Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Financial Thriller
It was Michael Thomas who made me an unabashed admirer of Financial Thrillers. This book of his , is a nail biting, super exciting thriller, not only an extra ordinary story beautifully told, but also an education for common folks who dont know the intrigues and manipulations of financial markets, stock markets and corporate warfare big games that happen all the time out...
Published on December 12, 2001 by Siddhanti R B

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wordy, too little finance
Someone recommended this as a taut financial thriller. Well at over 500 pages it's NOT taut! I realize people reading financial thrillers envy their protagonists (the "wannabe" effect), but the portrayal of the protagonist here is annoyingly silly and shallow: keeps gloating about his Ivy education, berating everyone else, travelling the world etc etc etc.

As...
Published on June 12, 2010 by kalm77


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Financial Thriller, December 12, 2001
By 
Siddhanti R B (New Delhi, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GREEN MONDAY (Mass Market Paperback)
It was Michael Thomas who made me an unabashed admirer of Financial Thrillers. This book of his , is a nail biting, super exciting thriller, not only an extra ordinary story beautifully told, but also an education for common folks who dont know the intrigues and manipulations of financial markets, stock markets and corporate warfare big games that happen all the time out there in the market place. Green Monday is a book not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding within it's genre... or without, July 31, 2006
By 
This review is from: Green Monday (Hardcover)
Seldom do I save novels into my permanent library. This is one that I have. Superb writing coupled with a far-out yet viable financial-manipulation plot line makes this one worth re-reading every few years. Big money, romance, dangerous characters, this book has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly THE best financial thriller, December 19, 2004
By 
B. Pappas (Nothern Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green Monday (Paperback)
Over twenty years from its publishing, Green Monday still holds its own as possibly the best financial thriller existent. Makes me wish he wrote more or the genre had caught fire like legal thrillers. The book is a throwback to a politically incorrect time when the U.S. was mired in stagflation and the NYSE was a shell of itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read., February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Monday (Hardcover)
I had read this book in paperback form before and enjoyed it. Now I have a copy which will not disintegrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be back in print, May 6, 2011
This review is from: Green Monday (Paperback)
This is really excellent book, and even more timely now than when it was written.

Anyone who read Richard Clarke's "Cyberwar" or my book, "Nerds on Wall Street" knows that automation has made markets more vulnerable.

Odd things happen in markets, and this is should be on the shelf of anyone who wants to understand why. And, hey, it costs a penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wordy, too little finance, June 12, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green Monday (Paperback)
Someone recommended this as a taut financial thriller. Well at over 500 pages it's NOT taut! I realize people reading financial thrillers envy their protagonists (the "wannabe" effect), but the portrayal of the protagonist here is annoyingly silly and shallow: keeps gloating about his Ivy education, berating everyone else, travelling the world etc etc etc.

As a result the FEW chunks of financial and political plot (the dynamics of distressed debt default in syndicated loans, elasticity of oil with other markets, the details of algorithmic trading by what is known today as VWAP, TWAP etc.) are watered down with too much annoying, long winded, completely inconsequential tripe pertaining to the "high culture" of the protagonist. You get the idea. Bleah. The tripe to plot ratio in this book is over 60%. This book could be a "good" 200 page read. Instead we are treated to the author's diarrhea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

GREEN MONDAY
GREEN MONDAY by Michael M. Thomas (Mass Market Paperback - June 12, 1981)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.