Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice cup, but small
I bought this to use as a camping cup, and it does pretty well in that function. My primary disappointment in the cup is its small size. The fault is mine here, as I looked at the cup and assumed it was the same size as standard camping mug, which turn out to be 20oz cups while this one is 14oz, 30% smaller. It does hold warmth pretty well, and is a bit more...
Published on December 1, 2009 by Chef Soda

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gets very hot
The mug gets very got (single wall) and the handle design does not help at all. The handle is flat and too wide, making it very difficult to hold steady without touching the (hot) mug. Also, the bottom is not flat, so the mug spins around quite a bit.

Gander mountain sells a similar size double walled with a friendlier handle. The double walled mug and hollow...
Published on May 4, 2012 by cerbu


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice cup, but small, December 1, 2009
By 
Chef Soda "chefsoda" (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup (Sports)
I bought this to use as a camping cup, and it does pretty well in that function. My primary disappointment in the cup is its small size. The fault is mine here, as I looked at the cup and assumed it was the same size as standard camping mug, which turn out to be 20oz cups while this one is 14oz, 30% smaller. It does hold warmth pretty well, and is a bit more comfortable to hold when filled with hot coffee. As camping cups go, if it's the size you want, you should be happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Versatile and sturdy, April 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup (Sports)
Whether you're climbing in Nepal, or hunting boars in Texas, the value of a quality stainless steel cup can not be stressed enough. I've taken my cup to more places than I can remember, and from brewing a nice cup of joe to warming up beans on camp fire, it works like a charm every time (is also light weight, and wipes clean very easily).

I took off a star because the handle got bent when my sack got smashed against rocks while climbing in the Andes, and nothing else in my sack got damaged other than the cup. However, that was a while back and I'm still using the cup with no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gets very hot, May 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup (Sports)
The mug gets very got (single wall) and the handle design does not help at all. The handle is flat and too wide, making it very difficult to hold steady without touching the (hot) mug. Also, the bottom is not flat, so the mug spins around quite a bit.

Gander mountain sells a similar size double walled with a friendlier handle. The double walled mug and hollow handle insulate very well, so you can burn your esophagus ( if this is your pleasure) without burning your fingers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Cup, May 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup (Sports)
Cups don't get much better than this one, thick solid construction, very well welded handle, and smooth contours. Water heats quickly due to the stainless steel but also cools very quickly when emptied so it's ready to store right after use. GSI also makes one with a non-fixed handle if you would prefer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Lightweight Cup, May 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup (Sports)
I traveled all over Southeast Asia with this cup in my backpack and plan to take it to Europe in the Fall. It's very lightweight and, with a one-cup water heater, I was able to have tea and coffee wherever I went. . . GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's nice, but needs a thicker more comfortable handle, October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup (Sports)
This product is nice for the price, but needs a better handle that can keep your hand more comfortable. With a full cup, the weight of the fluid makes the handle dig into your hand and isn't comforable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup (Sports)
Some reviews/comments have been about the size. I personally find the size to be excellent for a solo cup. Boils waters nicely, and is an excellent container for outdoor use. This cup is perfect for what I was looking for, a lightweight, portable, easy to hold, outdoor cup. The fact that it is stainless steel is awesome; it makes it easy to clean and will never rust. Really worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.8oz, February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup (Sports)
The cup weighs 3.8oz which is not anywhere in the description. I thought it would be 2oz as that is what the shipping weight says, though it is wrong. The cup seems durable and being single walled hood for putting directly in the stove
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a Cup, October 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup (Sports)
The cup is sturdy small enough to fit in any pack and very light. Handle surprisingly does not get hot when water is boiling but holy hell the cup will be scalding. It is a basic cup that has served the purpose on several backpacking trips and gone through many pots of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cup, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup (Sports)
I was sick of drinking water out of plastic tumblers and bought this cup. Arrived in perfect condition and now I use it all the time. I only use it for water as that is what I have with my dinner. It does sweat but I expected that and its no big deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

GSI Outdoors Glacier Stainless 14 fl Oz Cup
$39.95 $8.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.