Customer Reviews


3,419 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,686)
4 star:
 (368)
3 star:
 (127)
2 star:
 (90)
1 star:
 (148)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,081 of 1,161 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex, Brutal, Smart And Sophisticated--A Fantasy Epic Geared Toward Adults Proves HBO Does It Best
Few shows have been more eagerly awaited than the arrival of HBO's adaptation of George R.R. Martin's masterful and massive epic "Game of Thrones" (the first in a series). As the books have progressed, however, faithful followers have cried foul as promises have yet to be delivered. But no matter where you stand in that controversy, there is little debate to the majesty...
Published on May 19, 2011 by K. Harris

versus
73 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Your disc organization is bad and you should feel bad
Please keep in mind I'm rating the product and not the series as a whole. The series is wonderful, the blu-ray on the other hand, is a poorly designed train wreck.

There are 5 discs for 10 episodes. The first disc contains 2 episodes and special features. The second disc contains 3 episodes and special features. The third disc contains one episode and special...
Published 7 months ago by Rayn


‹ Previous | 1 2342 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,081 of 1,161 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex, Brutal, Smart And Sophisticated--A Fantasy Epic Geared Toward Adults Proves HBO Does It Best, May 19, 2011
This review is from: Game of Thrones, Season 1 (DVD)
Few shows have been more eagerly awaited than the arrival of HBO's adaptation of George R.R. Martin's masterful and massive epic "Game of Thrones" (the first in a series). As the books have progressed, however, faithful followers have cried foul as promises have yet to be delivered. But no matter where you stand in that controversy, there is little debate to the majesty and quality of the novel "Thrones"--an almost instant classic in the adult fantasy genre. Multi-layered and ambitious, this sprawling tale charts a powerful story of intrigue, political machinations, and violence amidst the brutal landscape of a nation divided. It is not a production you could approach half-heartedly. To do justice to the novel's intricacies required a massive cast, extensive period sets and costumes, lavish effects and a focused and intelligent screenplay. Well, creators David Benioff (a top notch novelist himself--check out City of Thieves) and D.B. Weiss were up to the challenge and the astute HBO has once again backed a winner. Make no mistake, this is no cheesy kid's story--this is dark and relentless entertainment for people who enjoy quality programming.

At the heart of "Game of Thrones" is the Stark family. Living in relative isolation, patriarch Sean Bean is called to assist the King when a vacancy opens up due to suspect causes. Suspicions have fallen on the King's wife (Lena Headley) and her twin brother (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau), and there may be further nefarious acts in store for His Royal Highness. When the Stark's young son witnesses something he should not have, a violent act that will have long range repercussions occurs. This, however, is just the jumping off point for a tale with numerous dimensions. There are the exiled Targaryen siblings, a brother and sister who have a claim to the throne and hope to retake the power seat by aligning with a barbaric and powerful tribe of warriors. Bean's illegitimate son figures prominently as well, as a guardian on The Wall preparing for imminent danger. There are so many other peripheral characters and story lines, it would be impossible to delineate them all concisely. There are assassination plots, vigilante justice, court intrigue, various sexual escapades, vicious barbarism, unseen monstrosities, plenty of wolves, family drama, and a dragon egg or two.

Through it all, there is a recurrent theme that "Winter is Coming"--a threat that poses a menace and a danger that may be unavoidable. This show is not for the faint of heart, and should only be considered for age appropriate audiences. As an HBO production, the screenplay doesn't shy away from the gritty violence that this time period and life style would necessitate. I, for one, appreciate the authentic feel to the drama. This show is also not for the casual viewer. It unfolds at its own pace, much like a good novel. It requires both patience and attention to really appreciate just how sophisticated and complex this tale is. It is a grown-up and smart piece!

The show looks absolutely fantastic. Technical aspects of the production are as good, or better, than any comparable feature film. The cast is also uniformly excellent. It would be impossible, again, to highlight everyone in the cast that deserves a special mention--so I'll limit my accolades to Peter Dinklage. As Tyrion Lannister (the black sheep brother of Headley and Coster-Waldau), Dinklage steals just about every scene that he is in. Funny, sardonic, and wise--this Imp (as he's called) has a terrific knack of putting things into perspective. Dinklage has had many great roles in his life--but this is a performance of true star wattage. Don't be surprised to see him invited to the Emmy race for Best Supporting Actor! He is one of the best things in this great presentation. I truly admire and recommend "Game of Thrones" because it never panders. It requires your active participation in the narrative to fully appreciate how well constructed it is--and any show that treats me as an intelligent human being deserves recognition in this age of formulaic TV. Watch it--and read the books (Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings especially are monumental)! KGHarris, 5/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


502 of 570 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant transition from book to TV series, May 23, 2011
This review is from: Game of Thrones, Season 1 (DVD)
There's no need to rehash the plot of GRR Martin's fabulous "A Song of Ice and Fire" series; everyone remotely interested in this extraordinary piece of fantasy/adventure is familiar with its medieval story-line.

Things I liked in this HBO series...

1.) it's not often a movie-series turns out to be the perfect visual compliment to what many consider to be the gold standard for epic fantasy writing...but this does. It captures the atmosphere, the subtle edginess, those brutal, unexpected moments; it really does grasp the mood and essence of the book.

2.) in addition to presenting a riveting tale, the production gives us acting that brings the books' characters to life in realistic settings.

3.) a computer enhanced animated map is shown as a short cut scene at the start of each episode. Giving those of us familiar with the books a brief refresher and those new to the series a sense of the geography, direction and distances.

4.) a pulsating, musical score to start each episode that perfectly fits the heraldic spirit of this story.

Conclusion:
HBO has done a wonderful job making this first book (Game of Thrones), into a first rate TV series. 5 Stars.

Ray Nicholson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


325 of 391 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A throne in turmoil, June 20, 2011
This review is from: Game of Thrones, Season 1 (DVD)
The mass media tends to ignore fantasy stories, especially high fantasy stories. So it came as a pleasant surprise to me that George R.R. Martin's fantasy epic A Song Of Ice And Fire was being adapted for television -- and HBO crafts it with all the dignity it deserves, with plenty of grime, blood and a tangle of convoluted storylines.

The castle of Winterfell is thrown on its ear when King Robert (Mark Addy) of Westeros arrives to ask Eddard "Ned" Stark (Sean Bean) to be his Hand. But soon after Ned agrees, he receives a message from his mentor's widow, informing him that Queen Cersei's (Lena Headey) family, the Lannisters, are secretly plotting against the king -- and that they are killing off anyone who might be a threat to them.

One of Ned's younger sons is gravely wounded when he sees something shocking, and the acid-tongued dwarf Tyrion (Peter Dinklage) is framed for the crime. Ned's bastard son Jon (Kit Harington) joins the Watch near the Wall -- but has little idea of the horrors that are approaching with the White Walkers.

And across the Narrow Sea, exiled princess Daenerys Targaryen is wed to the barbarian lord Khal Drogo (Jason Momoa), so that her brother can invade Westeros and take back the throne. But Daenerys quickly grows in strength and wisdom, and the Small Council of Westeros has reason to fear her when it's found that she's pregnant -- but her greatest power is that of the dragon's daughter.

As Ned takes to his new duties, he begins investigating the death of his predecessor, and begins to uncover a shocking secret about the queen and her children. Treachery, death and war will be brought to Westeros, and a war will begin with the blood of the good-hearted.

"A Game of Thrones" is truly an epic story -- it took a whole ten episodes to encapsulate a single book, and the story is far from over. There are countless plot threads woven into one enormous, bloodsoaked tapestry, linked together even if they are technically separate. And since this is only based on the first of Martin's books, it ends on a note both depressing and uplifting. Lots of plot threads are left dangling, but in such a way that you end up wanting to know what happens next.

The entire series is draped in cold stone walls, grimy medieval atmosphere, windswept steppes, splatters of dark blood and the occasional sunny day. They don't skimp on explicit violence (including the death of a beloved character) or sex, but the focus here is always on the clashing families, battles and seedy plots of the queen. And despite that focus, there is still a hint of the magical in this fantasy -- talk of dragons, the White Walkers and their undead wights.

