Customer Reviews


703 Reviews
5 star:
 (413)
4 star:
 (143)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (55)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GARAGE RE-REOPENS
The return of Metallica as I like to call it. Yea these boys aren't as hard and heavy as they used to be, but the material on both CD's is their best since 1991's S/T effort, a.k.a.The Black Album. The new songs, all non-originals, sound convincingly enough like Metallica wrote them. They play the songs as though they wrote them which seperates a weak and lame cover...
Published on February 26, 2000 by cd-heaven

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ouch.
this is NOT the metallica of "master" or "justice". i'm not saying they sold out, i'm just saying they're not p*ssed off any more, and without that, they've lost that rough edge that made them fun to listen to...
Published on April 14, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GARAGE RE-REOPENS, February 26, 2000
By 
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
The return of Metallica as I like to call it. Yea these boys aren't as hard and heavy as they used to be, but the material on both CD's is their best since 1991's S/T effort, a.k.a.The Black Album. The new songs, all non-originals, sound convincingly enough like Metallica wrote them. They play the songs as though they wrote them which seperates a weak and lame cover album to those who perform the songs as if they were the bands own. Out of the new comes a ripper versions of Bob Seger's Turn The Page, Lizzy's Whiskey In The Jar, Nick Lowe's Loverman, another Diamond Head tune It's Electric and BOC's Astronomy. The centerpiece has to be the Mercyful Fate medley, clocking in at over 10 mins., it takes balls to do King Diamond, and James and Crew pull it off fantasticly. The down side of disc 1 is Tuesday's Gone, in acoustic form is fine, but it pales in comparison to the studio tracks. On disc 2, the band's covers and B-sides from the start of their career all the way up to Lemmy's 50th birthday party bash are all here. The 9.98 Garage Days Ep is here in it's entirety, making it an essential purchase for those who don't already own it. Other gems are pretty much all the rest of the songs as well, So What, Breadfan, Stone Cold Crazy and Killing Time. But the centerpiece of the 2nd CD is the Motorhead covers. Live, raw, energetic, and with the Lemmymeister himself sound amazingly awesome. Well I've bored you enough, buy it if you haven't already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica's take on 27 covers, October 13, 2006
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
THE BAND: James Hetfield (lead vocals, guitar), Kirk Hammett (guitars), Jason Newsted (bass), Cliff Burton (bass on "Am I Evil" and "Blitzkrieg" only), Lars Ulrich (drums & percussion).

THE DISC: (1998) 27 total tracks clocking in at approximately 137 minutes (disc-1 approximately 66 minutes, disc-2 approximately 71 minutes). Included with the disc is a 28-page booklet containing song titles/credits, Metallica band pictures old & new, album covers and/or band photos of artists being covered, and 20-pages of written bio by David Fricke (Managing Editor, Rolling Stone Magazine). Disc-1 recorded Sept/Oct 1998 at The Plant Studios, Sausalito, CA. Disc-2 recorded at numerous locations from 1984-95. This is their 8th album. Label - Elektra.

