Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


141 of 149 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if you are into apocalypse/earth changes(2012)!!
The book is about the coming changes to our consciousness in the next age.The author's theory is that the stories through the ages about the end of the world are not what is really going to happen,but that we will change as a species,on a mental level.Every 26,000 years our sun is in alignment with the very center of our galaxy.the center of the galaxy is connected to...
Published on December 8, 2002

versus
116 of 129 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars INTRIGUING, BUT HOW CREDIBLE?
John Major Jenkins has done a huge amount of research, reading and thinking about the meaning of the Mayan Long Count end date of 2012. Whether His conclusions make sense to you depends on your belief system and your frame of reference.

It is difficult to evaluate a lot of his conjecture about ancient civilizations and what their icons, symbols, and writing...
Published on January 21, 2005 by Theresa Welsh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

141 of 149 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if you are into apocalypse/earth changes(2012)!!, December 8, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions (Paperback)
The book is about the coming changes to our consciousness in the next age.The author's theory is that the stories through the ages about the end of the world are not what is really going to happen,but that we will change as a species,on a mental level.Every 26,000 years our sun is in alignment with the very center of our galaxy.the center of the galaxy is connected to everything that revolves around it.For a long time our world has been in a down cycle,very low consciousness,greed,anger materialism.There was a time (our golden age)when we were in a up cycle,when our world/consciousness was connected to this nucleus/life force.The book goes into detail about astrological alignments and the old religions that new about this connection to our consciousness.This knowledge has trickled down to our times through things like the occult and meditation teachings,but has become distorted.It made me think about why it seems that the world is going crazy(lots of medicated people out there!),and that this is part of the effect before the 2012/new age changing.It might also explain why more and more people are experiencing paranormal stuff and becoming more spiritual,and the tensions for war are also building.It got me to read some more books on this subject.Instead of doom and gloom about coming earth changes the author's theory gives us some light at the end of the tunnel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 129 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars INTRIGUING, BUT HOW CREDIBLE?, January 21, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions (Paperback)
John Major Jenkins has done a huge amount of research, reading and thinking about the meaning of the Mayan Long Count end date of 2012. Whether His conclusions make sense to you depends on your belief system and your frame of reference.

It is difficult to evaluate a lot of his conjecture about ancient civilizations and what their icons, symbols, and writing might have meant in regard to the 2012 date. To Jenkins, it clearly means the alignment of the Winter Solstice meridian with the plane of the Galactic Center, which is happening now, in our own era. Although the Mayans chose to end their count on December 21, 2012 (by our calendar), the actual alignment happens over a period of time. Many experts think a better date would have been 1998 or 1999. If the alignment is the reason for the end date, and if the alignment happens over some years of time, that seems to indicate the date does not signify an apocalyptic event, as many think. Jenkins speculates that the "end time" is really a period of rising awareness, a time when our very consciousness can shift to a new level.

As I read of the many "sacred alignments" on earth, important ancient cities and markers that line up in geometric fashion, I was reminded of another book I recently finished, Henry Lincoln's book, The Holy Place, about the area around Rennes-le-Chateau France. Lincoln identified many geometric alignments that he felt were beyond chance. But Jenkins raises the intriguing idea that these alignments on earth -- which mirror the occult dictum of "as above, so below" -- may not have been deliberate, but may be an unconscious response to some type of energy from space, or some dimension beyond our senses.

Is the Galactic Center the source of wisdom, of spirituality? Has our evolution seen sudden jumps because of this energy, and are we getting more of it now that our solar system is lined up with the Galactic center? These seem strange questions to those of us living in modern urban areas where we cannot even see the Milky Way at night. It is always a rare and beautiful night for me whenever I can see stars because, living in the Detroit area, we have way too much light pollution and poor quality of air to see the kind of panorama of lights the ancients must have seen. Jenkins makes the point that the Milky Way, our galaxy, is very visible from the high areas of South America.