As for the cast, it is BRILLIANT -- Sean Bean is perfection as the world-weary, good-hearted Eddard, and he's got a brilliant backing cast in Lena Headey, Emilia Clarke, the amazing Peter Dinklage, Jason Momoa, Michelle Fairley, and countless others. Even the child actors like Maisie Williams and Jack Gleeson are absolute perfection.

And best of all, their characters are all so REAL. They have good points and bad points, strengths and failings, and they often change drastically over the course of the season (Daenerys turns from a pallid little wallflower to a powerful and icy queen).

"A Game of Thrones" is a truly spellbinding experience, if not one that you want to see all together. Bloody, complicated and full of richly-developed characters, this is a future classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Your disc organization is bad and you should feel bad, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Please keep in mind I'm rating the product and not the series as a whole. The series is wonderful, the blu-ray on the other hand, is a poorly designed train wreck.

There are 5 discs for 10 episodes. The first disc contains 2 episodes and special features. The second disc contains 3 episodes and special features. The third disc contains one episode and special features. The fourth disc contains 3 episodes and special features. The fifth disc contains one episode and special features. To make things even more fun you can select episodes that aren't even on the disc you're currently on for no reason other than to get an "insert disc #" screen.

When I buy a series like this it's usually to marathon (and usually while I'm doing other things like working). HBO should have made better use of their disc space and compressed the episodes onto a few discs and the special features onto the remaining discs.

So, I personally enjoy the series but the organization of the blu-ray leaves much to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This One's A Jewel in the Crown!, August 12, 2011
This review is from: Game of Thrones, Season 1 (DVD)
I stumbled across this little gem here under my Amazon recommendations. I'd never even heard of this series of books or the fact it was an HBO show. I read the synopsis and all the reviews here about the show and I was very intrigued. I like Sean Bean as an actor, and enjoyed Peter Dinklage from Nip/Tuck, and as everyone raved about his performance in this, I thought I'd check out at least one episode.

WOW oh WOW.... This series just blew me away! The storyline was amazing! All the machinations, assignations, intrigue, deliberations, or stunning confessions that go on are incredible. The sets and locations are gorgeous. The theme music is very stirring and the opening credits are creatively done. I can see why each episode runs a cool $6 mil.... I'm afraid I'll run out of superlatives in describing this show. There were many times in watching the series where I was shocked and stunned, like "wow.... Oh my gosh, did that really just happen?".... You think you may know what's going to happen next, and the show surprises you. It plays out like an elaborate and intricate game of chess. I love shows that do that.

You may not recogize many of the names, but you'll recognize a lot of the faces. Mark Addy (Roland from A Knight's Tale, Bill Miller in Still Standing) is wonderful as Robert, king of the seven kingdoms. Rightfully on the throne? Some aren't so sure about that. Eddard (Ned) Stark (excellently played by Sean Bean, Boromir from Lord of the Rings) is Lord of Winterfell and Robert's friend. Ned is asked to come to Kings Landing and accept the job of Hand of the King, due to the recent demise of the previous title holder. Some whisper assassination. If that is indeed the case, Ned wants to know why he was killed.

Lena Headey (Queen Gorgo in 300) is superb as Robert's wife Cersei Lannister. Talk about a 180 degree character portrayal from her role in 300. She was amazing, I loved to hate her. And no one could have played the role of Cersei's brother Tyrion, "the Imp" better than Peter Dinklage. He almost steals the show with his performance. The actors playing two of Ned's younger children are phenomenal, especially Maise Williams as Lord Stark's spunky and scrappy daughter Arya. This little gal will be a force to be reckoned with in the years to come. She will definately be one to watch. Isaac Hempstead Wright plays Arya's brother Bran to perfection. The actors playing Ned's older children deliver solid performances as well. Even Natalia Tena (Nyphadora Tonks in Harry Potter) delivers an outstanding performance in a minor role as Osha, a criminal turned new house slave at Winterfell.

Then of course, there is the ominous and massive Wall. Manned for thousands of years, most have forgotton why they even continue to stand the watch, and where deserting your post still means death. Yet rumors and frightened witnesses swear that monsters and white walkers are beginning to stir, and icy horrors wait beyond the wall. Dragon lore and direwolves are also spoken of.

