Automotive Deals Amazon Fashion Best Books of the Month Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$27.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 11, 2011
This book sort of takes up where Michelle Malkin's "Culture of Corruption" left off a couple of years ago. I'm sure the die-hard far left will rate this as nothing more than a hit piece but it is always refreshing (and educational) to be able to read issues of current events that the mainstream media refuses to cover. I appreciated the detail that Freddoso went into while covering the corruption between Obama's administration and both the trial lawyers and big labor.
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2011
David Freddoso's new book, Gangster Government, cuts past the rhetoric of the last few years and cogently analyzes the major initiatives of the Obama Administration. Based on shoe-leather reporting of the first degree, Freddoso presents valuable insights into the programs that have been at the center of our national discourse: the stimulus, Obamacare, the auto bailout, etc. As Freddoso examines each in turn, he illustrates how the Administration has been willing to ignore fundamental principles of law to achieve its ends, which often involve rewards for the Administration's friends and punishment for those, no matter the reason, who happen to stand in its way. Freddoso does not just question the ends of this Administration; he also questions what the impact of this Administration will be on the nature of American Government.

In short, Gangster Government is an excellent analysis of the first two years of the Obama Administration, showing the way in which it chose not to allow various crises to go to waste.
100100 comments| 212 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2011
An incisive analysis of Obama's tactics. Disheartening. Scary. What this man wants to do is not an America I have any interest in living in.
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2011
The title accurately describes the disturbing tactics and vicious actions of the government we have given ourselves, very little of which is evident from reading or watching the mainstream media. The section on the beind-the-scenes play-by-play of Washington's takeover of our automobile industry reveals pretty much how those who supposedly represent our interests work to increase and preserve their own power. A must read and a worthwhile purchase from Amazon.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2011
David Freddoso sounds a warning about the changing role of government in his new book, Gangster Government. He describes the policies, laws and tactics that have already reshaped interactions between citizens and their government. Beginning with the auto bailout, he reports the facts in a journalistic and engaging style. He draws on his prowess as a reporter to explore Obama's relationship with unions, his questionable treatment of political opponents and the Administration's sustained efforts to undercut the political process. While clearly not a fan of the Obama Administration, Freddoso uses factual information to reveal some deeply disturbing events. This book is not a political rant, but a well-crafted wake up call!
11 comment| 113 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2011
By now most citizens are aware of the fact that President Obama is an excellent mouthpiece for promulgating the liberal progressive agenda and an inept leader domestically and internationally. The book details the methods used to implement the agenda. Unfortunately there is nothing you as a reader can do about it other than become more upset about what you already know. It gives the author a chance to blow off steam but as he points out, Obama's response will be "So what! There is nothing you can do about it."
22 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a former Chicagoan I will admit that Chicago politics have always been considered "gangster" and the result of most elections in that city are usually in question. It's sort of like the joke, "Is Osama Bin Laden really dead"? He must be, he's registered to vote in Chicago".

Jokes aside, GANGSTER GOVERNMENT by David Freddoso is a fascinating, well documented look at the inner workings and tactics employed not only by the current administration but by both Republicans and Democrats over the last 20 years or so. Both parties, it appears, attacks its' "enemies" and rewards its "friends"......both of these actions at the expense of the American people.

This book zeros in on our current political and social environment and the picture it paints is not a pretty one. It would seem that we are turning into a country where strong-arm methods and circumventing the Constitution are looked upon as smart political maneuvering, disparaging the opposition with pejorative comparisons is standard operating procedure and the desires of the masses are ignored by the very individuals sent to Washington to represent "we the people".

Based upon the facts set forth in Freddoso's narrative, it would appear that the philosophy and course of action being pursued by the current resident of the White House is more in keeping with the ideology of Malcom X than the dreams of Martin Luther King.

The question at hand is are we, the American public, willingly and willfully looking away, swallowing lies and resigning ourselves to a seemingly hopeless situation or can something be done to diminish the effects of the wheels that have been set in motion before they reach runaway speed? The answer could be summed up in the words of President Obama when he said, "Elections have consequences". That's something we all should remember!
44 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2012
Surprise..Not in my wildest dreams would I have though our country would come to this. Where did we lose control of our own destiny? History repeating itself.. Instead of going forward as the Greatest Country in the World we have let ourselves be bought by another country. We need to stand up NOW!! and take our country back..Let the "IN GOD WE TRUST" quote ring for others to hear..This is how our Nation started and should be our daily belief.. Again.. must read and read before November.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2012
Gangster Government that I purchased from Amazon is an extremely well written and poignant book. Freddoso explains the happenings that we as Americans are not told and details these accounts with accuracy and honesty. It is a real eye opener and makes one wonder about the phrase"...and the government of the people, by the people and for the people..." We citizens are evidently not the government's primary concern.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2012
A nuts and bolts review of how the Chicago- trained "neighborhood organizer" and his Chicago henchmen, I.e., "czars" have high jacked our government in order to reward their supporters; how they circumvent and twist the constitution in a desperate attempt to establish a Chicago like dictatorship -with guess who in charge. This is required reading for any voter before they enter the voting booth.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse