Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Games of Strategy (Third Edition)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Thank you Scientist Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 27, 2010
Now in its third edition, this book has become one of the standards used for a general introduction to game theory at the beginning college level. In this edition the authors (with the addition of David Reiley) have maintained their philosophy of using situations commonly understood by college students (dating, taking tests, historical situations) to illustrate the commonly understood games.

Virtually each chapter has been changed at least minimally, and some chapters have seen extensive changes that reflect more recent changes in game theory. One such area of major change is the treatment of information in games and its subtopic mechanism design. This area was a subject of research for which the 2007 Nobel Prize in Economics was awarded. These changes have required major rewriting of several chapters and the creation of a new chapter.

Consistent with the earlier editions, this book is very well written in a manor that the beginning college student can appreciate and the mathematical content is very low as is fitting for an introductory book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2009
As a non-mathematical graduate student who still needs an appreciation of game-theory I found this book to be highly enlightening. The concepts and framework of the field is explained verbally, which is preferable for those that require an appreciation for, rather than a complete understanding of, game theory. A number of applications for game theory are also discussed that serve to demonstrate the broad applicability of the field.

Overall, I would suggest that this book is a suitable alternative for an
introductory course in game theory. I therefore recommend it to those who need to use or appreciate game theory without needing to have a thorough grasp of the mathematics. Alternatively, it would also make a good introductory text for those just starting out. However, while this book may be preferable to those who are not game-theorists by trade or those who are just beginning their study, it may be too broad and unsuitable for those who require a deeper understanding.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2009
I am a doctoral candidate in economics and I gained exposure to this book while trying to help an undergraduate friend with her game theory course taught by one of the authors. From what I read, the body of the textbook is satisfactory, despite poorly formatted equations and numerical examples.

The failing of this textbook is however in the unnecessarily convoluted and poorly worded examples and exercises. The discipline is challenging enough as is and it is only made worse when it is so difficult to comprehend what the exercises are asking you to answer. This sounds rather harsh, but it's extremely frustrating to not be able use this textbook to demonstrate the material when I already have a solid understanding of it. I would have simply used another textbook, but as I mentioned the student was being taught by one of the authors.

An unsatisfactory effort from a very good economist in Dixit. I would recommend the Rasmusen text instead for an introductory game theory class.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2015
One of the worst books I've ever read about game theory. No math. Just theory. My professor actually used it as a textbook for his class. At the end of the semester, nobody learned anything. Please, write a better book, Professor Dixit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
simple, clear game theory text; not a lot with respect to micro foundations; no mathematical proofs, but you don't necessarily need them to understand the concepts..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2009
I am taking a class from one of the authors and I find the book to be well written and easy to understand. The seller was also excellent and I received the book very quickly and in mint condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
This is a great textbook. I would recommend this text book and seller to anyone who may or would be interested in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2009
This book is readable and interesting. It would be good for econ or non-econ majors. Alittle odd in presentation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2016
My teacher could hardly speak English so this book really saved my ass. Book explains things pretty well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2014
This is a tremendous book for the person interested in the subject of game theory. It covers many interesting topics and should
be very accessible to students. The subject/title of the book is misleading, however, since otherwise how could the authors neglect one of the oldest "Games of Strategy" that has been played and studied by mankind for more than one thousand years -- yes CHESS!?

There are more books written about chess than all games put together. (This may be challenged by the explosion of interest in poker -- which also must be deemed a game of strategy and is also somewhat neglected by the book). There are literally thousands of people in the world today, and in the past who have dedicated their lives to the study of chess. And it is true that the notion of chess and its premier status is regularly exploited by sports clubs (baseball, football, etc.) even though most of them
have never moved a piece or don't play the game.

It is also true that in the classic leading book on the theory of games, "The Theory of Games and Economics" by the great John von Neumann and Oscar Morgenstein, chess is also neglected. We can excuse them because it is the classic work on the subject, very mathematical, and with plenty of material without chess. The same is true for Stephen Brams ' "Theory of Moves" which is a wonderful treatise on Prisoner's Dilemma type situations, but does not cover much chess.

However, with the title "Games of Strategy" the authors have done a great injustice to chess. The reason is probably because none of the three authors knows much about chess. As an international chess master and professor of computer science, I am naturally offended by the typical "lip" service of three pages which are dedicated to chess. The depth of strategy which top human payers develop in choosing a move is probably beyond the comprehension of most people who are not deeply into the game of chess.
I won't even go into the distinction between "Stategy" and "Tactics" in chess which I address in my books and videos on chess.

They authors should have sought the help of a chess master, international chess master, or grandmaster to help them better understand the kinds of strategical decisions which are regularly made in chess play. They may have discovered relationships to other games of strategy which they discuss. There are plenty of chess players at these levels who could have used their employ.

That said, the book could be of interest and use to many students interested in problem solving, Artificial Intelligence, political science, mathematics, and economics -- but not chess.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse