Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Fall Denim Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Night Beds The Next Storm Fire TV Stick Grocery Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Shop Popular Services Home Theater Setup Plumbing Services Assembly Services Shop all furious7 furious7 furious7  Amazon Echo Fire HD 6 Kindle Voyage Assassin's Creed Syndicate Shop Now Deal of the Day

Gantz II: Perfect Answer
Format: DVDChange
Price:$14.68+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 12, 2013
This definitely makes for a happier ending than the original Gantz, but I still enjoyed it in its own entertaining way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on February 8, 2013
first encounter with gantz was the live action movie. was hooked ever since. purchased the complete anime series and both live action blurays.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on January 14, 2013
A very nice sequel to the first one and I'm glad they tidied it up at the end. A definite must buy if you watched the first one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on January 11, 2013
I like this movie because it finish the series and it was different from the anime version. I watched this movie 3 times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on October 3, 2012
This movie is awesome. I loved it and so did my boys. They like Japanese movies. I also have the first movie which is a very good movie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on May 15, 2012
This is a review of the Blu-ray version of this movie. The title says that it is "Gantz II, Perfect Answer". Well, it is "a" answer, but not a perfect answer. It does bring closure to what is happening to the people, but doesn't answer the question as to what Gantz or the aliens are. That said, it is a very good movie. It would have been great if it could have answered the question of where Gantz came from. Gantz I covers the first three Gantz battles in the anime. This movie takes what would have been the last battle of the anime and heads off in another direction to come up with a closure story.

The production values were top notch, and the only thing I could quibble about was the light saber sounds when they started waving katanas around. Once again, when the people were being transported by Gantz the insides of their bodies that you could see were cat scans of their insides, a step above in detail of "meat and bones" you see in the anime.

I have a qualified opinion that this show is more violent than either the anime or Gantz I, and ranks at the upper end of a R rating. In the trailer on you tube you see a scene in a subway. Well, imagine, if you can, what happens if you put two gangs at either end of a train with machine guns and katanas with civilians between them, and they open up.... There is even less skin in Gantz II, than Gantz I, so that doesn't even enter in.

If you want to get an idea of what this show is like, watch both Men in Black and the Matrix series and imagine what would happen if you put them together.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
In 2000, mangaka Hiroya Oku created the "Gantz" manga series. A series which is still ongoing to this day.

The 26-episode, two season anime series was released in 2004 and for many Americans, it was among the popular series to be released on DVD due to its sci-fi action, adult humor and violence.

Five years later, it was announced that two live action "Gantz" films were being created and starring in the film is actor and idol singer and ARASHI member Kazunari Nonomiya ("Letters from Iwo Jima", "Yamada Taro Monogatari", "Ryusei no Kizuna"), actor Kenichi Matsuyama ("Death Note" films, "L: Change the World", "Kamui Gaiden") and the film would be directed by Shinsuke Sato ("The Princess Blade", "Tokyo Lullabye", "Sunadokei" and also character and scene developer for the video game "Tekken 4').

The film was shown in America first as it was simulcast in theaters in 46 states, in Japan, the first film was released in theaters on Jan.2011 and followed with a Blu-ray and DVD release in the U.S. courtesy of New People Entertainment. Now the second film "Gantz II: Perfect Answer", the conclusion of the film series, will be released on Blu-ray on Jan. 2012.

It's important to note that the films are loosely-based on the manga and anime series.

VIDEO:

"Gantz II: Perfect Answer" is presented in 1080p High Definition (1:85:1). The picture quality for the film is actually very good. The picture quality features cool colors leaning to more blues and blacks, detail is very good and there is a fine layer of grain that can be seen. Some scenes are darker than I would have like but there is a good amount of detail on closeup shots.

AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"Gantz II: Perfect Answer" is presented in Japanese and English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 and I have to say that the most shining aspect of this Blu-ray release is its lossless soundtrack. The soundtrack is absolutely immersive as this second film is action-intensive and there are explosions, gun shots, sword fights and destruction galore in this film. The surround channels and LFE are heavily used throughout the film and for the most part, fans with a solid home theater setup will no doubt enjoy this film's soundtrack.

As for the English dub, I prefer to watching live action Asian films in their original language but with that beings aid, New People Entertainment and Viz Media are known for hiring the most talented voice actors in the industry and I'm sure the English dub will appeal to those who prefer an English dub.

Subtitles are presented in English SDH, Spanish and French.

SPECIAL FEATURES

"Gantz II: Perfect Answer" features a third bonus DVD featuring special features such as:

Exclusive Director's Interview 2 - (22:01) Behind-the-scenes footage and an in-depth interview with director Shinsuke Sato.
Cast Profiles - text biographies on the cast.
Trailers - (4:04) Original "Gantz: Perfect Answer" theatrical trailers from Japan.
New People Presents - New People trailers.

EXTRAS:

"Gantz II: Perfect Answer" comes with a DVD version of the feature film.

JUDGMENT CALL:

Exciting and more action-packed and satisfying than the first film, the sequel "Gantz II: Perfect Answer" is a popcorn action-flick with a lot of twist and turns. A fitting and exciting conclusion to the "Gantz" films.

What one can expect from a popcorn action film starring a few of Japanese top young talents! "GANTZ II: Perfect Answer" features constant action that will thrill you! Definitely one of the better film adaptations from a manga series in terms of visual effects and costume design.

I personally enjoyed "GANTZ" for the reason that I'm familiar with the talent on the film. Kazunari Ninomiya of ARASHI fame is very popular as with actor Kenichi Matsuyama, but even before I watched this film, I always felt that the costumes of "GANTZ" was the coolest costumes since the Matrix!