I thought large parts of the book were tedious, as the text went over numerous examples, quoted the author's favorite writers, and expounded on astronomical lore that was too obscure to evaluate. If you have no acquaintance with the Precession of the Equinoxes, then a lot of the material here will be hard to follow. I recommend Graham Hancock's book, Fingerprint of the Gods, as a good introduction to the concepts of Precession and how the numbers are encoded in ancient legends, writings, and monuments.

The most interesting part of Galactic Alignment was near the end where we get the author's ideas. But here he diminishes what are fascinating speculations by too much sermonizing. If you don't believe in an unseen spiritual world or believe you have a spiritual body that continues to exist when your body dies, then the author's remarks will sound like so much hocum. Since I happen to share the author's beliefs, I did find his comments worthwhile. But I have to wonder: If this is a period when we have the opportunity to open ourselves to higher levels of enlightenment, are we doing that? There certainly has been a lot of interest in spiritual topics and re-examination of ancient beliefs. People are studying the Kabbala, embracing New Age ideas, meditating, learning about charkas and natural healing... but we also just re-elected George W. Bush. The conservatives and fundamentalists are also strong and religious differences around the world are bringing us wars and division. You could certainly build a case that none of this shows a human race becoming more spiritual or more enlightened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DiaGnosis: Thought provoking to say the least!, February 17, 2007
By 
G. Stray "Geoff Stray" (Glastonbury, Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions (Paperback)
Anyone who has read Hamlet's Mill, knows that knowledge of the precession of the equinoxes goes back into the mists of time, and has been encoded into mythology worldwide. Jenkins shows that, more than this, the ancients knew that there are certain times during the cycle of precession, when the earth-sun-galaxy relationship allows the influx of some kind of energy that triggers a transformational leap in mankind. There are 2 crossing points of the Galactic meridian, (centre-line of the Milky Way), and the ecliptic (path of sun and planets across the sky), or equally, the zodiac which lies behind the ecliptic. These crossing-points were known as "Gates" by the ancients. These celestial gates were described by Macrobius as the gates of Capricorn and Cancer, and were seen as doorways through which the soul descends to be reborn on earth and ascends following physical death.

In Joscelyn Godwin's book, Mystery Religions, the gate of reincarnation is called the Silver Gate, while the gate of ascension is called the Golden Gate, but he says that the Silver Gate is the way of reincarnation, while the Golden Gate is the Way of the Gods and leads "beyond the circle of Necessity, ie to release from the round of birth and death. These are the two routes from which the soul can exit from the world at death, and the Capricorn gate is the one through which the gods descend to earth."

It is clear from both Hamlet's Mill and from Jenkins' Galactic Alignment, that these gates don't actually lie in Cancer and Capricorn, but the neighbouring constellations of Gemini and Sagittarius. The Golden Gate lies at Galactic Center in Sagittarius, and the Silver Gate lies at Galactic Anti-Center in Gemini (see items 47 and 48). Following the work of Oliver Reiser, Jenkins makes a convincing case that the alignment of the Solstice Sun with the Galactic meridian, (close to Galactic center) which is flagged by the end of the 13-Baktun Cycle in 2012, marks the time-window when the divine influences descend;

"Precession changes our angular orientation to the larger magnetic field of the galaxy in which we are embedded. during regularly occurring eras in the precessional cycle, as indicated by the solstice-galaxy alignments (probably the equinox-galaxy alignments, too), the earth's protective magnetic shield becomes unstable and oscillates. Without a complete field reversal being required, this oscillation allows greater amounts of mutational rays to strike the surface of the earth. While this may result in mutations and a greater chance for "evolution", of greater significance is the possible transformative effect on human consciousness during alignment eras, when human beings are exposed to higher doses of high-frequency radiation."

Jenkins refers to Swami Sri Yukteswar's study of the Vedic Yuga system, (that may have originated as long ago as 7000 BC), and shows how that system is also flagging the galactic alignment. He concludes that there is a Galactic Chakra system, with the base chakra at Galactic Center, and the crown chakra in the direction of the Galactic Anti-center. Earth is at the level of the fifth (throat) chakra, evolving towards the sixth (ajna or third eye):

"The as yet unspoken message in this survey is that the galactic alignment opens a channel for the kundalini shakti to flow through the earth, cleanse (it) us, and excite it (us) into a higher level of being."

