Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Hack-n-Slash
Only had one problem with the game... It initially would load to demo mode. Easy fix though. The problem was created because i run with Dual Graphics Processors: Intel HD Graphics 3000 (GPU) and Nvidia GeForce GTX 560M (Graphics Card). i run them mainly in Auto mode, allowing the program to choose the better suited of the two, so i'm not running the 560M all the time. The...
Published on January 20, 2013 by GreenBlackGlass

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cool in theory
the first couple of levels were really cool!!! then it just started dragging so bad ... too much work for this kind of game ... oh well
Published 22 months ago by Dan C.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Hack-n-Slash, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xblades [Download] (Software Download)
Only had one problem with the game... It initially would load to demo mode. Easy fix though. The problem was created because i run with Dual Graphics Processors: Intel HD Graphics 3000 (GPU) and Nvidia GeForce GTX 560M (Graphics Card). i run them mainly in Auto mode, allowing the program to choose the better suited of the two, so i'm not running the 560M all the time. The initial game load/launch screen, (which also verifies authentication) loads using the Intel GPU, the actual game loaded/launched with the 560M, causing it not to read the authentication. The fix - Open your Graphics Card Control Panel (mine being "Nvidia Control Panel") and find your 3D Settings and open the setting menu (mine being under "Manage 3D Settings"),then choose "Progran Settings" (or the like depending on graphics card) Find X-Blades in your program drop down menu, select it, then select your Preferred Graphics Processor, most likely your graphics card,then select apply. Your game will now launch in normal mode, not demo.

Good solid Hack-n-Slash. Controller friendly for PC/Laptop.Plays excellent. About the only real strategy is figuring out what special "upgrades" will defeat the level boss. And collecting all the valuables and destroying every item you can in each level because it's tallied at the end of each level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great but not perfect, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xblades [Download] (Software Download)
ran in to a few issues with the game but ok beyond that.
took a few tries to get it to install, but i think those were issues with another program.
i tried it on 2 laptops.
1st was a toshiba ultra-book with intel 3000 graphics and a core i3.
2nd was a asus gaming laptop.
with the toshiba the game struggled to run i kinda figured it would.
the asus ran like a charm once i figured out that another game was preventing the install.
not a bad game for game play.
graphics are not bad.
story line seems ok so far, haven't had time to play to much yet.
for $2 i say go for it.
was thinking of getting this on steam for more, but this was a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for the price, October 21, 2014
This review is from: Xblades [Download] (Software Download)
Read just the first and last paragraph for a shorter summary...

First off, let me just make it clear that the main reason I gave this game 5 stars is because I downloaded it from steam for $0.99. I definitely got a dollar's worth of enjoyment out of it, even though I typically don't care for this type of hack-n-slash gameplay. I haven't experienced any glitches and it runs nearly perfect on my low-end Windows 8 desktop. The video froze for a few seconds on several of the cut scenes, but that didn't really bother me.

As far as gameplay goes, it becomes very repetitive after a while since 90% of your time is spent furiously clicking the mouse as fast as you can. However, if you like those kinds of games, then by all means go ahead and buy it. Personally I like to involve a little more strategy into fighting. Most of the time you're swarmed by so many enemies that you can't even tell what's going on, you're just clicking the mouse like mad until everything around you dies. Some enemies will require some strategy though as they're only vulnerable to certain types of attacks. You can earn these different attacks by collecting "souls" from the baddies you kill or from vases and statues that you can break. The more enemies you kill, the more souls you collect, and the more souls you collect, the more spells and upgrades you can unlock.

I didn't find the story line to be all that engaging (to be honest, I'm still in the middle of the game and I could barely tell you what the story line is even about), but it's enough to give you a reason to find your way through each level. Some of the levels' objectives are a little vague at times though. I use the word "objective" in a different sense though because your main goal through each level is obvious and it never changes- KILL ALL BAD GUYS; but how to do that isn't always immediately clear. For instance, some levels will start spawning enemies when you walk in and all you do is stand there and fight them off until you've killed a certain number of them, in which case that area will be cleared. Some levels will, instead, have monster spawners that you have to run around and eliminate before the enemies will ever stop. Yet other levels will have a boss-type monster that you must kill to stop the weaker enemies from spawning. Or even yet, the level may have a creature that you can only defeat by killing the weaker monsters it creates - you'll never know until the action starts. Either way, you're main goal is always: 1) kill all the bad guys, 2) get to the next open door. The game kind of leaves it up to you to figure out what needs to be done in order to clear the level. This doesn't really bother me, but it was a little frustrating when I stood there for 20 minutes killing everything that came my way, only to figure out that I actually needed to kill the big guy on the other side of the level if I ever wanted to stop the never-ending flow of monsters.

