Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please Integrate With Oculus Rift!!!
The Razer Hydra is awesome and I hope it succeeds. It has 3 major problems that it needs to over come:

1) Jitter
2) Controls Mapping Software
3) Game/Software Support

If you're willing to work with the Hydra then you may be able to partially overcome these issues.

1) To remove Jitter you need to move the base in front of your...
Published on August 28, 2012 by J. Zimmerman

versus
135 of 138 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for Portal 2...Not so Much for Everything Else
Customer Video Review     Length:: 3:51 Mins
Razer Hydra PC Gaming Motion Sensing Controllers Portal 2 Bundle (RZ80-00630200-B3U1)

Okay, this is my first stab at a video review. Sorry about the poor quality of my voiceover and overall fatness of my face. I'm working on fixing one of those problems. Won't say which.

Overall opinion: there's a lot of potential in...
Published on March 30, 2012 by Aaron Steinmetz


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

135 of 138 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for Portal 2...Not so Much for Everything Else, March 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Razer Hydra PC Gaming Motion Sensing Controllers Portal 2 Bundle (RZ80-00630200-B3U1) (Personal Computers)
Length:: 3:51 Mins

Razer Hydra PC Gaming Motion Sensing Controllers Portal 2 Bundle (RZ80-00630200-B3U1)

Okay, this is my first stab at a video review. Sorry about the poor quality of my voiceover and overall fatness of my face. I'm working on fixing one of those problems. Won't say which.

Overall opinion: there's a lot of potential in this device, but not a lot of substance yet. Fingers crossed: the company will be around long enough to see this thing through because it could be great.

-Aaron

P.S. - Also, I had high resolution in mind when I edited this; I couldn't get this down to size to upload while keeping the text readable. Again...sorry about that. I'll do better next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please Integrate With Oculus Rift!!!, August 28, 2012
This review is from: Razer Hydra PC Gaming Motion Sensing Controllers Portal 2 Bundle (RZ80-00630200-B3U1) (Personal Computers)
The Razer Hydra is awesome and I hope it succeeds. It has 3 major problems that it needs to over come:

1) Jitter
2) Controls Mapping Software
3) Game/Software Support

If you're willing to work with the Hydra then you may be able to partially overcome these issues.

1) To remove Jitter you need to move the base in front of your keyboard. Basically as close as you can to the controllers.
2) Most recent alpha software available from Sixense but it's very difficult to use. Can work well if you love to tinker with software.
3) Only main stream game with direct support for the Hydra is Portal 2. Beyond that you may ask yourself, "Why am I not just using my mouse and keyboard instead?" You can get it to work with other game, but it's a pain.

I think Sixense needs to partner with Oculus Rift (Upcoming awesome VR goggles) and put a Sixense sensor inside the Oculus Rift. Oculus Rift currently has problems with horizontal drift that Sixense would fix. These controllers combined with the Oculus Rift would be a new gaming nirvana. It would motivate developers to support both. Sixense get hold of Palmer Luckey quick and make it happen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motion control for the PC gamer, July 3, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Razer Hydra PC Gaming Motion Sensing Controllers Portal 2 Bundle (RZ80-00630200-B3U1) (Personal Computers)
This device is awesome! Using a motion controller to blast away zombies in Left 4 Dead 2 puts a big ol' banana grin on my face.

The technology behind the Razer Hydra isn't perfect yet, but it is pretty darn close. The one issue I initially had with this device was interference from surrounding electronics. Things that have powerful magnetic fields (some speakers, laptop power bricks, etc) have the potential to cause some jitter of the cursor. This issue is very unlikely to effect you, and if it does the resolution simple. For me, the solution was just to move the base station more towards the front of my desk.
[EDIT] After some testing to find out what was causing my level of jitter, I found it to be my Asus 23" 3D monitor. With the monitor off, my jitter drops to basically nothing (tested this with second monitor). Hoping to hear some good news from sixense regarding this, but seems that I just have a highly interfering product. The Hydra is still perfectly functional even with this interference, I just have to hold the controllers at a closer distance to the base to get the jitter to become unnoticeable.
[EDIT #2] From another post on the sixense forums, it seems like another guy with jitter determined it to be his 3D monitor (Benq brand I think he said it was). I have a second monitor (Asus 21.5" LED) and it causes zero interference. Also, no interference from the display on my laptop.
In conclusion - if you have a 3D monitor you may experience jitter with the Razer Hydra.

The general setup in most games is to use the analog stick on the left controller to move around, while using the right handed motion controller to aim. Some games (at least L4D2) also feature motion gestures for the left controller. Tilting the controller up quickly jumps, tilting down crouches, tilting left and right switch weapons, and rotating the controller to the left reloads. Other important actions are bound to one of the four buttons on each side. There is no way as of yet to program your own control setup for games, but Razer states on their support website that the option will be available soon.
[EDIT] As a sixense moderator has stated in reply to this review, you can in fact modify your controls even now. It isn't yet natively editable within the Razer Hydra config program from Razer's site, but modifying a few text files within your Razer Hydra program folder is all you need to do to change your controls. They will add native support within the config program eventually I imagine, but it's not here just yet.

One specific mechanism you will have to learn with motion controllers is called "ratcheting." When you are using the controller to aim, you're going to tilt your wrist to the side. What happens when your wrist cant bend any more to the right? In order to continue aiming right you hold a button on the right controller which locks the cursor in place, while you whip your wrist back to the default forward position. This allows you to continue aiming in all directions even though you reach the edge of how far you can move. Takes a little bit of learning to get used to, but not too tricky.