Like Hamlet's Mill, Galactic Alignment will probably inspire other researchers to dig further into the shadows illuminated by the book. This book has started connecting up many of the threads mentioned on the diagnosis2012 site, and has brought into sharp focus, the "underground stream" of knowledge encoded into virtually every religion you can think of...

They were all preparing us for the opening of the Golden Gate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very misleading title. Reads like a boring technical manual, November 4, 2006
By 
This review is from: Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions (Paperback)
This book is analagous to buying a new elliptical, anxiously opening the user manual to find out how this new piece of equipment is going to benefit you, only to find page after page outlining the technical details of the inner workings of the machine with the last sentence or so briefly mentioning the effects the machine can have on your life. The author is obviously an expert on the subject of astronomy and how it relates to ancient historical monuments, but he is so caught up in the technical details that "the transformation of our consciousness" is brushed aside as an afterthought. Instead, the author drones on and on and on about monuments, angles, precessions, measurements etc. It's obviously necessary to briefly cover the technical aspects to build a foundation for the more exciting stuff to come, but this book never builds on that foundation. There were brief moments when I thought the book started to get really interesting, but the author would quickly revert back to the same old empirical, newtonian shallowness with more chapters that should have been titled, "who gives a [...]." John Major Jenkins is not really interested in the metaphysical side of this subject, and if you don't believe me, I quote page 239 of this book..."as a reminder, my work is not really to identify a mechanism that could empirically explain why a solstice-galaxy alignment might have transformative effects for life on Earth." My question is then why mention the transformation of consciousness in the title when it's hardly mentioned in the book? You would think that the benfits and effects of the sun aligning with the galactic center is going to have on our consciousness would be the main focus, since after all, it's what most of us should be most concerned with. If you are preparing for a test in astronomy, this book is for you. 2 stars for the misleading title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***** An Apocalyptic Anthology on 2012 *****, September 25, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions (Paperback)
The Apocalypse is "the exteriorizing of our soul and the interiorizing of our body."--Terence McKenna (1946-2000)

A masterpiece of musings on the End-Date AD 2012. And if you carefully contemplate the connections cross-culturally, then an occult -- hidden -- truth leaps at you, ultimately. It in fact unlocks the gate to the realms of the invisible that Terence McKenna, the new age "shaman of hyperspace," spoke so eloquently. Specifically, it has to do with the opening of our third eye, and the apocalyptic implications on our society that spends its mornings at Starbucks, and its evenings watching Wheel of Fortune. Yes, I guess this book isn't for everyone, but it sure tuned-up my chakras, made my mind's molecules shift to the next higher orbit! It will yours too, if you put down that TV tuner and read this book with an intention to learn the secrets of the ages -- and apply them to your life's larger purpose, to survive the second coming of cosmic consciousness in era-2012.

