Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$21.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 21, 2012
Now I have never read the Manga, but I have seen the complete anime series. Basing my view off the anime being brought to film I have to say the first film did an excellent job. I understand the anime was cut short because it moved quicker than the Manga. As for this 2nd film there are no ties to the anime, but it gives answers to the question we may have all had from watching the series. The action is superb and stylish and the special effects are done very well. The story is filled with excellent plot twist as well. I enjoyed this movie very much and from what I have research of the Manga. The plot is similiar yet changed to give an ending. People always complain about adaptations because they are not spot on. Well this movie is pretty close and it gives closure pretty well to a Manga that is well into its 300's in issues printed.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
First off let me preface this by saying that I am not a fan of manga or japanese anime so I had no clue what Gantz was prior to seeing the this movie and the second. Perhaps that is the reason I loved the movies so much because they were so different and creative.

The first movie revolved around strangers teleported to an undisclosed location shortly after dying to fight aliens as dictated by a large black ball. I know it already sounds bizarre but it makes perfect sense when actually watching the movie.
That being said, I'll go into the review of this movie since no doubt everyone would have seen first one. I noticed another review indicating this did not follow the first movie and I could not disagree any more. The very beginning of this movie recapped exactly what happened in the first movie and transitioned smoothly introducing new and old characters. I actually think it was done quite well. I also disagree with there being less action in this one. I would agree there is more dialogue in this one but an equal amount of action just in different context. The first movie focused on introductions and keeping answers in the dark. It actually followed the heroes into the actual fights against aliens in another dimension while the second movie followed the fight in reality. Instead of fighting one alien in a a different reality, they had to fight multiple aliens in the real world.

I have to say I was surprised at how much blood and gore both movies put out. Don't often see that much in japanese movies. But it was done well. The acting was superior in certain situations but often got cheesy and almost juvenile during romantic interludes, almost like the director was a 10 year old. Not withstanding, the material was all adult. Lots and lots of killing so be forwarned. The movie was also highly styleized and sleek. Japanse movies are great at doing that.

All answers are revealed at the end and the end is a love it or hate it ending. I have to say, I loved and hated the ending so it works. I wont spoil it but it was the kind of ending where some things ended happy and others ended sad. Pretty much the ending I would chose but maybe not a broad audience.

If you are a fan of the first movie, I highly recommend this one as I feel it was a perfect compliment to the first.

Oh, and of course, the blu ray version looks amazing in HD and I love the fact that the hated in my opinion black bars are nowhere to be seen and the movie looks glorious filling my entire HD tv. Sound was amazing and the movie is automatically dubbed in english but you can choose japanese with subtitles as well. The blu ray also comes with loads of extras in two DVD's. Honestly 20 bucks for this is a bargin for this kind of quaility movie and extras.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2015
Boring sequel that did not follow the storyline of the manga like the first movie did. I thought it was excruciatingly a bad film. Maybe it was just me. I could not finish it. I liked the first movie but I don't know what happened with the second.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2015
Not one question I had was answered.
Should call this the perfect waste of time.
You are better off searching the Internet for
the outcome of this movie and save your cash OR even better think up a plot and an ending yourself. You can do much better. Sure couldn't do much worse. Pick it up for $5 or less if you must complete the set. I wouldn't have brought it if I knew what I know now at $1.00
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
While this sequel gave an alright ending to the first movie overall aside from the effects and some character plots there wasn't too much to really say about the movie other then it's a good sci-fi action Japanese movie based off an anime/manga series. If you haven't seen the anime series or manga the first movie explains enough so there isn't too much confusion but if you haven't seen that either then I strongly suggest you do otherwise you'll be greatly confused on the situations in this movie obviously.

So if you are fan of the live action series Death Note,Alive,Godzilla,Azumi or the like then this two part movie will keep you entertained but if you don't for those kind of movies or genre then this movie really isn't meant for you sadly....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
This is a review of the Blu-ray version of this movie. The title says that it is "Gantz II, Perfect Answer". Well, it is "a" answer, but not a perfect answer. It does bring closure to what is happening to the people, but doesn't answer the question as to what Gantz or the aliens are. That said, it is a very good movie. It would have been great if it could have answered the question of where Gantz came from. Gantz I covers the first three Gantz battles in the anime. This movie takes what would have been the last battle of the anime and heads off in another direction to come up with a closure story.

The production values were top notch, and the only thing I could quibble about was the light saber sounds when they started waving katanas around. Once again, when the people were being transported by Gantz the insides of their bodies that you could see were cat scans of their insides, a step above in detail of "meat and bones" you see in the anime.