You can also use the Razer Hydra in gamepad mode, where it essentially becommes a 360 controller that has been chopped in half. The four buttons on the right controller correspond to ABXY, while the four buttons on the left controller correspond to dpad up down left right.

If you are looking to have fun with a high quality motion controller on your PC, look no further. The Razer Hydra will truly add another dimension to your game. I could not recommend this product more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made For VR., June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Quick Review here. This is the only really accurate, lower-ish latency hand motion input on the market, but that doesn't mean the Sixense slacked off on quality. They are wired sure, but that decision was out of their hands. I use these with my Rift with all the awesome tech demos that are coming out and I have even been developing my own game for them. They are ridiculously accurate and the fact that the next generation of these bad boys will allow for 3rd, 4th, or 5th sensors that you can attach to your body is awesome. They are a company who obviously cares about bringing about the VR revolution and they get all the more respect from me for that. Lastly, you will want to have these when their new software comes out, MakeVR. It is a 3D world/model builder similar to living in a CAD program (It will be the Killer App for VR, at least in the Utility category) Anyway, good work Sixense, can't wait to get the next dev kit!. (I have ps3's Move controllers, and the Hydra is on a whole different level of accuracy then those. So, if you were skeptical because of past disappointments, don't be.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely worth it, February 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Razer Hydra PC Gaming Motion Sensing Controllers Portal 2 Bundle (RZ80-00630200-B3U1) (Personal Computers)
These have amazing precision. The Portal 2 that is bundled becomes so immersive using the special controls and added abilities. As these start to become become more popular we will see more games with specifically programmed support. For your older games you can use this tool [...] to create your own control profile for each game. I recommend that tool over the Razer Hydra Configurator as the later does not let you customize your game profiles. The cables are much longer than you could need. The shape is much more comfortable than a Wii remote. This is very easy to program with from a developer's standpoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it better than any other motion controls I've used, December 30, 2011
By 
Matthew Lucas (Pleasant Hill, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Razer Hydra PC Gaming Motion Sensing Controllers Portal 2 Bundle (RZ80-00630200-B3U1) (Personal Computers)
The main problem I've had with other (console) motion controls is that the games are designed for the controller. While this may seem like a good thing, often times they end up gimmicky. The Razer is great in that it adapts to any game's default controls. So far, I've only played a few games with it: Skyrim, Fable 3, and Arkham City, and they all feel great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings a fresh experience to FPS games, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Razer Hydra does exactly as advertised, it is an accurate motion controller for the PC. I liked the concept of the Wii and it's motion controller, but the Wii has a relatively poor choice of games by comparison. On the PC, that is not an issue as you can play all of the modern high graphics games on your monitor, TV or even laptop. I have found the Hydra has brought a fresh experience and immersion to these games with relatively little re-learning to play. The motion controls and the gestures (after a little tweaking) are so accurate and responsive it really feels natural to play, far superior to the Wii in fact. The Hyra is not dependent on a IR bar, which means it's position on the screen is arbitrary and based on a magnetic sensor system, but on balance this appears more accurate and not at all dependent on distance from the screen or the size of the screen. Now, this does mean that turning in games involves using a single button ratchet system (but you do that with your mouse anyway!). The system does require it's magnetic base to be near to where you are using the handsets, when playing my living room I find that putting it on a small table in-front of the sofa is fine, and I can sit back and use the controllers. This set up far more convenient and relaxed than a keyboard and mouse, but doesn't lack the speed or accuracy like an Xbox controller does. So I would say it is a fun breath of fresh air to PC FPS games, and really opens up your PC to being used in the same relaxed setting as a console on your TV.

Pros:
Awesome accuracy and responsiveness.
Convenient and easy to set up.
The first controller that allows you to use your PC like a console without loosing as many of the advantages of a mouse/keyboard (obviously a wirless keyboard would be needed if you needed to actually type as well).

Cons:
The gestures work well, but involve a little bit of configuring.
The controller could be a little less plastic-ey with nicer buttons... They are not awful or easily broken, but I think the underlying switch mechanisms are based on mice, not controllers.. (if razer are reading: I think they could maybe up the cost by 20 bucks and replace the buttons with something more like the Xbox 360 controllers buttons)

Tip: Don't use the razer software, use the MotionCreator 2 software straight from sixense.com, this adds more game pre-sets and settings to fiddle with, also make sure the razer software IS NOT running simultaneously, because it will try and use both game pre-sets and the gestures get really confused. Once you have the motioncreator 2 software you have more pre-sets and more control, including an all important Gesture sensitivity control, literally spend 2 minutes fiddling with that and alt-tabbing into the game and it will almost certainlt sort out your gesture problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shines with VR, May 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you want to use it with standart monitors/screens, just forget it. It is not going to beat mouse + keyboard combo.
But if you are planing to get Oculus Rift or a VR headset, that is where Hydra shines. It's extremely accurate.

The only negative aspect is the wires... It begs to be wireless. Other than that, if you own Oculus Rift or want to get Oculus Rift, you destined to get Hydra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Think twice., April 12, 2014
By 
JasonCW (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Razer Hydra PC Gaming Motion Sensing Controllers Portal 2 Bundle (RZ80-00630200-B3U1) (Personal Computers)
This is an obsolete product and no longer manufactured. The company who developed this (sixsense) is already taking pre-orders for thier new and vaslty improved version of the product called STEM, due to ship in July and for only $50 more than this waaay overpriced set of old Hydras. People are scalping these at inflated prices due to explosive popularty of the Oculus Rift. Dont get ripped off, check out the STEM before buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As advertised., January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
works as it should. A must have if you have the Occlous Rift VR head set. so go for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.