Dr. John Jay Harper is author of Tranceformers: Shamans of the 21st Century and Science of Soul: The End-Time Solar Cycle of Chaos in 2012 A.D..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jenkins Best Work, January 1, 2004
By 
denny "Book Guru" (Sterling Heights, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions (Paperback)
The conclusion of this book is the reason you won't find this book at B&N or borders or ANY bookstore for that matter. This conclusion, that we are between the years 2000 and 2012, going through the Galactic Equator Plane aligned with the central sun of the Milky WAy, which happens every 30 MILLION YEARS (which occurs 8 times in a Galactic Year of 250 million years). This conclusions disproves the central theme and flawed conclusion of "Catastrophobia" by clow, that we have 11,500 years ago passed through the galactic plane thereby averting the "every 30 million year catastrophe the earth goes through" has already happened. This book is worth your while to read, take my word on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, November 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions (Paperback)
This book was interesting and a decent read. Jenkins brought a lot if info together and didn't go overboard on the religious rhetoric. I found it to be a good comparison of interesting facts brought together with some interesting opinions with nothing forced on the reader. You are left to make your own conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Milton, January 2, 2006
This review is from: Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions (Paperback)
I have to agree with a couple of the other reviewers that this book has a lot of material that would be difficult to verify; however, I read this book shortly after reading a book by Mark Vidler, called "The Star Mirror," which is based on information that even a 14 year old could verify, and found that both books really added alot of color to eachother. I wouldn't have really cared for this book on it's own, but believe it's perpective is unique enough to add to a greater picture of (possible) upcoming global and cosmological events that would be of importance. It is good, but only alongside a few, more scientific, books to make you feel you are reading something that COULD have some validity, rather than more new age speculation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worldly knowledge, June 25, 2008
By 
D. Maylath "devi22" (new york, new york United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions (Paperback)
i thought this book was really informative giving lots of accumulated info that he has gained from over the years, researching, etc..condensed into a meaningful whole as it relates to 2012. He gave information that i wasn't aware of, so, I HAVE to continue to research FURTHER AND SO INTERESTING, THAT I WOULD BE INTERESTED IN BUYING MORE OF HIS BOOKS TO READ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing with possibly a few jewels to pick, September 22, 2012
This review is from: Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions (Paperback)
To start out with this book I noticed that I benefit more of it when first reading Jenkins' Maya Cosmogenesis 2012. So I read first this older book.
Being well familiar with the Maya world since having lived in Mexico for over 14 years (more then 7 of them in the region of the Maya and partially in daily life with the Maya), that book has caused that my confidence in Jenkins' writings went pretty much down the drain. Jenkins takes assumptions and interpretations from other researchers (who refer to the writings of a Spanish bishop and a priest from the 16th century, one of them had even before burned down all findable Maya scriptures), puts further assumptions on them, repeats those over and over until finally they are the "truth", the lector is convinced to read about. Undetectable, completely vague and weathered iconographies are interpreted and these interpretations are taken as the true discoveries about the Maya, etc. etc.
From reading that book I had the impression that Jenkins had obviously had his "initiation" in Izapa when being on drugs. While he is convinced that the ancient Izapans took drugs, I have, while living in the Maya world of today, had journeys into the universe without drugs, just being a vegan - and I can well imagine that this practice was at home in the ancient Maya world as well.

With this background reading the book Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions I had fast a good eye for the many flimsy connections, the book uses to try hard to get everything what has happened in ancient cultures into a kind of unity-pattern in favour of the Izapan Maya and the discoveries, Jenkins writes about. In doing so he actually presents wrong knowledge - i.e. about the gothic cathedrals one would see in France showing a picture of a completely non-gothic in renaissance style built church (from the building style a couple of hundred years or more after the gothic period), the origin of chakras etc. Unluckily I cannot take the time and prove everything what Jenkins writes about the Milky Way and the galactic alignment. And I have learned from the first book I have read as well that the truth about the "discoveries of the Maya" written about is very questionable.

The few existing jewels in this book, the reader can probably pick out hard of all the text around, which is not easy to read, since it is not well edited. However I suggest to prove those as well.

I agree with Jenkins on 2 points:
- The alignments on earth -- mirroring the events in the sky on earth -- were not created deliberately, but come from an unconscious being in tune of the humans as a part of the unity of all that is - unconscious, because when a culture does not know anything else than unity, it is not aware of it.

- This world is in need of the long expected change.
It will, however, not be on one day, not within one year, not within several decades or just a couple of centuries (from 1975 to 2240 like presented in this book). According to Mexican esoterics, which have already spoken publically in 1986 about the end of the Maya calendar, the serious change we go now through happens in a time-frame of around 1000years. Then people will be able to live truthfully more happy, since living much more authentic.

I appreciate Jenkins' good intention to put his energy to write books in favour of the transformation of this human world. I would however like, if he would not try to appear like a man of worldwide knowledge in giving wrong or completely questionable information, because this could just work in certain readers against his intention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Galactic Alignment: The Transformation of Consciousness According to Mayan, Egyptian, and Vedic Traditions
$18.00 $13.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.