Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Challenging, and Focused
Grid 2. The day is here, after 5 years we finally get to experience Grid again. Is it good?

Yes.

Before we get under way, a little housekeeping, The game does not have cockpit view, and does not have Demolition Derby. I know that a lot of people enjoy these two features and they are important to them. I have to admit the sudden, glaring flaws this...
Published 15 months ago by Joseph Sayre

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not great!
Grid 2 fills the whole for a new racing game but I can't help but feel they didn't try very hard to make it as great as the original Grid.

Let's start off with some positives in Grid 2.

First off, I think the game looks pretty amazing. The car models, environment, even the crowds, all look really great. Grid 2 runs extremely well on my GTX 670 FTW+ @...
Published 15 months ago by T. Lack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Challenging, and Focused, May 28, 2013
This review is from: GRID 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Grid 2. The day is here, after 5 years we finally get to experience Grid again. Is it good?

Yes.

Before we get under way, a little housekeeping, The game does not have cockpit view, and does not have Demolition Derby. I know that a lot of people enjoy these two features and they are important to them. I have to admit the sudden, glaring flaws this creates at the outset of a review did put a bad taste in my mouth. I just couldn't figure out why this game was to be having less content than the previous game. But I will tell you now, I'm not really sure that it affects the gameplay much, GRID's shining feature here is its driving and overwhelming sense of urgency, it just had a big price it had to pay for it. I think a lot of people will be wary about their favorite stuff missing this time around.

***Menu and Ease of use***
GRID's menu system is a pretty solid comparison to Dirt 2's menu system, but without Dirt 2's cumbersome animations. I found selections to be quick, really easy to navigate, and extremely well laid out. I had no trouble whatsoever doing what I needed to do. The menu Looks nice and works quite well.

***Sound***
GRID has no interest in getting big bands and setting up crazy playlists so you can jam out while you race. It has a selection of somewhat generic, underlying tunes, to make sure that the Cars take center stage. That's not to say the tunes are under inspired or poor, they're certainly not, but they're just downplayed for the cars sound to take them over, and to only use the urgent tunes to convey urgency and get your blood pumping. I enjoy the sentiment because of the great sounds on the cars. A good set of speakers makes these engines sound great, the 4 bangers and the monstrous v8's and 12's don't let you down at all. To boot, each car really sounds different and unique. I want to say this game's cars sound a lot like Forza's cars sound, possibly a bit better, and that's a pretty good benchmark to hit.

***Gameplay***

GRID 2 offers a few new game types to mess around with Returning game types are:

-----Race: Race X number of laps and attempt to come in first.

-----Drift: Get the tail out at speed to earn points, multipliers are given to linked drifts andbunus points are given to drivers who get get close to the flags while drifting. The closer you get, the more points you bank. Collisions in a multiplier, end that multiplier.

-----Touge: Two cars face off down a hill twice, you follow your opponent the first, he follows you the second, or vice versa. Collisions earn you penalties. Whomever wins two races first wins.

-----Face off: Two cars, one track, one race, One lap or point to point. Winner takers all.

-----Endurance: Timed races, you race for X minutes, whoever is in the lead at the end wins.

New event types:

-----Time attack: Nothing truly original, get around the track and beat the target time.

-----Elimination: The clock begins ticking, everytime it counts down, the last place car is eliminated, the race continues until one car remains.

-----Overtake: Overtake slower cars. There is a multiplier at work, this multiplier has two resets, as you increase in multiplier (one level increase for each overtake) you get a few seconds to pass another car, if you do so in time, the overtake multiplier increases (Max is times 10), if you fail to do this you lose on times multiplier (5  4) and the timer to lower again begins, it will continue going down until you pass a car. The other way is a collision. Striking a car or a wall will reset your multiplier to 1. To win, you'll need to keep your multiplier as high as possible and race clean.

-----Checkpoint: The object here is distance. The track is laden with checkpoints, each checkpoint will give you more time, the object is the be the last one still going, the faster you can get through sections of the track, the more time you'll have, and the longer you'll last.

Single player:

The object here is to begin a whole new Racing league comprised of all of the best clubs and drivers in the world. The WSR. As you race against clubs in a country, they'll begin to see the value of racing in the WSR and you being the main wingman for the creator, beating the clubs at their own game and offering them a chance to play in the WSR only grows the sport. As you play you'll be challenged with new playstyles, new events more cars and harder and longer races. You begin in America, move to Europe and Asia and set up a WSR in each country, then set up a world league. Really, this is a more streamlined version of how GRID one handled its races, with right around the same number of events, possibly more. Winning earns fans for the WSR, and as you amass more fans more people watch. But really the fans for the WSR are exactly the same as Your Reputation score in Grid One. In short it feels like GRID, and it does work well. But I'd be surprised if you play single player once you start multiplayer.

Multiplayer:

Wow this got so much of an overhaul. You start your very own racing team here, like you did in Grid one, but this time you get to have that experience online. Winning earns you experience and cash, as you level up, you unlock other cars to purchase with your cash, or spend that money on upgrades to make the car more competitive, with a completely separate livery editor from the single player, and completely separate car unlock progression. So, to do well and unlock things quickly, you need to win. With all the disciplines available there's bound to be something you'll want to specialize in. The online mode is very well sorted out. But the races are just as easy to join and participate as before.

The Liveroute system

Liveroute basically takes a track and randomizes the corners you'll be taking, making the route different each lap of a race. I'll try to show you. Lets say you have a track that looks like this:

<7 (4 turns two very heavy, one hard and an easy.)

Live route could race that exact track the first lap, then change it the second lap to look like this:

<? (5 turns, two heavy turns (ones's in a different place, two chicanes and a long sweep)

And the third to look like this:

{X7 (6 turns, 4 heavy turns, an a dip tunnel bit that goes under another part of the track (the X), a Kink and longer straights)

This prevents players from memorizing the layout of the track and make them entirely dependent on what's coming. Its completely reaction based. Arcadey or not, it keeps you on your toes. The system works fairly well too. Above your minimap, there is a pink bar that fills in, this is your lap so you can tell how much longer you've got to race. In the examples, the "<" shown in the first two examples will have very different entry speeds, as the sweeping corner in the second example will net a higher top speed on exit.

Flashback:

Flashback's... Back. Ahem. The rewind feature is more streamlined than I've seen it before, getting rid of the snapshots and flashes, and just letting you fix your mistake, more like how Forza's system works.

***Physics***

This game is not a sim, but its not so much an arcade game that it passes as need for speed. Let me explain,
The game is extremely good at responding to your inputs, how you use the throttle, the sound, the way you turn and the approach to corners combined with weight transfer into a corner all contribute heavily to how a car will respond through that corner, so setting yourself up for a corner and making sure you're using all the power you can use at the correct moment is key to being able to keep speed through corners, just like a sim. However cars respond quicker to braking, and turn better than they should be able to in real life giving an arcade feel as well. There are a few tracks you can get through in low classes keeping it floored, but there are a large amount of technical tracks which will make you brake hard and try to focus on the apex and exit of the corner to retain and gain speed.

While the game is arcade, its not a NFS hold your finger permanently on the Accelerator to win mentality, coupled with that is damage.
Your car will take damage as you hit walls or cars, some damage is instant, some is over time, such as radiator damage. The damage will slowly rob your car of power as it overheats, causing even more damage over time. Hard hits to the front may cause wheels or suspension damage which will be felt immediately in the corners. Damage isn't modeled in a Forza realistic sense where as in real life hard hits to the front of the car completely make it worthless, heavily damaging downforce and suspension, GRID's more forgiving than that, but routinely beating the crap out of your car will cost you seconds on the track resulting in slower gear changes, tracking issues with the wheels resulting in pulls going straight, and loss of power depending on how severe the hit was. Terminal damage is also possible, hitting something hard enough or enough times can disable the car, which allows you to run a flashback to try and remedy what you did wrong.

***Graphics***
GRID 2 is a very attractive game, the smoke and cars are modeled extremely well, as is the damage, Codies still sports the best damage model in the business. Making GRID 2 a beautiful game to look at, and to play, I did see some texture pop in, specifically the wheels, but more types of paint and adjustments are available here than in the previous iteration, as well as the environments being astoundingly gorgeous. Where GRID's weird yellowish tint and very high bloom made it look grittier andmore realistic, the engine here is very solid, leaving little need for high bloom, and opening a diverse and very beautiful palette of racetrack grittiness and natural mountain road beauty.

Keep in mind though they sacrificed Cockpit to make these landscapes as nice as they are, and as nice as they do look, i'm not sure it was neccesary, still the graphics are excellent.