COMMENTS: All cover tunes. Brilliant idea. Metallica pays homage to the bands they grew up with and admired. Many of the songs they cover here are hard to find - and you may not find them anywhere else but here. A few of my all-time favorite Metallica tracks are here... "Blitzkrieg", "Stone Cold Crazy", and "Killing Time". New classics from disc-1 include "Sabbra Cadabra" (Black Sabbath), "Astronomy" (Blue Oyster Cult), "Tuesday's Gone" (Lynyrd Skynyrd), and "It's Electric" (Diamond Head). Two great covers of "Turn The Page" (Bob Seger) and "Whiskey In The Jar" (Thin Lizzy) were also excellent, but sadly destroyed by being over played on the radio. Other artists being covered on "Garage Inc." include those listed above as well as Danzig, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Killing Joke, Motorhead (4 songs featured), Queen, Budgie (2 songs), Mercyful Fate (the track "Mercyful Fate" is a medley of their songs - "Satan's Fall", "Curse of the Pharaohs", "A Corpse Without Soul", "Into The Coven", "Evil"... at over 11 minutes, it's Metallica's longest song ever recorded), etc. "Garage Inc." enjoyed success on the charts - reached #2 on the Billboard Top 200 Album charts for 1998; singles "Turn the Page" (#1 on the Mainstream Rock charts), "Whiskey In The Jar" (#4 - also won a Grammy Award for best hard rock performance), and "Die, Die My Darling" (#26). This release - Great idea. Lots of music. Great songs (some more classic than others) played by one of the best metal bands of the '80's/90's. Something for old/new fans alike with plenty of thrash and mainstream heavy metal. Great sound production. Awesome set of discs (5 stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have to give my 2cents, January 10, 2000
By 
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
Many of these reviews are obviously biased to one of the two CD's as preferred. I'd like to say that I've been a huge Metallica fan since the beginning (and along with most of you, lost faith with Load/Reload...) and I think both discs rule in their own respects. I bought the CD set originally because I wanted a digital copy of the EP (my vinyl is showing the wear). All of these tracks are classic Metallica. The Prince is one of the most blistering hard-core Metallica tracks ever- check out the solo's. They don't make em like that anymore... It took me several months before I even tried disc one, which is now a favorite as much as disc two. Disc one really demonstrates Hetfields incredible vocal power and range that is not as apparent on some of the noisy stuff. While disc 2 is an incredible adrenalin rush a la early Metallica, disc 1 really sticks with you long after the listen if you give it a chance... (My faves: Whiskey, Astronomy, Die Die Die My Darling, and Loverman).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, December 2, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
For many years, Metallica's 1987 EP Garage Days Re-Revisited was the most sought-after item in their catalog; it was constantly bootlegged in the '90s, and often supplemented by a host of covers Metallica had released on singles and compilations throughout the years. By 1998, the band had understandably grown frustrated with this situation and decided to confront the problem head-on by reissuing all these rarities. Savvy businessmen that they are, they also realized they needed to give hardcore fans who already owned all the covers a reason to purchase the new set - hence, the expansion of the Garage Days EP to the double-disc blowout Garage Inc. The second disc's rarities are balanced by the first disc's new covers, the bulk of which were recorded following the Re-Load tour. It shouldn't come as a surprise that these covers recall the blooze'n'boogie heavy rock of the Loads, but what is a surprise is that Metallica seems to have found their footing in this style through other people's songs. Whether it's Bob Seger, Blue Öyster Cult, Thin Lizzy, Nick Cave, or the all-star jam on Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Tuesday's Gone," the band effortlessly makes the songs seem like their own, through a bizarre mix of respect and ballsy irreverence. Sure, it may not be nearly as raw as early Metallica, but it is a better listen than either of the Load records. And if raw is what you want, the equally diverse disc two provides all the thrills you could hope for. At one time, it might have seemed a little odd that Metallica would cover Budgie, Diamond Head, the Misfits, and Queen, but if Garage Inc. proves anything, it's that the group's musical instincts, risks, and sense of humor have made them the greatest metal band of the '80s and '90s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The band matures once more..., November 29, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
Unless you've been raised in a dark, bottomless pit, you've most likely encountered, in any various form, the rich, driving, passions of the band who were undoubtedly one of the pivotal instigators of not only thrash metal, but mainstream metal: Metallica. In their humble beginnings, the band raged, an endless barrage of furious riffs and soulful vocals. As they progressed, the band matured, ever more noticeably; by their second album, they were approaching profound issues, suicide, self-destruction, genocide, and as the years passed, they kept growing. ...And Justice For All's "One" hit us hard, and "Enter Sandman", claimed as the bands first assault into the Mainstream medium gave the band their first real taste of worldwide addulation. Gone were the complex riffage of "Master of Puppets", the symphonic intricacies of "To Live Is To Die"; the band had matured unexpectedly, and now favored the soul of the epic over the neckbreak speed of their founding fathers. Their 6th album, "Load", became their ultimate progression, and deviation. Tracks like "Mama Said" and "Ronnie", tributes to James Hetfield's lifelong love of Southern Rock, shocked us all. The band still rocked, as "Ain't My Bitch" and "The Thorn Within" showed, but for some the change was just too much. When the band released their 7th album, "ReLoad", we saw a mild return to the roots that birthed them. Tracks like "Fuel" and "Devil's Dance" were undoubted onslaughts of pure metal; and yet, other tracks, like "Low Man's Lyric", and even the heartfelt "Unforgiven II" were still considered offset. The band was growing up, and nobody quite knew why. They still knew how to rock, so why didn't they? Why were the magnificent stylings of "Battery" being discarded? Why couldn't the band just, well, rock? It's hard to say; it's all based on individual opinion, and some would argue that now, more than ever, the band has reached their ultimate capacity, and has never rocked harder. The new album, "Garage Inc.", is hailed in halves: Some leap in ecstatic joy, praising the return to the "Old Style" found on parts of the album. Others rejoice, finding the band has matured even more, as tracks like Seger's "Turn the Page" and Sabbath's "SabraCadabra" illustrate. They can still pound out the riffs, but they do it almost strategically now, however unconventionally. They explore new realms, and it's apparent that the band has never enjoyed themselves more. You can feel James Hetfield pouring his soul into his work; He's doing what he loves, and it's very self-evident. "Garage Inc." is sure to please both Metallica generations. Those who crave the old Metallica, who want to meet an endless barrage of metal in it's purest form, will find their desires fulfilled on this album. Those who need a matured perspective, a steady stream of soulful expression, will find their hopes were not in vain. The album is almost perfect, and will no doubt be one of the most momentous and provocative of Metallica's ventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great covers album by the masters, June 3, 2006
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
Metallica's Load and Reload were not very good compared to old Metallica sounds but although some of the covers here were recorded during that era, i love it. There are a lot of heavy punk and metal covers on this album that Metallica literally make it sounds like it was originally by them an they wrote the song! they practially own the songs here! and metallica cover things cannot be completed without covers of diamond head and misfits and motorhead as well. i like disc 2 the best because it's from the 80s metallica mostly and early 90s which was the metallica that i loved more than the new "polished" metallica without hair and extremeness in their concerts. but garage inc is still worthy of fitting into your heavy metal collection and metallica cd collecion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stroke Of Brilliance! Metallica's Best Release of the 90's, August 27, 2004
By 
Will Culp (Greenville, South Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
Garage Inc.(1998). Metallica's Eighth Album. A Collection of EP's, B-Sides, Rare songs, and Original Material.