Character movement is pretty fast and fluid, except for jumping - that seems to have some odd... quirks. There was one point where I was about to pull my hair out trying to jump across platforms above a bottomless pit. Sometimes the character would run and jump, like I wanted to, while other times she would decide to do a somersault/roll right off the edge of the platform to my death, which means starting the level over again. I tried saving before attempting to jump across the platforms, but loading a save still starts starts the level over again.

While I'm on the topic of saving - with the way this game is set up, there's really not much reason to save your game. Pretty much the one and only reason you would ever need to manually save is right before you exit the game, and that's just to make sure you have the most recent number of souls in your inventory. You have infinite lives so if you die in the middle of a level, you just start the level over again. If you save in the middle of a level, die, and then load that save, you still start the level over again anyway. If you die, the game still keeps the number of souls you've collected and any artifacts or trinkets you've found, so you would actually probably be doing yourself a disservice by loading a save. This, coupled with the fact that the game autosaves every time you enter a new level leaves almost no reason for you to manually save on your own, which isn't really a complaint. I just wish that saving would keep track of the enemies you've killed since some areas can be rather intense.

I don't typically put a lot of stake in graphics (there are so many other things that better define a game's quality), but I was actually pleasantly surprised with this game. The character/monster graphics aren't really anything special, but the scenery and structure detail was fairly impressive for a game of this scope.

All-in-all, it's a decent game if you can get it at the right price. Personally, I wouldn't pay more than a few bucks for it, but that's mostly because I'm not a big fan of hack-n-slash. If you like those types of games though, then this may be a diamond in the rough for you. I don't know exactly how long the game is, but steam says I've sunk 11 hours into it already and I would guess I'm about 75% of the way done, judging by how far along I am on the map. I wasn't in any hurry though (honestly I probably spent over an hour accidentally going backwards through the levels... oops). It's not an incredibly long game, but again, it's not bad for the price. Go ahead and get it if you're looking for something cheap to distract you for a little while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, plays not good., November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xblades [Download] (Software Download)
X-Blades is a gorgeous game to look at, but the gameplay is extremely repetitive. It gets boring very quickly. I wish it was a movie or an anime instead of a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hack and slash and alot of fun, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xblades [Download] (Software Download)
Keeping this short this is a pretty fun hack and slash game with a lot of magic, swords and guns, and amazing graphics. Play with the keyboard and mouse or a wired x box controller which is better than the keyboard imo. All together I love playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cool in theory, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xblades [Download] (Software Download)
the first couple of levels were really cool!!! then it just started dragging so bad ... too much work for this kind of game ... oh well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty neat game., February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xblades [Download] (Software Download)
I got this game because a friend of a friend works for Microsoft and they told me about this game and how they had to deny it's publishing because of the art work. Too much flesh, they finally agreed on the outfit, but all they did was add boots or something. Either way great game lots of fast moving, smooth attacks and it really makes you feel like a bad ass. Plus the characters attitude is just great. Cocky and wild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and funny, February 1, 2013
By 
FurryAngel (BOTHELL, WA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xblades [Download] (Software Download)
I don't know whether this game was meant for humor or not, but I found it hilarious. It downloaded quickly and installed without a hitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hot garbage on a summer's day., May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xblades [Download] (Software Download)
Yes this ins't much of a game, but for $1.99 I really can't get mad. Broken up area levels, just seemed like a 5 year old laid out the levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good game, especially for the price!!!, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Xblades [Download] (Software Download)
Honestly, the most simple way to describe this game happens to be the most accurate. It's like Devil May Cry, but you play as a sexy anime chick. 'Nuff said. I've only been playing the game for about 30 minutes, but basically the story is as follows; You play as this girl, Ayumi, she's a treasure hunter, and she hears about this ancient treasure that supposedly a god has sealed all its powers into. She finds the ancient ruin, and to her surprise, there's an ancient guard. (it's a wolf thing.) When you touch the artifact, all its powers are bestowed upon you, and you must discover and unlock the full potential of its power.

Overall, I give it 5/5 for gameplay, 4/5 for story, and 5/5 for system acceptance level. Story's not the greatest, nor most original, but it's enough to keep you playing, mainly because it's fun. I have a complete piece of crap computer, mainly due to my single core 2 ghz processor, and it runs this game FLAWLESSLY with ALL the settings at max, excluding processor heavy settings like antialiasing and antistropic filtering. Also 5/5 for price being $2. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Xblades [Download]
Xblades [Download] by Gaijin Entertainment
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.