Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop Culture, Queer Theory, Feminism, and Gaga
Although I don't find it to have the same depth and fire as Halberstam's earlier volume, Female Masculinity, this is a fun and thoughtful look at how Lady Gaga's persona has impacted popular culture and what that means for people who want to expand the meaning of gender in our current cultural moment. The book is pretty firmly rooted in Halberstam's personal gender...
Published 7 months ago by Chris Stoner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is pedophilic apologism
This book is pedophilic apologism.

Key parts of the quoted material:

"Why presume that all sexual conduct between adults and children is unwanted by the child"

and

"[Levine] has pushed forward with another [version of feminism] that understands children as sexual, parents as erotic figures, and sexuality itself as the pursuit...
Published 18 days ago by S B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is pedophilic apologism, January 13, 2015
This book is pedophilic apologism.

Key parts of the quoted material:

"Why presume that all sexual conduct between adults and children is unwanted by the child"

and

"[Levine] has pushed forward with another [version of feminism] that understands children as sexual, parents as erotic figures, and sexuality itself as the pursuit of pleasure"

and

"when we really don't know or understand what children want or how they may feel about something, we could always do something wacky and crazy ... like asking them to let us know what feels good and what feels intrusive or wrong." (all from page 15)

Additionally, tbe book has no concept of power relations or how to use feminist analysis in confronting systems of power. As the author says, "A gaga feminism does not need to know and name the political outcome of its efforts. More important is to identify the form that transformative struggle should take." (p 134) In this false feminist vision, listening to pop music and you-be-you outfits are more important than having a plan to confront power and seeing it through to the end.

Please don't waste your time with this book. It's a dangerous and anti-feminist work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop Culture, Queer Theory, Feminism, and Gaga, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although I don't find it to have the same depth and fire as Halberstam's earlier volume, Female Masculinity, this is a fun and thoughtful look at how Lady Gaga's persona has impacted popular culture and what that means for people who want to expand the meaning of gender in our current cultural moment. The book is pretty firmly rooted in Halberstam's personal gender journey, which certainly affects how the theory progresses, but there is plenty of subversive potential in this text for people all over the spectrum of gender presentations.

If you are looking for more emphasis on queerness, I would recommend Halberstam's other book, In A Queer Time And Place, over this one, but for pop culture commentators and Gaga's "Little Monsters," this is a great look at the emerging icon and how her public self can help us rethink gender and the boundaries that surround it. Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Embarrassing, December 14, 2014
I work in a bookstore and the ridiculousness of the title grabbed my attention so I read the thing over the span of a few lunch breaks. My response to consuming the work, other than being blown away by how petulantly unfocused Halverstam is, was pretty much just an internal repetition of "stop." Stop looking for beacons of feminism among a lineup of pop stars. Stop reaching to make a straight woman's unconventional fashion expression somehow a representative of "queer culture." Stop equating the existence of a female in public consciousness as an inherently feminist act. Stop letting men posture themselves as authorities on "pop feminism" to write such vapid, hollowly post modern, drivel.

It's obvious the author projects the feminist "queer" icon they wish Gaga actually was onto her persona with little to nothing to back it up. "The American public's attitudes towards gender presentation and acceptance of the LGBT community are changing and Lady Gaga is popular- so obviously the two are connected! Have you even heard 'Born this Way'?" And that's understandable in some respects, they obviously have stakes invested, but none the less pathetic. This woman is not the nucleus of the intersection between feminism and queer politics in the mainstream, she's barely a blip on the radar. Lady Gaga postured as a feminist icon annoys me even as an idea detached from her personal politics (which are nonexistent what a shock), looking to pop stars as beacons of feminism not only depoliticizes the meaning of the word but you cannot be a capitalist feminist. These ideas are not congruent, not empowered. What a waste of a read and opportunity for introspection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gaga feminisim, August 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gaga Feminism: Sex, Gender, and the End of Normal (Queer Ideas/Queer Action) (Hardcover)
great book, makes you look at things from a new perspective and i love that! needed this for a class text book and enjoyed reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Going Gaga?, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an interesting read. I really enjoyed it until almost half-way through and felt that it went a bit gaga in a bad way in that I felt like it lost the plot a bit. Despite the conscious attempt to make the text accessible, which I appreciate, I would have liked a more polished argument. I'm also not sure that some of the ideas discussed are as revolutionary as they seem.

Then again, I might just be a bit gaga-in-a-bad-way myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For a Class, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gaga Feminism: Sex, Gender, and the End of Normal (Queer Ideas/Queer Action) (Hardcover)
I only bought this book for a class, I would never have read it other wise. The book certainly needs more editing as it is hard to tell where other people's thoughts end and Halberstam's begin. While Halberstam brings up some good points of gender in our culture, one should look elsewhere to learn about Feminism and Gender Norms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Jack!, September 26, 2012
This review is from: Gaga Feminism: Sex, Gender, and the End of Normal (Queer Ideas/Queer Action) (Hardcover)
Jack Halberstam at his best so far! I have always enjoyed Halberstam's work, given that he is so much more accessible than gender theorists such as Judith Butler (the person who edits the latter's book should be shot - or perhaps when you are that famous, you don't allow people to edit your work?). In any event, I love Halberstam's deft interpretation of our endlessly changing contemporary culture. Naming this book after Lady Gaga was brilliant! I highly recommend this book. One thing I disagree with - I do not think that the changes in our society are completely unreflected by contemporary media. On the contrary, there are aspects of contemporary culture that seem to me to be ahead of the curve. I think here specifically of the fabulous phenomenon of the new female action hero, who has become so prominent in film and television. There is a fascinating discussion of this in Goodwill's The New Female Action Hero: An Analysis of Female Masculinity in the New Female Action Hero in Recent Films and Television Shows. What is particularly interesting to me is this contradiction: in The New Female Action Hero, Goodwill explicitly draws on the work of Halberstam, and is vociferous in his admiration of Halberstam's work. Indeed, I think at one point he claims that Halberstam inspired him to write the book. Given that, it is somewhat surprising that they diverge so completely on the issue of contemporary culture. While I admire Halberstam immensely, on this issue I have to go with Goodwill - the media in some respects has shown changes that are even more surprising than the changes Halberstam catalogues in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gaga Feminism: Sex, Gender, and the End of Normal (Queer Ideas/Queer Action) (Hardcover)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I bought this because I had to, November 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gaga Feminism: Sex, Gender, and the End of Normal (Queer Ideas/Queer Action) (Hardcover)
I hated this book but had to buy it for a class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pitch for sexual orientation and gender fluidity in a ..., July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A pitch for sexual orientation and gender fluidity in a queer context, not as revolutionary as the author wants the reader to think, and his prime analogs are Gaga and Occupy, both of which seem to gave come and gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gaga Feminism: Sex, Gender, and the End of Normal (Queer Ideas/Queer Action)
Gaga Feminism: Sex, Gender, and the End of Normal (Queer Ideas/Queer Action) by J. Jack Halberstam (Hardcover - September 18, 2012)
Used & New from: $8.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.