Toss into the mix House Taragaryen across the narrow sea. In exile, Viserys Targaryen desires to take what he feels is his rightful place on the throne in Kings Landing, and sells his sister Daenerys in marriage to the Khal of the fierce and nomadic Dothraki tribe, (think Klingons of the wastelands) so that Khal Drogo (Jason Momoa from Stargate Atlantis) will provide the muscle Viserys needs to get the job done.

There are several family dynamics occuring at the same time and it's very involving, so I would refer to IMDB to better understand who was who and where they fit in to the storyline, (thank you IMDB). There is soooooo much more happening than what I've mentioned here, but this review is already getting to be the length of a book itself, so just check it out for yourself. If you are offended by nudity or violence, this may not be the show for you.

Game of Thrones hits the ground running right from the opening credits where you see a white walker, and let me tell you, they're creepy. This show grabs you and doesn't let go. It's one hell of a ride. I can't wait for the second season. HBO, you definately have a gem of a winner in this series. During the hiatus, I'll be reading the books.

~ jade ~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex, Brutal, Smart And Sophisticated--A Fantasy Epic Geared Toward Adults Proves HBO Does It Best, March 6, 2012
Few shows have been more eagerly awaited than the arrival of HBO's adaptation of George R.R. Martin's masterful and massive epic "Game of Thrones" (the first in a series). As the books have progressed, however, faithful followers have cried foul as promises have yet to be delivered. But no matter where you stand in that controversy, there is little debate to the majesty and quality of the novel "Thrones"--an almost instant classic in the adult fantasy genre. Multi-layered and ambitious, this sprawling tale charts a powerful story of intrigue, political machinations, and violence amidst the brutal landscape of a nation divided. It is not a production you could approach half-heartedly. To do justice to the novel's intricacies required a massive cast, extensive period sets and costumes, lavish effects and a focused and intelligent screenplay. Well, creators David Benioff (a top notch novelist himself--check out City of Thieves) and D.B. Weiss were up to the challenge and the astute HBO has once again backed a winner. Make no mistake, this is no cheesy kid's story--this is dark and relentless entertainment for people who enjoy quality programming.

At the heart of "Game of Thrones" is the Stark family. Living in relative isolation, patriarch Sean Bean is called to assist the King when a vacancy opens up due to suspect causes. Suspicions have fallen on the King's wife (Lena Headley) and her twin brother (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau), and there may be further nefarious acts in store for His Royal Highness. When the Stark's young son witnesses something he should not have, a violent act that will have long range repercussions occurs. This, however, is just the jumping off point for a tale with numerous dimensions. There are the exiled Targaryen siblings, a brother and sister who have a claim to the throne and hope to retake the power seat by aligning with a barbaric and powerful tribe of warriors. Bean's illegitimate son figures prominently as well, as a guardian on The Wall preparing for imminent danger. There are so many other peripheral characters and story lines, it would be impossible to delineate them all concisely. There are assassination plots, vigilante justice, court intrigue, various sexual escapades, vicious barbarism, unseen monstrosities, plenty of wolves, family drama, and a dragon egg or two.

Through it all, there is a recurrent theme that "Winter is Coming"--a threat that poses a menace and a danger that may be unavoidable. This show is not for the faint of heart, and should only be considered for age appropriate audiences. As an HBO production, the screenplay doesn't shy away from the gritty violence that this time period and life style would necessitate. I, for one, appreciate the authentic feel to the drama. This show is also not for the casual viewer. It unfolds at its own pace, much like a good novel. It requires both patience and attention to really appreciate just how sophisticated and complex this tale is. It is a grown-up and smart piece!

