Customer Reviews


600 Reviews
5 star:
 (496)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has BURN NOTICE become too dark? No.
Most people that love BURN NOTICE like I do, love it because it has a certain formula that's proven was working for four seasons. Breezy, smart, well-acted and fun. That was the status quo.

Then Season Five came along, and things started to get shaken up a little as showrunner Matt Nix decided it was time for a new status quo. A new, decidedly more devilish...
Published on September 9, 2012 by James Donnelly

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Once again the writers fell into the trap of doing the same thing over, and over, and over, again. They had the opportunity to be cool, but blew it. They really would have been better off to end the season (and the show) with a good conclusion, than trying to push an opening for a new season with the same old disappointment. I may not bother with next season.
Published 24 months ago by Edwin


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has BURN NOTICE become too dark? No., September 9, 2012
This review is from: Burn Notice: Season 6 (DVD)
Most people that love BURN NOTICE like I do, love it because it has a certain formula that's proven was working for four seasons. Breezy, smart, well-acted and fun. That was the status quo.

Then Season Five came along, and things started to get shaken up a little as showrunner Matt Nix decided it was time for a new status quo. A new, decidedly more devilish villain, Anson (the fantastically wormy Jere Burns) had come along, framed Fiona for murder and set Michael up to do his dastardly bidding in order to keep Fi out of prison. Last season ended up with Fi turning herself into the authorities, putting Anson on the run, and leaving Michael alone and desperate to do whatever he had to do in order to get Fi out of prison.

This particular side of Michael hadn't really been exposed before because we're not really used to seeing him this desperate to catch the bad guy, but even more so, we see his greatest vulnerability: The people he loves, and as this season proves, it's not always possible to save all of them.

The season begins with Michael and the CIA, primarily represented by Agent Pearce, reprised by Lauren Stamile, in breathless pursuit of Anson and anyone or anything that might lead to his capture, and Fiona doing her best to survive in prison. As it turns out, someone on the outside wants Fiona dead and this again leads back to another seemingly ancillary character from last season, Rebecca (the formidable Kristanna Loken), and Michael, Sam and Jesse (becoming a more centralized player in this season) follow up on anything that might lead to her capture. In the midst of all of this, Michael's original training officer, Tom Card (the terrific John C. McGinley) comes back into Michael's life and so does Michael's ne'er-do-well younger brother Nate (Seth Peterson), who returns back home to Mom (Can Sharon Gless get a darn Emmy nod, just once, for her extraordinary work on this show, please?) after his marriage falls apart and looks to help Michael in whatever way he can to free Fiona.

As the season goes on, things return to form for the trio on the outside and enemies become potential allies. The mad pursuit of Anson comes to a climax that ends with not one but two extremely shocking deaths and, even though one of these deaths ends up freeing Fiona, the other one wounds all of our main characters to their core, and this time, Michael, Fi, Sam and Jesse are all out for blood. When the discovery is made as to who is directly and indirectly responsible for this death, we start heading in a different direction again, as Michael does something that he knows he can never fully walk away from, and the show's direction gets darker still as CIA Agent Olivia Riley (THE WIRE's Kima Greggs herself, Sonja Sohn) vows to hunt Michael and all of his cohorts down for the crime he has committed. However, when the show threatens to get too dark, we get a bright light with the character of Calvin Schmidt (the hilariously funny and immensely likable Patton Oswalt), a master forger who can get everything they need for the team to get out of the country... but it comes at a price.

Although once we get to the season finale, the audience seems to get shafted a bit, as Riley seems to turn on a dime, because there's no clear villain left for the season. It really feels inorganic as far as her character is concerned, and even worse, it feels like Nix and the other writers just plain ran out of room for this season by packing it with too many ideas and not enough time to wrap everything up. It's certainly not the season finale I was hoping for, but at least the feeling of the cliffhanger this series is known for at its finales is ambiguous enough to let us guess as to where the show will go next.

Certainly, Season Six is a strange turn-around for the show, particularly since the previous season had a darker direction already going on, but this is the darkest the show has ever been, and it sets a new standard that no one, not even our leads, are safe. Rather than chalking it up to lazy writing or, as some would put it, "jumping the shark", Nix and crew have let the show evolve into something that is no longer as simply fun and formulaic, but rather something that allows for more serious stories to be told, as well as greater danger abounding for all of our characters.

There is still much fun to be had with this show, and a lot of it is in the episodes with Oswalt, whose glib one-liners and whiny faux tough-guy attitude gives the show a lot of lightheartedness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better, July 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is quite amazing how this show can keep me interested after all this time. I enjoy the excitement and anticipation for every episode to come. Keep up the great work Matt Nix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great show, July 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I dont care what anybody says, sure the show started with 4 main characters that worked really well as a cast. That doesn't mean it sucks now. If you want a show to go on, you need to mix it up. Adding characters (Jessie) and changing the intentions of Michael Weston (from surviving to finding out who burned him to trying to get Fiona out of prison etc...) is what keeps the show (and others like it) interesting.

I personally accept change and understand the reasoning behind it. There will always be critics though. Let me ask you all a question. If they kept doing the same thing over and over that they did in the first season (a burned spy trying to hide but helping others in the process) how could you possibly stay interested in the show? The underlying storyline changes per season while the sub stories change per episode. This is a concept that will keep viewers interested in "Burn Notice".

Thats all I have to say about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, September 20, 2012
This review is from: Burn Notice: Season 6 (DVD)
We love burn notice! We watch it faithfully And we would be heart broken If it was to stop. Tell others To watch it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BURN NOTICE...BEST SERIES EVER!!!, August 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just viewed "Desperate Times", which is the summer Finale...what an episode..get it, in fact get the whole season!
Easy to use Amazon's video library, it's convenient, and stores all your episodes. Recommend!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely done!, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed the season opener. Wisely, the story started just at the point the last season's story ended. There was a familiar face interrogating Fiona and a perception of betrayal between key characters (still to be resolved). I enjoy the way the character of Michael's mother (the wonderful Sharon Gless) continues to develop, taking actions she likely would have been too afraid to take when the series began. And I'm happy to see that Coby Bell is now in the opening credits. His character's energy fits well with the other characters, yet he maintains a distinctive viewpoint.

As for the explosions, I admit that I'm no connoisseur, but things went "boom" and there was smoke and flames. Worked for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burn Notice Season 6, September 21, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had me sitting on the edge of my seat.
Could hardly wait to see the next episode.
I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deep, July 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a good episode, but broke my heart. Got to my heart strings. I will say no more, do not want to create a spoiler. Worth watching for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, January 5, 2013
By 
Edwin (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Once again the writers fell into the trap of doing the same thing over, and over, and over, again. They had the opportunity to be cool, but blew it. They really would have been better off to end the season (and the show) with a good conclusion, than trying to push an opening for a new season with the same old disappointment. I may not bother with next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars same old same old, December 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a faithful Burn Notice fan and have convinced others to watch it. It was amazing how each season brought something new and fresh but to me the second half of season six is too narrowly focused. I know the producers think the fans want more action but enough already. each show is blending into the other and they don't put enough emphasis on the characters. It's one shoot em up blow em up after another. And Fiona and Michael, isn't this the great love of their lives? Fiona is bitchy and rude and Michael, well, he's character is the one best developed because he is going down this dark path. And now Sam is all shmarmy (that is a real word) and Jesse, still just the sidekick. I thought they might do more with him but then just let it slide. I like to watch shows that I really like over again because it's interesting what you miss the first time around. There's not one on seasons six that would entice me to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.