Customer Reviews


319 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (119)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


213 of 231 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pay attention
the reason you can't use it for connecting laptop to tv is because of the direction of travel of the information. your laptop's video OUTPUT does not go through the usb ports, it will go through either and s-video connection or a serial port. this cable is for input to laptop, not output from it. so connect dvd player, vcr, camcorder, etc. and you're fine. if and only if...
Published on April 27, 2011 by cwinse

versus
106 of 134 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not purchase, this is NOT for video capturing using your computer (read my review!)
This MAY be for use with a special device that has a USB port on it which INTERFACES with your computer, but THIS IS NOT FOR PLUGGING UP TO YOUR COMPUTER.

***** >>>>>>> DO NOT PLUG TO YOUR COMPUTER <<<<<<<<< *******

Do not be fooled by the little "box" in the middle of the cable which some might believe is an...
Published on May 24, 2011 by T. Sessoms


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

213 of 231 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pay attention, April 27, 2011
This review is from: GSI - 3 RCA To USB Cable (Personal Computers)
the reason you can't use it for connecting laptop to tv is because of the direction of travel of the information. your laptop's video OUTPUT does not go through the usb ports, it will go through either and s-video connection or a serial port. this cable is for input to laptop, not output from it. so connect dvd player, vcr, camcorder, etc. and you're fine. if and only if your tv has rca outputs, which most do not nowadays, then you could use it to record what's on tv, but easier just to connect to your cable box or dvd player or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ THE PRODUCT DESCRIPTION! it does not claim its for a pc to tv connection!, January 7, 2011
THIS CABEL WORKS GREAT!!! I feel bad when I see a product with a bad star rating because some people just assume that a usb to rca cable is going to connect a pc to a tv. If you read the description you will not find anything that says it's for a pc to tv connection. Bottom line if you are purchasing this to connect a usb camcorder to a tv then YES IT WILL WORK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 134 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not purchase, this is NOT for video capturing using your computer (read my review!), May 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI - 3 RCA To USB Cable (Personal Computers)
This MAY be for use with a special device that has a USB port on it which INTERFACES with your computer, but THIS IS NOT FOR PLUGGING UP TO YOUR COMPUTER.

***** >>>>>>> DO NOT PLUG TO YOUR COMPUTER <<<<<<<<< *******

Do not be fooled by the little "box" in the middle of the cable which some might believe is an analog-composite-video-signal to digital-serial converter. It is not.

I disassembled the cable to see what it was, and it is merely 3 RCA connectors going to the USB port. That's all! This can damage your USB port and/or the audio/video device you plug it into. Here's why, and here is the PINOUT of the cable:

* The ground of the RCA connectors is also the ground of the USB port as well as the Data ground (D-) on the USB port!

* The "Right Audio" composite pin is actually the +5 Vcc on the USB port! This will inject 5 volts into your video/audio device if plugged in!!

* The "Left Audio" and "Video" composite pins go to the Data positive (D+) on the USB port!

Again YOU WILL FRY YOUR USB PORT AND/OR YOUR VIDEO DEVICE if you plug this cable in and connect it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nonesense product, May 26, 2012
This review is from: GSI - 3 RCA To USB Cable (Personal Computers)
This product is a $2 tax on those who don't understand electronics and want a quick fix. Do not buy it unless you know EXACTLY what you're doing. Period. THERE IS NO STANDARD EQUIPMENT CONFIGURATION IN WHICH IT MAKES SENSE TO USE THIS CABLE. It doesn't matter if you have a camcorder, TV, laptop or desktop, how old your stuff is, or which way you want the pictures to go: this cable is not for you. It is meaningless to connect an analog port (RCA) to a digital one (USB) like this. If you're lucky, the USB power wires are not connected and you will not damage your equipment.