But with that being said, this is a popcorn action film with a lot of action and visual effects but at the same time, it's a film that is quite different from the manga/anime series. There is a lot of violence, even sexual perversion in the original manga release but because the manga is ongoing in Japan, for the film, things had to be different.

The first film featured a lot of time showing the viewers of the relationship between Kei and Kato and how they were good friends and how they stopped being friends and then trying to become friends once again. But most importantly, there was a bit of ego stroke on Kei's part as he was the person that is typically not seen as a hero and thus, granted powers via the suits from Gantz, he started to gain an ego but learned a big lesson.

In the end of the first film, the major characters were killed after fighting a killer Buddha.

But in "Gantz II: Perfect Answer", we know with the big Gantz, he sends out people who were just killed, on missions of killing of an alien. It's part of their mission in order for them to survive but also to gain points necessary to live a free life once again or to resurrect someone. And with Kei now nearing 100 points, he intends to bring back his friend Kato.

But what happens when he comes face-to-face with Kato, who revived him? Obviously Kei didn't, so who did? Or is it Kato?

And as Kei and the others take order from Gantz, we are introduced to a group of aliens who also take orders but this time, a smaller version of Gantz and similar to Kei and the others, they must kill as part of their mission.

And possibly taking a page from terrorist attacks that would seem more fitting for a "Call of Duty" film, "Gantz II: Perfect Answer" has one of the most violent scenes in a Japanese film (which no one hopes will happen ever in Japan) as Kei and the others are transported into a train, but instead of taking place in an alternate dimension, they are put into the public.

And when the Gantz group and the aliens are battling, there is always massive destruction. So, you can imagine how chaotic things get now that the battles are taking place in areas where a lot of people are.

To make things much more interesting, both the aliens and the Gantz group receive a mission but it's to eliminate Kei's girlfriend (or female friend that he is trying to get close with). You know Kei is not going to let that happen and it becomes a chaotic slaughter-fes.

While Kei is the character that is focused on in the sequel, Actor Ken'ichi Matsuyama as Masaru Kato plays a different type of role in this second film. As Kato, he is much more restrained, but when his other self is revealed to be an imposter alien, Matsuyama plays a crazy killer.

We also get more of actress Yuriko Yoshitaka (who plays Tae). In the first film, she was interesting because she was the manga fan who secretly likes Kei. In the sequel, their friendship is now growing to the point where they start having feelings for each other. But when orders are given by both Gantz to have her eliminated, you can only hope that her well-liked character survives.

Last, we are treated with a storyline with an investigator named Masamitsu Shigeta, who is trying to find out how these dead people are coming back alive. While the character adds some drama in the film, we know that he's just human and compared to those in the Gantz suits and the aliens, he's just not strong enough. And his storyline is possibly the weakest in the film. As the screenplay utilizes him more to give a break to the action.

But "Gantz II: Perfect Answer" is in-your-face, all-out action that fans will probably enjoy much more than the first film. The first film tried to play more on character development and relationships and establish Gantz and the missions but with that part being over, it's all about the actions and missions this time around. And with the twist and turns in the storyline, you can't help but be captivated with all this crazy action and this destruction happening in the film.

It's important to note that while this film is not rated, this is a violent film. You see people being stabbed and cut up with swords, a woman getting shot point blank in the head, it's a violent film. So, definitely don't have your children around while watching this movie.

But for fans who enjoy popcorn action films, the sequel to "Gantz" is much better this time around. While manga/comic book film adaptations are never exact, still..I can't but help but saying that I enjoyed the "Gantz" films. Yes, they are different and while I thought the first film was OK, I enjoyed the sequel even more. Much more to be exact!

As for the Blu-ray release, you get the Blu-ray and DVD versions of the film and several special features as well. The picture quality is good (sometimes too dark) but the best part of this Blu-ray is its lossless immersive soundtrack which is fantastic!

Overall, fans of the first film, those who are looking for an exciting Japanese popcorn action film or people who are fans thatcan separate themselves from the original storyline of the "GANTZ" anime and manga series will enjoy "Gantz II: Perfect Answer".

Recommended!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on February 18, 2012
I bought part 1 and part 2 of Gantz, watching both movies and knowing the manga and the animated tv series I can say that both are good adaptations with some obvious omissions/modifications required to fit all this world in about two and half hours.
The first movie is amazing, special effects are top notch. The second one is a bit less action oriented, with some sword fights but less espectacular than the first one. Some people disagree with the conclusion of this story but this is not an american movie, in american movies the final scene is normally with all people smiling and kissing between them, this is a japanese style movie and I think the final is just as must be. Some people happy and other sad.

This is the first time i watch non-american or european movies. I'm really impressed for the special effects of these japanese movies. I'll buy another ones in the future.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on February 9, 2012
Loved the style of work and the conclusion to the story. Have both parts and love them. Could not imagine a world like the one they made or how it would really exist, but loved seeing it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on February 6, 2012
wowww this was Awesome the second GANTZ BEST Way to Watch it is in Original Jap. with Engl.Subtitles...? 5 Stars for this one...? Wondering if they will make another one somehow...? Very Hard to Top the first two...?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Gantz: The Complete Series
Gantz: The Complete Series by Chris Ayres (DVD - 2011)
$32.42

Gantz
Gantz by Kazunari Ninomiya (DVD - 2011)
$17.28

Battle Royale: The Complete Collection
Battle Royale: The Complete Collection by Chiaki Kuriyama (DVD - 2012)
$20.64
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.