I have a qualified opinion that this show is more violent than either the anime or Gantz I, and ranks at the upper end of a R rating. In the trailer on you tube you see a scene in a subway. Well, imagine, if you can, what happens if you put two gangs at either end of a train with machine guns and katanas with civilians between them, and they open up.... There is even less skin in Gantz II, than Gantz I, so that doesn't even enter in.

If you want to get an idea of what this show is like, watch both Men in Black and the Matrix series and imagine what would happen if you put them together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2012
I bought part 1 and part 2 of Gantz, watching both movies and knowing the manga and the animated tv series I can say that both are good adaptations with some obvious omissions/modifications required to fit all this world in about two and half hours.
The first movie is amazing, special effects are top notch. The second one is a bit less action oriented, with some sword fights but less espectacular than the first one. Some people disagree with the conclusion of this story but this is not an american movie, in american movies the final scene is normally with all people smiling and kissing between them, this is a japanese style movie and I think the final is just as must be. Some people happy and other sad.

This is the first time i watch non-american or european movies. I'm really impressed for the special effects of these japanese movies. I'll buy another ones in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
This star rating is so low only because of the actual movie. The shipping and everything was great. But for fans of the anime and manga. Stay far away from this movie. It's almost as if gantz has nothing to do with this malarkey
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2012
If you enjoy very well done Manga to film adaptations like "Death Note", "Death Note: The Last Name", the "20th Century Boys" trilogy, "Gambling Apocalypse Kaiji", "The Incite Mill" (I think there is a Manga for this; not sure) and even the first "Gantz" film, then "Gantz: Perfect Answer" is a MUST-BUY!!! Ken'ichi Matsuyama ("Death Note", "Death Note: The Last Name", "L Change The World", "Gambling Apocalypse Kaiji") always delivers. A fun journey into the realm of Japanese fantasy. The fight inside a subway train is amazing. Buy both "Gantz" blu-rays. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In 2000, mangaka Hiroya Oku created the "Gantz" manga series. A series which is still ongoing to this day.

The 26-episode, two season anime series was released in 2004 and for many Americans, it was among the popular series to be released on DVD due to its sci-fi action, adult humor and violence.

Five years later, it was announced that two live action "Gantz" films were being created and starring in the film is actor and idol singer and ARASHI member Kazunari Nonomiya ("Letters from Iwo Jima", "Yamada Taro Monogatari", "Ryusei no Kizuna"), actor Kenichi Matsuyama ("Death Note" films, "L: Change the World", "Kamui Gaiden") and the film would be directed by Shinsuke Sato ("The Princess Blade", "Tokyo Lullabye", "Sunadokei" and also character and scene developer for the video game "Tekken 4').

The film was shown in America first as it was simulcast in theaters in 46 states, in Japan, the first film was released in theaters on Jan.2011 and followed with a Blu-ray and DVD release in the U.S. courtesy of New People Entertainment. Now the second film "Gantz II: Perfect Answer", the conclusion of the film series, will be released on Blu-ray on Jan. 2012.

It's important to note that the films are loosely-based on the manga and anime series.

VIDEO:

"Gantz II: Perfect Answer" is presented in 1080p High Definition (1:85:1). The picture quality for the film is actually very good. The picture quality features cool colors leaning to more blues and blacks, detail is very good and there is a fine layer of grain that can be seen. Some scenes are darker than I would have like but there is a good amount of detail on closeup shots.

AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"Gantz II: Perfect Answer" is presented in Japanese and English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 and I have to say that the most shining aspect of this Blu-ray release is its lossless soundtrack. The soundtrack is absolutely immersive as this second film is action-intensive and there are explosions, gun shots, sword fights and destruction galore in this film. The surround channels and LFE are heavily used throughout the film and for the most part, fans with a solid home theater setup will no doubt enjoy this film's soundtrack.

As for the English dub, I prefer to watching live action Asian films in their original language but with that beings aid, New People Entertainment and Viz Media are known for hiring the most talented voice actors in the industry and I'm sure the English dub will appeal to those who prefer an English dub.

Subtitles are presented in English SDH, Spanish and French.

SPECIAL FEATURES

"Gantz II: Perfect Answer" features a third bonus DVD featuring special features such as:

Exclusive Director's Interview 2 - (22:01) Behind-the-scenes footage and an in-depth interview with director Shinsuke Sato.
Cast Profiles - text biographies on the cast.
Trailers - (4:04) Original "Gantz: Perfect Answer" theatrical trailers from Japan.
New People Presents - New People trailers.

EXTRAS:

"Gantz II: Perfect Answer" comes with a DVD version of the feature film.

JUDGMENT CALL:

Exciting and more action-packed and satisfying than the first film, the sequel "Gantz II: Perfect Answer" is a popcorn action-flick with a lot of twist and turns. A fitting and exciting conclusion to the "Gantz" films.