***Wrap UP***
All in all, I think the focus here is to improve the overall feel of GRID, but GRID 2, while it feels like a sequel I feel still has lost some of its personality, With the loss of cockpit view (which I don't use) They have lost some hardcore gamers for a better looking game. I feel bad about this decision, but I tried really hard not to think about it going in, and to be honest when the heat is on, and its close racing I have such a hard time believing you'll care. The racing Is phenomenal and the AI iconic to Codemasters is VERY challenging if you increase the difficulty. The loss of Demo derby though, that makes me a bit upset, I really enjoyed that mode, and was almost exclusively what I played online in the First GRID. I feel the racing and experience here in this game has escalated GRID 2 to be better than GRID 1, especially how Online is handled, but it's much more serious now as a result, which is a completely different kind of fun than Demo Derby provides, but more adequately utilizes what they've chosen to include in the game as far as improvements to physics and car selection.
Overall Grid 2 is an excellently well-made and balanced game, if you like racing games, it's a good title to have. The missing features don't in my opinion hurt it much given the visuals and the racing it has to offer, but I'll miss the features they left out. I recommend this game for the Consoles or PC. It's definitely better than what Shift could offer, and it's not as serious as other sims, while staying away from Blur and Split second type of stuff. I just hope at some point Demo Derby is DLC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not great!, May 28, 2013
By 
This review is from: GRID 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Grid 2 fills the whole for a new racing game but I can't help but feel they didn't try very hard to make it as great as the original Grid.

Let's start off with some positives in Grid 2.

First off, I think the game looks pretty amazing. The car models, environment, even the crowds, all look really great. Grid 2 runs extremely well on my GTX 670 FTW+ @ 2560x1440. I average around 50fps with all settings at max and the game just runs beautifully. There is the occasional hiccup here and there but I think that has more to do with the game being on my HDD then the actual game.

There's a decent amount of tracks and gamemodes and most are pretty fun. One race you'll be doing an elimination event, next you'll be doing an endurance race, then you'll be doing a drift event. Every mode does feel distinct for the most part but it does start getting repetitive doing the same mode 3 times in a row.

The car selection is also pretty good with around 50 cars. Each car does feel and handle differently to a certain degree which I'll explain later on.

Now for the cons.

The overall feel of driving the cars just isn't that great to be honest. They all handle pretty well up until the point of needing to corner. For some reason Codemasters decided that it would be better to have to drift or powerslide around every corner. You can't corner like you'd normally do in a racing game because you'll go head on into a wall. You have to hit the breaks and then smash the gas and drift every corner. It does get rather old after a few hours and I think it takes a lot of the fun out of playing the game.

I feel the track selection is pretty weak compared to the first Grid. You end up doing the same tracks over and over, sometimes back to back. I don't know the exact number of tracks in Grid 2 but I think it's only around a little more then 20. This is a problem when going through the single player because you end up doing the same kinds of events on the same tracks multiple times. They may change the route in some tracks but to me I don't really notice it since the environment looks identical to the race I just did two times before.

Another major problem in Grid 2 is them getting rid of the money system in single player. Instead you earn fans after doing a race which is just a stupid idea. They hand cars out throughout the campaign and you can't purchase new cars or purchase upgrades for the cars. Here's the really weird thing, in multiplayer the money system is back and you can purchase new cars or upgrade your existing car in stages. It's really beyond me why they would remove it from the single player and add it to multiplayer.

One major gripe I have with Codemasters is $25 worth of DLC on day one. This to me is just insane and really disrespectful to their customers. Okay, I just bought your game brand new when it came out and you want me to shell out an additional $25 for content that's already in the game? Not gonna happen guys!

Overall I feel the original Grid is a much better game compared to Grid 2, even to this day. The graphic improvements over the first game is nice but I don't feel it's really a major advancement graphically over the first game. The handling is purely arcade with no simulation to be found. The event's start getting repetitive after a few hours and the game just starts feeling like a chore to get through. On top of this, Codemasters has DLC worth almost half what the game costs on the very first day of release.

Do I think the game is worth buying? Sure, if you have nothing else to play or you want a racing fix. Do I think the game is worth full price? Absolutely not! I can't recommend a game where they have this much DLC on day one. Now if you can pick up Grid 2 with the DLC included down the road in a Steam sale for half price then I think it would be worth it.

Grid 2 is a decent filler game which is kinda sad. I don't feel like there's anything here to make you want to play it multiple times. I'm struggling to get through the game once due to how boring it's starting to get after 6 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Took out the simulation experience of first game, but still fun, April 9, 2014
This review is from: GRID 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The Good: Fantastic visuals, great controls, fun arcade racing, fast sense of speed, lots of tracks and race types, plenty of awesome real world cars

The Bad: Simulation part of GRID is completely gone, no upgrades or tuning of vehicles, some AI issues

Codemasters has been leading the way for racing simulation since DiRT came out. They were well known for the TOCA Racer Driver and Colin McRae series (which later became DiRT). GRID was a great circuit racing simulator that featured high speed machines that weren't seen in DiRT. Think of GRID as DiRT's asphalt cousin. It had a lot of great features and modes and that continues in GRID 2, but gone are the simulation type controls and feeling. GRID 2 takes a more arcade approach which is both good and bad for the series.