In 1991, Metallica entered the mainstream with their #1 smash hit 'Metallica', which forever blessed and haunted them. Throughout the 90's, Metallica tried hard to live up to that album, but 'Load' and 'Reload' were often criticized and Metallica further angered their fans by sueing Napster. Although 'I Disappear' was the track that got Napster sued, another thing that caused them to do that was because of the massive downloading of the 'Garage Days Revisited' and 'Garage Days Re-Revisited' EP's, not to mention various singles. In an effort to stop the downloading, Metallica combined their EP's with rare songs, not to mention a full-disc worth of new material that comprised 'Garage Inc.'. In the album, Metallica is found covering the bands that influenced them the most, bands who played the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, Speed Metal, Southern Rock, and Punk. Unsurprisingly, 'Garage Inc' debuted in the Billboard Top 5, and easily sold over a million copies within its first 6 months, even receiving two Grammy's and spawning the massive hits "Whiskey In The Jar" and "Turn The Page". In an effort to gain more fans and get their fans to like some of their favorite bands, did Metallica succeed in this effort or just flat out embarass themselves like on 'St. Anger'? Read on to find out!

Track Ratings-

On 'Garage Inc', Metallica covered numerous bands, which include heavy metal pioneers Black Sabbath, Diamond Head, Mercyful Fate, Discharge, Motorhead, Queen, and Budgie. They also covered the punk band The Misfits, not to mention 70's Hard Rock bands Lynyrd Skynyrd and Blue Oyster Cult. Although songwriting is what destroyed 'Load' and 'Reload', is doesn't matter on 'Garage Inc.', because the songs are already written for Metallica! As for the first disc, which is typically criticized, I have no complaints, at ALL! "Free Speech For The Dumb" basically finds Hammett soloing his heart out, and you can't go wrong there! "It's Electric" is a fun, rip-roaring heavy metal headbanger, while Black Sabbath's "Sabbra Cadabra" finds Metallica taking a sadistic song and bringing it to new levels of heaviness. "Turn The Page" and "Tuesday's Gone" are two of the most emotional tracks in Metallica's catalogue, and also some of Metallica's best. Truly, "One" is the only song that beats these songs for emotion and heart. "Loverman" and "Mercyful Fate" are progressive Heavy Metal songs featuring crazy build-ups, odd time signatures, and headbanging guitarwork! Although the first disc is excellent, the second disc is truly a masterpiece, as any 80's Metallica fan will tell you, they could never beat that era. Really, there are no words to describe this album, other than if you love Thrash, Neo-Classical Metal, wicked solos, and intense Heavy Metal like you've come to expect from Metallica, you're going to love this album. Seriously, every track on this album, from "Helpless" to "Crash Course in Brain Surgery", is just flat-out heavy metal bliss, with highlights like "The Small Hours"(one of the best Metallica songs, period), "Am I Evil?"(ditto), and the intense anger and hilariousness of "So What!" blaring out your speakers it's doubtful you won't be dead after breaking your neck from so much headbanging!