What one can expect from a popcorn action film starring a few of Japanese top young talents! "GANTZ II: Perfect Answer" features constant action that will thrill you! Definitely one of the better film adaptations from a manga series in terms of visual effects and costume design.

I personally enjoyed "GANTZ" for the reason that I'm familiar with the talent on the film. Kazunari Ninomiya of ARASHI fame is very popular as with actor Kenichi Matsuyama, but even before I watched this film, I always felt that the costumes of "GANTZ" was the coolest costumes since the Matrix!

But with that being said, this is a popcorn action film with a lot of action and visual effects but at the same time, it's a film that is quite different from the manga/anime series. There is a lot of violence, even sexual perversion in the original manga release but because the manga is ongoing in Japan, for the film, things had to be different.

The first film featured a lot of time showing the viewers of the relationship between Kei and Kato and how they were good friends and how they stopped being friends and then trying to become friends once again. But most importantly, there was a bit of ego stroke on Kei's part as he was the person that is typically not seen as a hero and thus, granted powers via the suits from Gantz, he started to gain an ego but learned a big lesson.

In the end of the first film, the major characters were killed after fighting a killer Buddha.

But in "Gantz II: Perfect Answer", we know with the big Gantz, he sends out people who were just killed, on missions of killing of an alien. It's part of their mission in order for them to survive but also to gain points necessary to live a free life once again or to resurrect someone. And with Kei now nearing 100 points, he intends to bring back his friend Kato.

But what happens when he comes face-to-face with Kato, who revived him? Obviously Kei didn't, so who did? Or is it Kato?

And as Kei and the others take order from Gantz, we are introduced to a group of aliens who also take orders but this time, a smaller version of Gantz and similar to Kei and the others, they must kill as part of their mission.

And possibly taking a page from terrorist attacks that would seem more fitting for a "Call of Duty" film, "Gantz II: Perfect Answer" has one of the most violent scenes in a Japanese film (which no one hopes will happen ever in Japan) as Kei and the others are transported into a train, but instead of taking place in an alternate dimension, they are put into the public.

And when the Gantz group and the aliens are battling, there is always massive destruction. So, you can imagine how chaotic things get now that the battles are taking place in areas where a lot of people are.

To make things much more interesting, both the aliens and the Gantz group receive a mission but it's to eliminate Kei's girlfriend (or female friend that he is trying to get close with). You know Kei is not going to let that happen and it becomes a chaotic slaughter-fes.

While Kei is the character that is focused on in the sequel, Actor Ken'ichi Matsuyama as Masaru Kato plays a different type of role in this second film. As Kato, he is much more restrained, but when his other self is revealed to be an imposter alien, Matsuyama plays a crazy killer.

We also get more of actress Yuriko Yoshitaka (who plays Tae). In the first film, she was interesting because she was the manga fan who secretly likes Kei. In the sequel, their friendship is now growing to the point where they start having feelings for each other. But when orders are given by both Gantz to have her eliminated, you can only hope that her well-liked character survives.

Last, we are treated with a storyline with an investigator named Masamitsu Shigeta, who is trying to find out how these dead people are coming back alive. While the character adds some drama in the film, we know that he's just human and compared to those in the Gantz suits and the aliens, he's just not strong enough. And his storyline is possibly the weakest in the film. As the screenplay utilizes him more to give a break to the action.

But "Gantz II: Perfect Answer" is in-your-face, all-out action that fans will probably enjoy much more than the first film. The first film tried to play more on character development and relationships and establish Gantz and the missions but with that part being over, it's all about the actions and missions this time around. And with the twist and turns in the storyline, you can't help but be captivated with all this crazy action and this destruction happening in the film.

It's important to note that while this film is not rated, this is a violent film. You see people being stabbed and cut up with swords, a woman getting shot point blank in the head, it's a violent film. So, definitely don't have your children around while watching this movie.

But for fans who enjoy popcorn action films, the sequel to "Gantz" is much better this time around. While manga/comic book film adaptations are never exact, still..I can't but help but saying that I enjoyed the "Gantz" films. Yes, they are different and while I thought the first film was OK, I enjoyed the sequel even more. Much more to be exact!

As for the Blu-ray release, you get the Blu-ray and DVD versions of the film and several special features as well. The picture quality is good (sometimes too dark) but the best part of this Blu-ray is its lossless immersive soundtrack which is fantastic!

Overall, fans of the first film, those who are looking for an exciting Japanese popcorn action film or people who are fans thatcan separate themselves from the original storyline of the "GANTZ" anime and manga series will enjoy "Gantz II: Perfect Answer".

Recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.