Customer Reviews


325 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great screen protector.
The GGS screen protectors are by far the best ones in my opinion. They are constructed with several layers of various glass substrates. They can be removed and reused, unlike the cheap single plastic protectors that are way overpriced.

The only downside is the manufacturer doesn't provide H x W dimensions for their product. Many cameras have custom sized...
Published on February 22, 2011 by AWBoater

versus
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This 3" LCD camera screen protector is good only on certain cameras!
I just purchased a brand new Panasonic Lumix FZ100 digital camera.

I figured I would buy a 3" screen protector to keep the color LCD screen free from fingermarks and dirt.
So I received the protector, peeled off the top protective paper and did the same thing on the bottom. It was positioned over the LCD display and it fit perfectly, or so I...
Published on December 23, 2010 by Dennis M. Meyers


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great screen protector., February 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The GGS screen protectors are by far the best ones in my opinion. They are constructed with several layers of various glass substrates. They can be removed and reused, unlike the cheap single plastic protectors that are way overpriced.

The only downside is the manufacturer doesn't provide H x W dimensions for their product. Many cameras have custom sized protectors, but if your camera is not listed, it is hard to know which protector to purchase. The only dimension is diagonal, which isn't satisfactory as not all camera viewfinders have the same aspect ratio.

I have purchased several of these, and I have provided dimensions below:

Generic protectors:

3.0" diagonal: 2 9/16" W x 1 15/16"
2.8" diagonal: 2 9/16" W x 1 43/64"
2.7" diagonal: 2 9/16" W x 1 13/16"

The dimensions given are the edge-to-edge dimension of the glass. There is also a black border about 1/16" around the edges.

Specific equipment protectors:

Nikon D3000: 2 9/16" W x 2 3/32"
Nikon SB-600 Flash: 1 5/8 W x 1 1/8 H

For specific equipment protectors, I would avoid purchasing a screen protector for anything but the intended equipment as there are often custom size borders and perhaps equipment names on the protector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Canon S95, October 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I spent a good few hours trying to find a glass style screen protector that would work for my Canon S95. I used to own this type of screen protector for my Panasonic LX3, and wanted it for my S95. Given the options out there (which I found this was the only one) I am overall satisfied with it. My only issue is with how it fits over the screen, which I will get into later in this review.

Why choose this over the cheaper plastic screen protectors? Those screen protectors tend to get dust much more easily along the edges. It also tends to peel back over time. Even if they say you can wash it and reapply, I really wanted to set it and forget it. It is really not noticeable in terms of added thickness to the camera, so I am very pleased with that and with the protection quality.

My only complaint is how well it fits over my camera screen. Around the edges of canon S95 screen is a few millimeters of blacked out glass, which the screen protector did no fully cover, so it's not completely flush. I am sure this was built to be a universal type screen protector, so I somewhat understand.

I would highly suggest this for any 3" screen that you are looking to protect that has a ratio of 4:3, but my application was specifically for the Canon S90/S95.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised!, January 22, 2010
I had pondered getting one of these for quite some time and then received
one for Christmas and just got around to installing it on my Sony a700.
I hope to never take it off unless replacing it with another GGS Optical
Glass Protector. This makes reviewing my images a pleasure and I'll
never put the OEM plastic protector back on if at all possible.

Try one of these and I think you will be surprised as well. Much better
than any of the other vinyl, plastic, adhesive or cling protectors.
NO AIR BUBBLES. No distortion at all that I have noticed and much
less glare so far.

I just ordered another for my other camera body and one for my
brother's Pentax. He admired mine and I think he'll be happy with
it and it will protect his LCD better than what he has on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This product works!, May 5, 2010
By 
Bob (Sebastopol, CA USA) - See all my reviews
I ordered one of these over a year ago and installed it on my Canon G10. It was easy to install and if you didn't know, it looked like the lcd screen itself. But the great thing about this product is that I tripped and fell while I had the camera in my hand and it took a serious hit against a rock. The lens protector cracked, but when I took it off to check the lcd...not a scratch. Because of this protector I still have an unmarked lcd. Incidentally, the screen protector comes off easy using a credit card to slide under and separate from the lcd screen. My only complaint is when I bought this one year ago it was $4.95. Now it's $9.95 to $14.95...double to triple the cost in a little over a year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This 3" LCD camera screen protector is good only on certain cameras!, December 23, 2010
By 
Dennis M. Meyers "DennisM" (Wayne, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just purchased a brand new Panasonic Lumix FZ100 digital camera.

I figured I would buy a 3" screen protector to keep the color LCD screen free from fingermarks and dirt.
So I received the protector, peeled off the top protective paper and did the same thing on the bottom. It was positioned over the LCD display and it fit perfectly, or so I thought!

The protector was placed over the display, and I then went to close the LCD display, with no luck. You see, this unit was too thick to allow the display door to close. The best way of describing this piece is clear plastic with a frame around it. The problem is the frame is just high enough to prevent the door from closing! The plastic looked very clear and defect free, but if you can't use it on your camera it is no good to you at all.

My advice is that if you have a digital still camera with an LCD door that swings open, you can't use it!

A camera back with just a screen on the back is fine, but a closing LCD door makes this piece unusable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great, June 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just perfect for the new purchased Panasonic DMC ZS7
Very easy to install and much better choice then the peel plastic type screen protectors.
The camera will surely appreciate this extra protection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost fits Canon T3i, April 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for my Canon T3i/600D and it almost fits perfectly. If you center it, you'll see a mm or two not covered on the sides. The flip screen will still close just fine with it on.

Very easy to install, it just glues on basically. Great deal for what it is. I recommended this to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT GOOD FOR CANON T3i!!!, July 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Don't buy this if you have a Canon T3i/600 D. First of all It doesn't cover the entire screen and secondly you can't close the screen because the screen protector protrudes. DON'T BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIts X100S and X100 - Works Great, October 2, 2013
By 
CN "CN" (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GGS Optical Glass LCD Screen Protector 3 inches for Digital Cameras (Electronics)
I've used these on many cameras over the last ten years or so. They apply easily, stay put and offer great protection for non-touch screen cameras. I'm posting this review to state specifically that this 3" version offers full coverage for the Fuji X100 and X100S screens. This one has a 4:3 ratio. There is a 3:2 version that will *not* fit. The black border at the edge of this one matches the outside of the X100/X100S screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great LCD protector for Canon S90, February 28, 2010
By 
JMC028 (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just purchased the Canon S90 a few weeks ago and decided to get this LCD protector. The reviews online are accurate, having glass instead of film is the better alternative (for me) as a screen protector. Some initial concerns I had were if it would add to the size/thickness of the camera, clarity and the ability to "blend" in with the camera (wasn't thrilled with the idea of having the GGS brand/stamp on the protector).

It is very thin, does not add to the overall thickness of the camera (on par with the rear control wheel). The 3M adhesive sticks around and not on the LCD screen and has a good grip (be careful when applying). The clarity is great (although I found a dead pixel while I was sticking this on, which is a separate non-issue). GGS does stamp their brand onto the protector, however, they do it tastefully. The "G-GGS" is tiny and hardly noticeable at most angles; the lettering is silver which blends in with the silver surrounding the glass. It does slightly overlap the Canon logo on the bottom though, no biggie...

Overall, very pleased with this protector and plan on buying one for my XTi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.