Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Microscope for the masses...
Bought this for my classroom use with some special education kids. They loved it and it worked well. The software that comes with it leave A LOT to be desire. Very limited in scope and functionality. It was also somewhat annoying that there is an increasing lag in the computer image as you increase the resolution (zooming in more on the image.) You move the scope, or...
Published on August 10, 2010 by EffDee

versus
50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't see 200X; just about 20X
Product looks very stylish; installation is a breeze (I have Windows XP); operation is very intuitive and smooth. All good, except magnification seems to be stuck at 20X.

I tried all moveable parts on this camera; and adjusted the magnification scale in "preference"; but the magnification never changed. Since high magnifying power is the main feature I'm...
Published on July 18, 2010 by R. Hsiao


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Microscope for the masses..., August 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI High-Definition Scientific Digital LED Microscope, USB Video Connection to Computers/Laptops/Notebooks, Magnifies All Microscopic Articles 200x, Special Image Treatment, Includes Stand for Handsfree Use, for Hobby/Science/Education/Industrial (Camera)
Bought this for my classroom use with some special education kids. They loved it and it worked well. The software that comes with it leave A LOT to be desire. Very limited in scope and functionality. It was also somewhat annoying that there is an increasing lag in the computer image as you increase the resolution (zooming in more on the image.) You move the scope, or change the focus, and there is a serious lag in what you see on the screen at these higher resolutions. It makes focusing very difficult at high resolutions. Not a problem at the lower settings.

The snapshot feature is nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't see 200X; just about 20X, July 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI High-Definition Scientific Digital LED Microscope, USB Video Connection to Computers/Laptops/Notebooks, Magnifies All Microscopic Articles 200x, Special Image Treatment, Includes Stand for Handsfree Use, for Hobby/Science/Education/Industrial (Camera)
Product looks very stylish; installation is a breeze (I have Windows XP); operation is very intuitive and smooth. All good, except magnification seems to be stuck at 20X.

I tried all moveable parts on this camera; and adjusted the magnification scale in "preference"; but the magnification never changed. Since high magnifying power is the main feature I'm after, this product gets a one-star from me. I hope I made a mistake; if so, somebody please tell me how to increase the magnification.

The box and User Instruction gives no contact number -- not even the company selling or manufacturing this product which is pretty weird. I only found company name in the Amazon shipping label. I'm gonna call them on Monday but somehow I have a feeling I'd get nowhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No support, Windows 7, June 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI High-Definition Scientific Digital LED Microscope, USB Video Connection to Computers/Laptops/Notebooks, Magnifies All Microscopic Articles 200x, Special Image Treatment, Includes Stand for Handsfree Use, for Hobby/Science/Education/Industrial (Camera)
I could not get the unit to work on my computer with Windows 7. There are toggles within Windows 7 to revert back to previous versions (Vista, XP etc.) to make older products work. Even with the computer operating a version the GSI required; it would not work.

There was no support or anyone to call. Even the package has some broken English a.k.a. mis-spelled words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, Works with Windows 7, September 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI High-Definition Scientific Digital LED Microscope, USB Video Connection to Computers/Laptops/Notebooks, Magnifies All Microscopic Articles 200x, Special Image Treatment, Includes Stand for Handsfree Use, for Hobby/Science/Education/Industrial (Camera)
I bought this to check dates, mint marks and errors on coins. It's not bad if you are looking for a simple microscope with a single magnification level. As some of the other reviews stated, focusing it is a bit clunky with the scroll wheel, and it was also a little tricky to get working on Windows 7.

If you are using Windows 7, below is what I did to make it work. If you don't follow those steps, the camera won't be recognized by the software using the driver that windows automatically assigns to the camera. Note that the software really isn't anything fancy - in fact it's very basic, but it does the trick.

