Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Gamers at Work: Stories Behind the Games People Play
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars9
5 star
89%
4 star
11%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$21.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 21, 2012
I ordered this book completely out of the blue with absolutely no real idea of what to expect. It turned out that this book was one of the most relevant books I could have ever purchased. In August of 2010, I founded Mighty Rabbit Studios, a small independent game studio in Raleigh, NC. I've spoken with several industry vets about starting the company, but I couldn't have dreamed of ever getting the amount of advice that is contained within this book. This book was designed specifically to help aspiring entrepreneurs in the video game industry, and it excels at that. If you have the desire to open your own game studio, this is a book you must read.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2013
Don't buy this book thinking it's all about games. It's not.

This book is about the business of software and software start ups. Those start ups build games instead of social media connectors (or whatever it is most software start ups do these days).

You will find some interesting stories about the early days of video games and the founders of these companies.

The real value of this book is the experiences of the entrepreneurs who built these gaming companies. I think there are a lot of great lessons and some good advice in this book.

My complaint is (as it is with all these "at work" books) is sometimes, the interviewees say something really interesting and instead of picking up on this an expanding, the interviewer will ask about something completely unrelated. It's frustrating, but only a minor issue.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2012
Morgan Ramsay provides an insightful and fascinating glimpse into the way the games so many of us love are actually developed. Most people never think beyond "Oh yeah, some geeks just got together and used their nerd magic to make Gears of Duty 4: San Andreas, and bro this is awesome." But the games industry is a mature, developed field with careful thought and inspiration behind what makes hit games. Morgan's connections allowed him access to some of the most important names in the industry, with collective centuries of game design experience among them. It's well worth a read for anyone planning a career in the games industry, or for those who simply want to know a little more about the people who populate it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
Word of advice: this book focuses more on the business side of things rather than the development side of things (think "Founders at work", not "Coders at work"). And I have to say I expected more from the author; some questions are hit-and-miss, failing to follow up on very interesting topics or just making the conversation confusing. Or maybe I'm just biased the author is a self-described "serial entrepreneur" rather that a developer. Still, this is mandatory read for anyone who's interested in game development, if anything to show how difficult things can be from a management perspective and for some candid, very interesting personal stories.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
A really nicely written insight into the gaming industry and the people that shaped it. Priceless for anyone that wants to get an insight into the industry!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2012
This book is a great insight into the minds of some of the most influential and pioneering people in the games industry past and present.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
This book should be read by all game developers who are willing to start their own small or large companies and studios.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
As a software developer, I love to read about other developers: how did they solve problems, what was most difficult for them and from their own mouths. This book delivers exceptionally well and might be the best book in it's class. The next best book is probably Racing the Beam, which has lessons for everyone on so many different levels.

Gamers at Work fills the role nicely as well. It tells the story of many developers from different eras and their trials as they delivered the marquee games of their generation. This was a great read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.