
(Pls Note, I've posted pictures to help illustrate the following review):

I wasn't quite sure what to expect but wanted something fast. As a result, and as a first offering, this product may not ultimately be the best choice of a screen protector for the D7100. Some have argued "Who needs one? It already has a Reinforced Glass screen." But I have also read...
Published 18 months ago by mbw


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a shadow-box...not stick on., June 12, 2013
By 
mbw (Rockville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GGS III Generation DSLR LCD Screen Protector for Nikon D7100 (Electronics)
(Pls Note, I've posted pictures to help illustrate the following review):

I wasn't quite sure what to expect but wanted something fast. As a result, and as a first offering, this product may not ultimately be the best choice of a screen protector for the D7100. Some have argued "Who needs one? It already has a Reinforced Glass screen." But I have also read how the traditional 'stick on' protectors have cracked, taking the brunt of a mis-directed blow, saving the oem screen below. And the oem Reinforced Glass on the LCD screen is not scratch proof. So I say scratch the protector, (if you can), and change it later at a fraction of the cost.

The protector comes with main screen and eye piece protector in one unit (stock photo). To install, you have to remove the oem rubber viewfinder eye pad and slide the new 'unit' down over the viewfinder, (there are grooves down the sides of the viewfinder to line it all up). This centers everything up really well and sort of locks it all in place though there is no satisfying 'snap'. However, the main LCD screen protector is a frame-like appliance that has no grooves to hold it in place.....it just sorts of sits on top of the main screen, or rather on the flocked edges of the integral frame. The frame holds the new screen protector off the oem Reinforced Glass by about a sixteenth of an inch. This creates the shadow box effect I referred to in the title. So while it all seems to sit in the right position, the new protector's frame doesn't completely seal over the oem Reinforced Glass. One bottom corner does (right), the other does not (left). Disappointing. To complete the installation, the oem rubber viewfinder eye pad, slides down over the new viewfinder cover in a sort of stacked assembly. This actually seems to work quite well Except for the fact that the oem eye pad doesn't seem to slide down far enough...leaving the top edge of the rubber pad exposed and not at all flush with the top edge of the new protector.

And last, the little piece of Optical Glass that covers the top window really is a stick on piece, is cut well for the location, and fills the recessed cavity perfectly. No complaints here.

This item is not nearly close enough to perfect and I will continue to look for better D7100 screen protectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, but could use one alteration., June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GGS III Generation DSLR LCD Screen Protector for Nikon D7100 (Electronics)
High quality protective glass. Works beautifully. But it could use some kind of sealant around the edges of its frame. The integrated viewfinder piece is a great idea as it assures the frame will stay in place and never fall off and possibly get lost. But the frame itself sits loosely at the bottom, allowing sand and dust and moisture, etc. to get in. If you could somehow devise a way of sealing it to the camera this product would be perfect, in my estimation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Screen Protection, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GGS III Generation DSLR LCD Screen Protector for Nikon D7100 (Electronics)
I was very satisfied with the GGS LCD screen protector on my previous camera, a Nikon D7000, so I ordered one for my new D7100. The old one fitted over the screen with adhesive. This new one includes protection for the eye piece as well as the screen and it simply slips on, no sticky stuff involved. I'm satisfied, so far. I do a lot of hiking with the camera around my neck, rubbing against my shirt. This sort of screen protection is essential.

Follow up: Now that I have used the screen protector for a couple of months, I am less enthusiastic. It has fallen off several times. The lack of adhesive is definitely a shortcoming. I may have to secure it with Scotch Tape or something until I lose it altogether. Disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really that great, October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GGS III Generation DSLR LCD Screen Protector for Nikon D7100 (Electronics)
It wants to fall off the camera and I almost lost it more times than I can say. Might want to save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Screen protector on ground is no protection, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GGS III Generation DSLR LCD Screen Protector for Nikon D7100 (Electronics)
This protector will not stay on camera. Do not buy. It is tight fitting until you use the camera for a few hours- then you spend your time retracing your steps trying to find it on the ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Falls off immediately, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GGS III Generation DSLR LCD Screen Protector for Nikon D7100 (Electronics)
Buyer beware. This product falls off your camera with just the slightest touch, which means it doesn't protect your screens at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SLIPS OFF EASILY, February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GGS III Generation DSLR LCD Screen Protector for Nikon D7100 (Electronics)
I've had this screen protector for a while now, and its keeps slipping off with normal use. Most of the time I end up just removing it all in all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy fit, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GGS III Generation DSLR LCD Screen Protector for Nikon D7100 (Electronics)
Originally purchased for Nikon D90 which fit great & I was very satisfied with. So without question ordered one for my new D7100. The manufacturer needs to go back to the drawing board on this one as it has a very poor/sloppy fit. First time I tried to pick up camera with my thumb on back & fingers over top/front, the screen protector slipped off camera. Glad it happened right away & not when up off table & crashing back down to table or worse the floor!!! Next day out in the field, went to wipe smudge from glass & again screen fell off!!!
Also the framing covers control button names,leaving you guessing which buttons are which. Gave 2 stars as quality is there, but design/fit is not!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy I have it, June 15, 2013
By 
Nick D (usa Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GGS III Generation DSLR LCD Screen Protector for Nikon D7100 (Electronics)
I really like this it stays above the screen a tad but it goes over so of the none screen but it is to save it. I say you need to get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Problem solved!, September 20, 2014
This review is from: GGS III Generation DSLR LCD Screen Protector for Nikon D7100 (Electronics)
GGS made a design error, and that is why this protector falls off so easy. I noticed everybody had the same problem. So I looked very carefully and I found the problem lies in the way the GGS eyepiece is fixed to the Nikon camera body. Just compare the original Nikon eyecup holder and the GGS on the inside. If you look very close you will spot the difference. The original Nikon eyecup holder has extra bulges in the left and right edge that work as a kind of spring, preventing the edge from being fully pushed in. I copied these minute half round bulges by inserting a tiny piece of plastic in between the edges of the GGS eyepiece holder. The thicker your little piece of plastic is the harder it is to get the GGS protector on and of course OFF… And so the problem is solved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.