Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Gold = Gold edition + Brave New World
With this pack you get two separate game activation codes.

I put the Gold edition (Civ V and Gods and Kings expansion) code on my Steam account and let Hubbie upgrade his copy of Civ V with the Brave New World code.

You do not have to have Gods and Kings to make full use of the Brave New World mechanics and content. You can skip the Gods and Kings...
Published 16 months ago by Natalie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun
This game is a lot of fun. It plays a lot like the classic civilization 3 game with improved combat and improved graphics.
Biggest problem with the game is that while it takes a while to play the game play is repetitive. Maybe I'm just not that great of a player.
Published 13 months ago by Benjamin J. Judson


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Gold = Gold edition + Brave New World, October 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CIV V GOLD + Brave New World [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
With this pack you get two separate game activation codes.

I put the Gold edition (Civ V and Gods and Kings expansion) code on my Steam account and let Hubbie upgrade his copy of Civ V with the Brave New World code.

You do not have to have Gods and Kings to make full use of the Brave New World mechanics and content. You can skip the Gods and Kings expansion if you wish, but you won't get the added civilizations, technologies, and units. Any needed mechanics are included in Brave new world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Also works on Mac OSX, November 27, 2013
By 
Stephen E. Tiilikainen (Northern Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CIV V GOLD + Brave New World [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I can't say anything more than others have said. I will note though that the Steam keys provided unlock the game and expansion for both PC and Mac versions of the game. You don't have to buy it twice to play on both platforms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars even better than I expected, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CIV V GOLD + Brave New World [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I played Civ 2 and Civ 4 previously. I didn't really think there was much they could add to the game so I never bought Civ 5. Given a good deal on the game and the latest expansion, however, I decided to check it out. Wow! They have added so much to the game and it seems like all the parts I didn't like before they changed. For instance I never really like the combat system with stack of units before. Now with the change to hexagons and the limit of one unit per hex it feels much more realistic and enjoyable. Also the way that cities defend is much more realistic now - you can't just waltz in with a stack of units and take it in one turn.

I love how they simplified city management, eliminating the need to micro manage workers, production, and happiness. Now happiness is a single global stat and it's mostly based on balancing population versus luxury goods. This is great because it causes you to have to focus on trade, instead of just building structures. This also encourages diplomacy and forces you to interact with the other civilizations in a more realistic manner.

Speaking of civilizations, there are so many to choose from now! They have done a great job making each one feel unique in both personality, special units, and special abilities. City states are also a great addition to the game because they open up so many possibilities for deciding how you want to win the game. The same is true of the new social policies. They open up and offer many different paths to victory instead of funneling players into the same worn-out rut. They require planning to be used effectively and none of them constitute an easy I win button.

You can see that they put a lot of work into the latter part of the game as well. They added the world congress and completely redesigned the culture victory. There is definitely a fairly steep learning curve here, as you not only have to create great works but it matters how you combine them as well. Sometimes you need great works from the same age, sometimes different ages. Sometimes the great works have to come from another civilization. Then there are also archeological antiquities which also need to be acquired.

All the other things that old-time players are used to, like barbarians and goodie huts, are still in the game as well. Building Wonders of the World is still fun but it isn't as important as it used to be as their benefits are more fine tuned. The same is true for the role of religion in the game. You can still build missionaries but overall it seems like the world is more tolerant of religion. There is also something new called natural wonders. These add incentive to explore the map and make you feel lucky if you happen to find one in your backyard. They grant extra benefits such as gold, happiness, and culture when worked by your city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the hate, this is a fantastic game., November 27, 2013
By 
Joan (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CIV V GOLD + Brave New World [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
When Civilization V first came out, it was very unpopular. It had some pretty significant problems, and it was less feature-rich than the popular Civilization IV. Worse, it took the game in a new direction. While Civilization 1-4 were all iterative improvements on the same basic game, Civilization V was essentially a "reboot" of the series. That didn't go over well with people who were expecting the company to follow the tradition and release (basically) a remake of Civ IV.

Things have changed in the past few years, however. The game is still a reboot, but most of its problems have been fixed. There have been many patches addressing the complaints that people had, and there have been two expansions which reintroduced--and expanded on--most of the stuff that went "missing" in the transition from IV to V. That's fair, when you think about it: Civ IV had expansions of its own, and people criticizing V were inevitably using those expansions as the basis for their comparison. In any case, this bundle includes just about every addition there is for Civ V, so you don't need to worry about any of this.

Many people still say that Civ IV is a superior game, but they're very different games with their own unique strengths and weaknesses. It's not as clear-cut as critics make it sound. Some people just really like the first Civ game they play, concluding that all the others are trash. There was a pretty vocal group of people who hated IV back in the day, too, because they insisted that III was better. It happens.

In any case, this bundle will no doubt get a bunch of 1-star reviews from people who haven't touched the expansions that the bundle comes with, and that's unfair. Ignore the hate, this is a good game.

Finally, you should be aware that this game requires Steam, and you will need to install that in order to play. You are basically just buying a Steam code here -- though that also means that it is fully Mac compatible, regardless of what the product description says. If you have philosophical or technical problems with Steam then you should take that into account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 150 hours in and still playing, November 23, 2013
This review is from: CIV V GOLD + Brave New World [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I have clocked over 150 hours playing this game and all I can say is it's the best game I've ever played. Plus it has so much replay value, I mean I have 150 hours and I could play for another 150 hours no problem. With this version you also get all of the add-ons that turn the already great game into a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Buy!, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CIV V GOLD + Brave New World [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Civ 5 is an amazing game. I've gone almost entire days playing and I've never gotten bored. Be sure to get the new expansions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars build a kingdom for you subjects, and nuke the other guy, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CIV V GOLD + Brave New World [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game will eat up all your free time, I would avoid it if you have poor time management skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CIV V GOLD + Brave New World [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Great time machine. It doesn't go back in time so I docked a star, but I turn it on and suddenly it's three days later and my family has reported me missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Deal For A Great Game, September 1, 2013
This review is from: CIV V GOLD + Brave New World [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This is my first experience with Civ series, and I have spend hours playing it. It's a fun game with alot of replay value.

With this bundle, you get all the expansions/dlc together. for this price for what's is essentially the full package, it's definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game that's frequently on sale, December 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CIV V GOLD + Brave New World [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I've spent 140 hours on Steam playing Civ V and had an amazing time doing so. Steamworks allows a multitude of mods to be used and the multiple difficulty levels help provide a good way to improve over increasingly difficult A.I. if one wishes to play alone.

One minor complaint I have is that if you wish to play quickly, it can sometimes be annoying if you're playing with more than 4 people/AI as it processes all of their turns in real time. This is exacerbated if you choose to see the animations for unit attacks and movements (though this can be turned off).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.