To get technical, a USB cable has 4 wires inside (not counting the overall shield): 2 wires to transfer DIGITAL signal: a data+ and a data- wires, and 2 power wires: +5V and ground. RCA audio/video cable has three ANALOG wires: video, audio left and audio right, each one with a ground (or shield) for a total of 6. There is no possible way they can go together and work on any standard equipment.

If you bought it and it (predictably) doesn't do anything, complain to Amazon for selling snake oil to waste your time and make a buck. There should be a list of the (maybe five) devices with which this abomination is compatible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RCA to USB cable, February 4, 2011
By 
JIM Stockton (Jamestown, Tennessee,USA.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I needed to get some old VHS tapes onto my computer. Everywhere else the price ran up to $20-30 and more . I checked at Amazon and got it at a super deal. In fact shipping at $2.98 was more than the cable.

Thanksm Jim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save Your Money, February 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI - 3 RCA To USB Cable (Personal Computers)
I read many of the customer reviews and though most of them said it wouldn't work I thought for $3 it's got to be worth a try. I had no illusions about this thing connecting my laptop to a TV, I simply wanted to connect a video camera with an RCA output to my laptop and record some images using Windows Movie Maker. But as so many of the reviews reported, this thing doesn't do squat. The reviews I saw in here which said it worked must be the manufacturer's rep trying to hype their product. This thing does not work. Period. Save your money for something else and shame on Amazon for allowing this kind of crap to be peddled on their site. It's too expensive to try and return and that's what these scam artists are counting on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understand what is is for before you buy it!, January 7, 2014
This review is from: GSI - 3 RCA To USB Cable (Personal Computers)
This cable is designed to connect an output to an input, not an input to an output. It is made to connect a USB output device (DVD player) to an RCA input and allow you to continue to use today's newer devices with your older display. That's it. I am elated since this product has extended the life of my 40" Mitsubishi MB605 direct view TV and allow me to connect it to an output that only comes with USB. Since 2013 was the last year any device was made with RCA output/input, there would be no way for anyone to use a new DVD player (like a blue ray or one with wi-fi) with their older TV. This device does exactly what it was designed to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised, October 18, 2011
By 
A.J. (Hollywood, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI - 3 RCA To USB Cable (Personal Computers)
Bought this to transfer video from my camcorder with RCA jacks to my computer via the USB port. The product description states, "View images and videos from camcorders on USB-enabled TVs and PCs" which would lead me to believe this would work just fine. It does not. When plugging into the USB port of any computer, nothing is recognized. For $4, I'm not going to bother sending it back, but I wanted to warn others as it will waste your time if you buy this cable. Obviously it works for some purpose, but this is not one of them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for connecting LAPTOP to TV, May 23, 2010
This product is only for connecting your video camera to the laptop. It CANNOT be used to connect a laptop to a TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy This Cable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GSI - 3 RCA To USB Cable (Personal Computers)
I am sure this cable was made for a special purpose in for which was the only thing it was good for. This Cable absolutely will not convert your Analog Video Signal from you VCR, Camcorder or whatever to the PC input of your Computer. It says it will work with your enabled device which your computer is not an enabled device!

The Product Description does not give enough information so that people will know that this item will not work for the application that they are hoping for. I believe this is being done on purpose to mislead people into buying this as I believe the seller picked these things up for probably next to nothing and now they are selling them here for close to a 300% profit and laughing all the way to the bank as most people aren't going to return it for the few dollars they spent on it and the seller knows this.

I also believe the positive reviews left for the item and the people who are insulting the people leaving the reviews about it are connected to the seller in some form.

People your usb port on your computer will need some sort of driver for any input to work and of course there is not one included. It will not function as if you plugged a web cam into your computer and it very well could damage whatever you hook up to it as they is voltage now being sent back to your device from the usb port.

I would have thought with all the bad reviews and unhappy customers Amazon would have pulled this item from being sold on its web site. Doesn't speak much for Amazon's reputation when they allow such a poorly described product on their site. I will ask about this when I call and ask for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

GSI - 3 RCA To USB Cable
$12.99 $5.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.