You start out with low end cars like the Ford Focus, a few muscle cars like the Mustang and Camaro, and even a couple of Subaru's thrown in. You won't start with the fast stuff right away. The goal of the game is to get WSR racing known worldwide and by earning respect in different regions of the world. You will travel from the US, Europe, UAE, and Asia. Racing games aren't really well known for stories so let's skip that part. Once you start racing you will immediately notice one thing: the cockpit view is gone. This is a real shame because DiRT was one of the first games to implement this during the beginning of the current generation of consoles. You are forced into the 3rd person view or the hood view which kind of sucks, but once you realize this is an arcade feeling racer you won't mind so much. You can drift easily into turns like and arcade racer and the sense of speed is great. There's no tuning your vehicles or upgrading them with parts, sure you can customize the looks, but that's about it.

Once you get over this shock you will start noticing the variety of tracks and race types. Most are typical for a racing game and seen in many other Codemasters games like elimination, stand-offs, regular races, and time attacks. Nothing really special here, but it's mixed up enough to keep you from getting bored. You can unlock new tracks and race types by earning fans, but honestly the game isn't all that hard. The AI is kind of all over the place so be prepared for the occasional frustrating race. You pick what kind of car you need based on an average setting like drift type or balanced type, there's also grip type which tend to understeer a bit and aren't so great for drifting.

At least the game looks amazing. The lighting effects are fantastic and the textures look great as well as the cars. The new smoke effects from Intel's new 4th generation CPUs looks great and the game even has a mode for laptops. Honestly the game can look pretty nice even on low-end PCs, but when you turn the graphics settings to max the game shines and looks spectacular. There's a good 10+ hours of gameplay here and the multiplayer is about average. I honestly don't care for racing multiplayer but if you want it you will enjoy it plenty. There's a plethora of cars to choose and the more powerful ones start becoming available later on in the game.

Overall, GRID 2 is a solid fast paced racing game with a great selection of cars to unlock. It looks really good, the cars handle nicely, and there's a variety of tracks and race types. The only sad part is the simulation part of GRID got stripped away for a more approachable arcade like style. This doesn't really hurt the game, but hardcore fans of GRID or TOCA Race Driver may find this a turn off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great racing game., October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRID 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Love the graphics, controls and flow of the races. I would have given it 5/5 if more ppl played online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for Shift 2, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRID 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I started out playing racing games with Shift 2 and loved them. That game was and is awesome however it was VERY glitchy - especially the multiplayer feature. This game gives the same satisfying game-play but it works! The graphics aren't anything special but it is very playable. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GRID 2 is a fairly good game, worth the buy., March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRID 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
GRID 2 is a pretty good racing game, however it IS slightly repetitive which isn't uncommon with racing games but I have to detract a star because it could have been done better. However the detail put into the cars and the racetracks in general is outstanding and definitely outright worth 4 stars.

Also the announcer's tracks (the voice) repeat itself a LOT. They didn't need to have him repeat everything ever for the whole game, it got really annoying so that detracted from the score. But I would highly recommend to give this game a try, sale or no sale it's fairly worth it for the racing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRID 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
amazing graphics!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO WASTE THE MONEY, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRID 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Read the reviews on google about the problems with this game, and nvida cards crashing to desktop. Codemasters will not fix the problem, and there is no way for a refund. Horrible product because there a lot of known bugs that will not allow it to run.
My system well exceeds the minimums, but my video card causes a crash to desktop (new 660ti boost) customer support was no help after weeks of asking for support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRID 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I had Grid for the PS 3 and I love Grid 2 for my PC. The graphics are dramatically better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, Not that much lasting appeal, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRID 2 [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I really had a lot of fun playing the game, but after about 8 hours or so, I got kind of bored with it. Or at least I got bored with the singleplayer. I still have fun playing it on occasion with friends, but I didn't make it all the way through the singleplayer. However, for the price of $12.50, I would definitely consider the game worth the purchase. The game is definitely an arcade racer, but there is still a bit of skill involved, and my favorite thing about the driving mechanics are the subtle nuances with throttle control on drifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

GRID 2 [Online Game Code]
$49.99 $29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.