Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most recent Gallagher combines humor with wisdom
Gallagher is one of those comedians that makes you stop and think, as well as laugh. Like he said in "Totally New", he "mixes comedy with the truth." And of course, you can't beat his famous Sledge-O-Matic! Hey, I made a funny--"beat" his Sledge-O-Matic!

Anyway, whether you're a die-hard Gallagher fan, or just recently been introduced to him, check this DVD,...
Published on March 7, 2012 by D-Boy Wheeler

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How the mighty have fallen
When Gallagher first hit the scene he made a huge splash with a series of Showtime specials. Although most famous for his "Sledge-o-matic" routine in which he splattered the audience with watermelons and other assorted glop, at least 75% of his performance was observational humor. In these larger segments he revealed that he had a keen eye for irony that many of his...
Published on May 17, 2009 by Bruce Barker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How the mighty have fallen, May 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3 (DVD)
When Gallagher first hit the scene he made a huge splash with a series of Showtime specials. Although most famous for his "Sledge-o-matic" routine in which he splattered the audience with watermelons and other assorted glop, at least 75% of his performance was observational humor. In these larger segments he revealed that he had a keen eye for irony that many of his critics simply overlooked.

Sadly, this collection is a self-produced and more recent batch of excerpts from a pair of his more recent shows. They reveal that this once gifted comic has become a very bitter and hateful individual. He spends much of the shows berating people in his audience and ranting about the stupidity of the American people in general. Although he has often bragged in interviews that he doesn't repeat himself, he uses several jokes multiple times on this dvd.

In addition, he's grown lazy. A fair amount of each concert is taken up with him "preparing" various mixtures in pie plates to lead up to the "sledge-o-matic" finale. And then, because he's apparently become too tired of his own signature routine, he brings people up out of the audience to smash the pie plates themselves while he stands off to the side and yells instructions.

I was once a huge fan of this comic and became so appalled at his total change of demeanor that I did a little web searching after viewing the DVD. I discovered that the recent years have been hard on Gallagher. He's become divorced, had a very bitter legal battle with his brother, and gotten sued several times for shoving audience members and staff at various performances. It's truly a shame that these events have taken a once extremely funny and quick-minded comedian and reduced him to a second-rate parody of himself. Don't waste your time on this garbage. Buy the first two "Best of" compilations instead so you can revel in the man that once was instead of the sad shadow he has apparently become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most recent Gallagher combines humor with wisdom, March 7, 2012
This review is from: Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3 (DVD)
Gallagher is one of those comedians that makes you stop and think, as well as laugh. Like he said in "Totally New", he "mixes comedy with the truth." And of course, you can't beat his famous Sledge-O-Matic! Hey, I made a funny--"beat" his Sledge-O-Matic!

Anyway, whether you're a die-hard Gallagher fan, or just recently been introduced to him, check this DVD, and the other DVDs, out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as much humor, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3 (DVD)
I really enjoy Gallagher but this volume is just ok. He seems to ramble a bit instead of getting into material like his other videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great throwback gift!, January 22, 2014
By 
Jenny May Shannon (Quad Cities, IL/IA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3 (DVD)
I bought this as a bit of a gag gift. Every year I get my brother something that is reminiscent of our childhood. We recorded a "best of" show on Showtime or HBO back in the 80's and watched it over and over. Sure, we were too young to understand all the jokes, but we knew there were "bad words" and thought it was hilarious. To this day, we quote lines from the show. Parts of that show are on this video. So even though it was a bit of a gag gift, he truly loved it! I know there are better versions, but this will keep you laughing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of his best stuff, October 13, 2013
By 
Ex Texan (central Arkansas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3 (DVD)
A lot of his views on politics and politicians from years ago still apply today. I also like how he exposes human foibles in a humorous but incisive manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny as ever, July 29, 2013
By 
chas mcgee (washington crossing, penna usa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3 (DVD)
Gallagher was one of the most creative comics out there, on DVD his routines will live forever, I will be ordering more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this, June 25, 2013
By 
Snoopy "Best Dog" (Loudoun County, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3 (DVD)
Gallagher needs to go back in time. He's gotten mean with age and I wouldn't let any of my children watch these.
Really wish there was a place to buy the "old" Gallagher shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, October 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3 (DVD)
love these movies! watched them when i was little and still love watching them today. except now my son loves them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This shows him getting a little dark..., May 24, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3 (DVD)
I've always been a Gallagher fan, although I grew out of the "Sledge-O-Matic" stuff fairly quickly; but this Volume 3 seems to show him getting really dark. The first show still has quite a bit of good stuff on it, but the second one is apparently just a sledge-fest. I really can't go for a show where he does nothing but bash things with that big wooden hammer of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, August 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3 (DVD)
pretty good but not his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gallagher - The Best of Gallagher Volume 3
$17.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.