The show looks absolutely fantastic. Technical aspects of the production are as good, or better, than any comparable feature film. The cast is also uniformly excellent. It would be impossible, again, to highlight everyone in the cast that deserves a special mention--so I'll limit my accolades to Peter Dinklage. As Tyrion Lannister (the black sheep brother of Headley and Coster-Waldau), Dinklage steals just about every scene that he is in. Funny, sardonic, and wise--this Imp (as he's called) has a terrific knack of putting things into perspective. Dinklage has had many great roles in his life--but this is a performance of true star wattage and it netted him plenty of awards including an Emmy for Best Supporting Actor! He is one of the best things in this great presentation. I truly admire and recommend "Game of Thrones" because it never panders. It requires your active participation in the narrative to fully appreciate how well constructed it is--and any show that treats me as an intelligent human being deserves recognition in this age of formulaic TV. Watch it--and read the books (Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings especially are monumental)! KGHarris, 5/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy at its finest: more of the new golden age of television., May 11, 2012
By 
Anne Rice (Palm Desert, California) - See all my reviews
The new golden age of television continues with this absolutely spectacular HBO series, based on the brilliant writing of George R.R. Martin. You cannot help but be drawn into the bleak, yet richly colorful world of these fantasy/medieval style characters when the writing is this good and the actors so unforgettable. The sets are often exquisitely beautiful, and the costumes dazzling. At times the whole looks like pre-Raphaelite painting. ---- Having not read the books, I was now and then confused as to who is who. But I came to realize that the series would eventually give me all the information I needed to remain fully engaged and fully delighted. --- There isn't a false note in the cast, nor a false line in the dialogue. And one has the feeling, no matter how fantastic the kingdoms and their warring monarchs, that one is delving into our history and our evolution as a moral species. Speculative fiction at its best --- which this most certainly is --- is always about us and always about us now as well as "long ago." Games of Thrones is setting a whole new standard for daring, complexity, and sumptuous execution of the vision. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex, Brutal, Smart And Sophisticated--A Fantasy Epic Geared Toward Adults Proves HBO Does It Best, March 6, 2012
Few shows have been more eagerly awaited than the arrival of HBO's adaptation of George R.R. Martin's masterful and massive epic "Game of Thrones" (the first in a series). As the books have progressed, however, faithful followers have cried foul as promises have yet to be delivered. But no matter where you stand in that controversy, there is little debate to the majesty and quality of the novel "Thrones"--an almost instant classic in the adult fantasy genre. Multi-layered and ambitious, this sprawling tale charts a powerful story of intrigue, political machinations, and violence amidst the brutal landscape of a nation divided. It is not a production you could approach half-heartedly. To do justice to the novel's intricacies required a massive cast, extensive period sets and costumes, lavish effects and a focused and intelligent screenplay. Well, creators David Benioff (a top notch novelist himself--check out City of Thieves) and D.B. Weiss were up to the challenge and the astute HBO has once again backed a winner. Make no mistake, this is no cheesy kid's story--this is dark and relentless entertainment for people who enjoy quality programming.

At the heart of "Game of Thrones" is the Stark family. Living in relative isolation, patriarch Sean Bean is called to assist the King when a vacancy opens up due to suspect causes. Suspicions have fallen on the King's wife (Lena Headley) and her twin brother (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau), and there may be further nefarious acts in store for His Royal Highness. When the Stark's young son witnesses something he should not have, a violent act that will have long range repercussions occurs. This, however, is just the jumping off point for a tale with numerous dimensions. There are the exiled Targaryen siblings, a brother and sister who have a claim to the throne and hope to retake the power seat by aligning with a barbaric and powerful tribe of warriors. Bean's illegitimate son figures prominently as well, as a guardian on The Wall preparing for imminent danger. There are so many other peripheral characters and story lines, it would be impossible to delineate them all concisely. There are assassination plots, vigilante justice, court intrigue, various sexual escapades, vicious barbarism, unseen monstrosities, plenty of wolves, family drama, and a dragon egg or two.

Through it all, there is a recurrent theme that "Winter is Coming"--a threat that poses a menace and a danger that may be unavoidable. This show is not for the faint of heart, and should only be considered for age appropriate audiences. As an HBO production, the screenplay doesn't shy away from the gritty violence that this time period and life style would necessitate. I, for one, appreciate the authentic feel to the drama. This show is also not for the casual viewer. It unfolds at its own pace, much like a good novel. It requires both patience and attention to really appreciate just how sophisticated and complex this tale is. It is a grown-up and smart piece!