There are two installation files on the CD, one for the drivers and the other for the software. You can install the MicroCapture software anytime (setup.exe), before or after the drivers. Once you run the install for the drivers (drvsetup.exe), plug in the camera and a driver will be installed by windows automatically. Once it is complete, go into the properties of the camera (through the Device Manager in your Devices and Printers) and update the driver. Choose the appropriate driver for your operating system, located in the "C:\Program Files\Vimicro Corporation\VMUVC" directory (x64 or x86). Once I chose my driver and updated it, the camera was recognized by the software right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works fine - was tricky to install on Win 7/64 Pro, June 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI High-Definition Scientific Digital LED Microscope, USB Video Connection to Computers/Laptops/Notebooks, Magnifies All Microscopic Articles 200x, Special Image Treatment, Includes Stand for Handsfree Use, for Hobby/Science/Education/Industrial (Camera)
I'm Happy. It took several attempts (a few BSDs) to get drivers installed before their "Amcap" pgm would detect this toy microscope on Win 7/64: 1st copy CD to HDD/my_crow_scope_pix; right click installer and set Compatibility Mode to 7 (or was it finally "2000" mode that got it working?) then double-click it to run the installer. YES, it's not super HQ rez, but it works fine for ~41 bucks! I love the overall ergonomics and the handy dual function of the focus adjustment - there are TWO magnification powers (not zoom) at each extreme of "focus". At high mag, turn up the LED brightness via the cord-dongle adjustment dial. I un-soldered the LED PCB to look deeper inside the unit: The internal lens threads can be turned "in" for infinity, or extended for max mag (it only changes the CU ranges slightly). Note: Dust/dirt can easily enter and end up on the sensor, so use/store it carefully w/corded end "up"! I'll post 6 hand-held test pictures: Cent, Dollar, and Pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, June 19, 2011
By 
John A. Janes (Albany, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI High-Definition Scientific Digital LED Microscope, USB Video Connection to Computers/Laptops/Notebooks, Magnifies All Microscopic Articles 200x, Special Image Treatment, Includes Stand for Handsfree Use, for Hobby/Science/Education/Industrial (Camera)
The magnification was great but I was unable to capture images over 320x200 in size, any increase in capture magnification resulted in a black capture window. There is no support available as the device was non-branded from China. On the upside the drivers installed without a problem and the device did work well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not 200X magnification :(, November 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI High-Definition Scientific Digital LED Microscope, USB Video Connection to Computers/Laptops/Notebooks, Magnifies All Microscopic Articles 200x, Special Image Treatment, Includes Stand for Handsfree Use, for Hobby/Science/Education/Industrial (Camera)
This unit is easy to set up and use, great for kids.
The issue is the magnification is no where near 200x.
It is not useful for me and I ended up giving it away
to my neighbor's kids. They are very happy with it.

I will be trying to locate a different brand that
actually works as stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't beat the price, October 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI High-Definition Scientific Digital LED Microscope, USB Video Connection to Computers/Laptops/Notebooks, Magnifies All Microscopic Articles 200x, Special Image Treatment, Includes Stand for Handsfree Use, for Hobby/Science/Education/Industrial (Camera)
Bought this unit for work. The directions and setup are terrible, poorly translated into english. The software is possibly bootlegged, microsoft didn't like it much. But overall for the price it did work, you can get some decent pictures of stuff and some good magnification. And you really can't beat the price for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT JUST WHAT WE WERE LOOKING FOR, May 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI High-Definition Scientific Digital LED Microscope, USB Video Connection to Computers/Laptops/Notebooks, Magnifies All Microscopic Articles 200x, Special Image Treatment, Includes Stand for Handsfree Use, for Hobby/Science/Education/Industrial (Camera)
JUST WHAT WE WERE LOOKING FOR WORKS GREAT TO CHECK THE STONES IN MY JEWELRY AND TO CHECK COINS FOR FLAWS OR ANYTHING ELSE YOU NEED TO SEE UP CLOSE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Got it working on my Mac, May 2, 2013
By 
Dave Hayden (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GSI High-Definition Scientific Digital LED Microscope, USB Video Connection to Computers/Laptops/Notebooks, Magnifies All Microscopic Articles 200x, Special Image Treatment, Includes Stand for Handsfree Use, for Hobby/Science/Education/Industrial (Camera)
What's awesome is the driver CD actually has a folder called "mac" on it... and it's empty.

So, googling the USB product and manufacturer ids I found what appeared to be drivers for the same thing under a different brand:

[...]

I downloaded them all and started installing (probably not the safest thing--we'll see if my system gets flaky), after one that said it succeeded installation I ran Photo Booth and it worked. I'm getting 640x426 images out of the thing, nowhere near the 2MP it advertised, but for the price I'm not complaining. All I needed was something to help with soldering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.