Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning Game Theory? Start with this book.
A very good starter book to get to grips with the basics of game theory. Everything is well explained and I was able to breeze through it and start analysing situations for myself.

It doesn't have all the answers, but what it does is give you a firm grounding on the workings of game theory. Other explanations on the same subjects in other books that I've read...
Published on March 13, 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for Kindle
Tried to read this on the Kindle, as I am a great Kindle fan, but found the with the diagrams and having to go back and forth to them it was not really that easy. Might get the hard copy one day, as the book actually looked quite good.
Published on April 24, 2012 by JJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning Game Theory? Start with this book., March 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game Theory 101: The Basics (Kindle Edition)
A very good starter book to get to grips with the basics of game theory. Everything is well explained and I was able to breeze through it and start analysing situations for myself.

It doesn't have all the answers, but what it does is give you a firm grounding on the workings of game theory. Other explanations on the same subjects in other books that I've read don't even compare. This really was brilliantly explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and simple introduction, with a few troublesome typos, April 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game Theory 101: The Basics (Kindle Edition)
I'd always wanted a primer for game theory and leapt on this with its low price. I found this book an excellent introduction, easy to understand, no-nonsense, dry in a good way. I want to learn more, and may go on to buy the longer version, but I'm not sure. My concern is that some proofreading really should have been done, not for mere persnicketiness but because errors occur in the worst places if you're trying to follow the logic. In the introduction to mixed strategies, the very first calculation contains a typo (4/5 instead of 1/5, if I recall correctly), which stymied me until I verified, checking the equations, that the author had set it down wrong in the explanation. Similar if less drastic typos occur later, with player 1 named instead of player 2 and a few more with confusing consequences. The author ought to consider rechecking the numbers in the later sections of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for Kindle, April 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game Theory 101: The Basics (Kindle Edition)
Tried to read this on the Kindle, as I am a great Kindle fan, but found the with the diagrams and having to go back and forth to them it was not really that easy. Might get the hard copy one day, as the book actually looked quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game Theory 101: The Basics (Kindle Edition)
A short treatise which brings out some simple but deep concepts. Good for a read at least once if not again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting!, September 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game Theory 101: The Basics (Kindle Edition)
As a Math student I found interesting this book, because it is an elective course I might take very soon, so I started to read it. Though Game Theory is a complex subject, this book takes you by the hand and and guides you through this fascinating path of the Mathematics, although it be just the basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid introduction, August 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game Theory 101: The Basics (Kindle Edition)
This book provides a solid introduction to game theory, outlining basic games and the tools required to solve them. Spaniel's explanations are clear and concise. He avoids over explaining any concept which makes for a rather quick read. He also makes a point of clarifying Game Theory's fallibility as a tool for exploring human behavior and cautions readers to be ever vigilant for those shortcomings. Any person new to game theory will leave this book with a clear understanding of what to expect from further study in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Game Theory 101, May 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game Theory 101: The Basics (Kindle Edition)
An easy-to-follow explanation of the basic arguments and logics behind game theory. A must for any novice. Be aware, however, that it is not necessarily easy bedtime reading and you must put on your thinking cap to extract the most value out of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it!, May 8, 2012
By 
S. (Bangalore, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game Theory 101: The Basics (Kindle Edition)
Firstly, you are misguided looking at the cover page... It looks like a comprehensive overview of Game theory. But it is just the first chapter!

The youtube videos of the author probably does a better job for a learner than this book. I strongly dis-recommend you from buying this!

the 0.99$ is too tempting to not go for it... Trust me... I wouldn't buy this book even if it were given to me free of cost....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 7/10. Worth a read if you are interested in the topic, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game Theory 101: The Basics (Kindle Edition)
Provides a good introduction to the topic. Having known almost nothing before reading this book, I feel that I understood the basic concepts. A lot of examples are explained in detail to elucidate the theory which is very nice and helpful for a non-expert.
Recommended if you are interested in the topic and like hands on examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple e ilustrativo., January 2, 2013
By 
Jose Duran "jgdc" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Game Theory 101: The Basics (Kindle Edition)
Es un libro que explica en forma simple lo básico en la teoría de juegos. Para personas no conocedoras del tema está bastante aceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Game Theory 101: The Basics
Game Theory 101: The Basics by William Spaniel
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.