The show looks absolutely fantastic. Technical aspects of the production are as good, or better, than any comparable feature film. The cast is also uniformly excellent. It would be impossible, again, to highlight everyone in the cast that deserves a special mention--so I'll limit my accolades to Peter Dinklage. As Tyrion Lannister (the black sheep brother of Headley and Coster-Waldau), Dinklage steals just about every scene that he is in. Funny, sardonic, and wise--this Imp (as he's called) has a terrific knack of putting things into perspective. Dinklage has had many great roles in his life--but this is a performance of true star wattage and it netted him plenty of awards including an Emmy for Best Supporting Actor! He is one of the best things in this great presentation. I truly admire and recommend "Game of Thrones" because it never panders. It requires your active participation in the narrative to fully appreciate how well constructed it is--and any show that treats me as an intelligent human being deserves recognition in this age of formulaic TV. Watch it--and read the books (Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings especially are monumental)! KGHarris, 5/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones in 1080p and DTS, March 7, 2012
By 
Dan (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wont waste time going into the story. You can see plenty of that in the other reviews.

The Blu-Ray is excellent and takes advantage of the format more than any disc I currently own. The picture is flawless with bright colors and a life-like image. You will notice details you didn't during the original broadcast airing. For example, the scenes in the crypt were sort of dark and hard to make out during the original airing have been lightened up a bit. You can see more details of the statues of the Stark ancestry.

The DTS audio track is amazing! Your side channels will get quite a workout. The sound is immersive, but not overbearing. I could crank the volume up fairly loud and it still would sound perfect. I have a 7.1 surround sound system, and there was one scene early in the first episode where a raven comes flying in from the rear to the front that startled my cat and I. I simply wasn't expecting that sort of detail in sound.

There are quite a few extras. The one that really stands out is the in-episode guide to the Seven Kingdoms. When you turn this feature on, a side menu with four icons appears over the picture. Don't worry, you can make it transparent so it's not blocking the scenes. The first icon brings up a list of characters that are currently in the scene and will give you a bit of information about them when you select them from the list. The second icon gives you the current location, also with a bit of information. The 4th icon takes you to the complete guide where you can access all of it's content from a single menu.

Then you have the third icon, the History icon, and this is the most interesting. Periodically, when a character mentions something from past history, it will flash. When you select that icon, you will see a list of history items, and the one that was just "unlocked" will be selected. Press this, and you're taken to a short animated video segment explaining the historic moment the character just mentioned, narrated by one of the characters in the story. Sometimes its the same historic moment from another viewpoint; so not only does it give you history, it gives you historical perspective from the different houses. After the history video, it brings you right back to the episode where it continues. Most of this history is in the narrative of the books, and so I think this was a very clever (and well produced) way to get that narrative back into the hands of the viewers. It makes this world even richer than it was when we first viewed the series.

I also feel that watching episodes back to back makes the series much enjoyable and easier to understand. This show is dense with characters, history and plot. So having to wait a week meant having all these details fade before the next episode. I feel like I appreciate this series even more now that I own it.

Finally, I actually received my set on Monday, one day before release the street date, when they had guaranteed release day delivery. I guess that's one of the perks of being a Prime member. Kudos to Amazon for their great service. :)

Great series. Outstanding reference-quality Blu-Ray. Definitely not to be passed up if you like the series and own a Blu-Ray disc player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, March 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i must admit, this show is full of ups and downs. At one point I almost gave up on it, but i the end it all comes together and you understand that good is rising and winter is coming! The quality of the production is amazing, Blockbuster special effects, and the actors are well cast and good (for a change). One of the most engaging series I have seen in a long time. Because they are following the plot of books, the show never wanders into ridiculous (as so many others have!) It feels like the plot is carefully crafted, intricately woven and going somewhere.

Seeing some of the good characters get beat is hard, but as the plot continues to unfold, you realize the wisdom in that. An old generation is ending so that new can rise up. And in the final episode it all makes sense! Can't wait to see more.

Too bad that HBO doesn't allow you to subscribe to their content online unless with a TV provider. My provider isn't listed so I can's subscribe to their content, which in this modern world just seems wrong. Wonder why HBO doesn't come into the 21st Century? I will have to wait a long time to see the second season. Not a reason to subtract a star from my review, but still !!! Seems like if you are willing to be a paying customer they wouldn't turn you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2342 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.