Overall, 'Garage Inc.' is my favorite Metallica album of the 90's, even besting The Black Album, solely because of the shear wealth of material here. Although some criticize the first disc(nobody, unless you're a mute, criticizes the second album), I found it to be basically in the same vein of The Black Album's Heavy Metal/Thrash, but I was more impressed with it because of the emotion and thought that went into covering their favorite bands. Although Hammett has been a disappointment on 'Load', 'Reload, and 'St. Anger', he sure gives quite a performance here, and this work is undoubtedly some of his strongest. Although people may say Metallica just released this for "money", this is one of the *few* things I agree with that Lars has done: put all their rare material and a wealth of new material on one convenient release. If you like Metallica or Heavy Metal, this album is a must. It is also one of my favorite Metallica albums, period. Although I wouldn't rate either album individually better than their 80's material, with both albums combined, well, you have quite a case there. "The Small Hours" and "Am I Evil?" are worth the price alone if you ask me!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! METALLICA'S BEST ALBUM OF THE 90'S IS ALSO ONE OF THEIR BEST ALBUMS! LIKE 80'S-90'S METALLICA? YOU *HAVE* TO GET THIS!

Killer Kuts- Disc 1- "It's Electric", "Turn The Page", "Mercyful Fate", "Whiskey In The Jar", and "Tuesday's Gone". Disc 2- "The Small Hours"(truly brilliant, the intro is SCARY!), "Am I Evil?", and damned near everything.

Also Recommended-

Ride The Lightning- Metallica

Metallica- Metallica

Feedback(EP)- Rush

Thanks For Reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent album for longtime music fans, September 17, 2002
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
To those of us who enjoy Metallica's deep musicianship, insightful lyrical journeys and embrace the musical directions the band has explored recently, this album is a great look at a different side of the band. On the other hand, to the more closed minded of you who think that "modern" Metallica is nothing but a sellout mainstream band (despite being very rarely mentioned on MTV or VH1) and that their new music is no good... you will still enjoy this album.
Garage Inc. is a collection of cover songs. No original Metallica songs here. This album is basically a tribute album to their multitude of influences, from the Danish band Mercyful Fate, to Black Sabbath, to Motorhead, to Bob Seger and the Blue Oyster Cult. That said, the familiar songs will have your head banging all over again, and the more obscure songs will have you going to the used cd store looking for the original recordings.
The first disc are the new recordings. I won't go into too much detail here, others have already done so before me, but I will say that on most of these songs Metallica not only accurately captures the feel of the songs, but surpass the original recordings from the original bands in every way. Most notably here are Astronomy (originally recorded by the Blue Oyster Cult-one of my favorite songs by them. Hearing Metallica do the song makes the original Astronomy sound stupid in comparison) and Seger's Turn The Page, a radio-friendly classic rock song with much vocal depth and great musical craftsmanship. Also, we Skynyrd fans are treated to a live studio recording of "Tuesday's Gone" with many special guests, including Jerry Cantrell.
Disc two is a trip to the past for Metallica fans. Those of us longtime fans who already have Garage Days Revisited (and the hard-to-find "re-revisited" EP) will find both recordings intact on this disc. The quality of songs on here is second to none. All their Diamond Head covers are intact, and the Motorhead covers are simply amazing. And the incredibly funny and obscene "Last Caress" and "Who Cares" songs are a shocker to those who haven't seen a live metallica (83-92) show.
I recommend this disc to any Metallica fan who hasn't picked it up yet, and to those people who are becoming interested in Metallica. This diverse cd shows both sides of the band, even though the songs aren't their own original songs. A definite must-have for Metallica fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ouch., April 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
this is NOT the metallica of "master" or "justice". i'm not saying they sold out, i'm just saying they're not p*ssed off any more, and without that, they've lost that rough edge that made them fun to listen to...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, how Metallica used to rock! Ahh, the agony and the ecstacy!, August 28, 2006
By 
Mark Baum (Freeport, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Garage Inc (Audio CD)
If there's anything out of 90s Metallica that can be salvaged it's this. Too bad it's not new Metallica at all but just some more covers.

First off, the first disc comprises a return back to the garage for much-needed inspiration. It's good but my goodness! On "Tuesday's Gone" they've turned full Alternica! It's the worst cover on the disc, being not just overlong but sums up in about ten minutes what's wrong with BOTH Load/Re-Load. It's so bad that it just sunk the first disc.

It's not all bad, though. It does stay with you as for the remainder of the disc you ponder, "Where was *THIS*?" I really felt cheated in knowing that it was all right there and not elsewhere. Maybe Metallica is better as a cover band after all.

Ah, but the second disc! Oh, now we're talkin'! *THIS* is ALL of the classic riffing, drumming and much much more back from the days when Metallica didn't suck. Just the first five tracks on this disc which comprise the reissue of 1987's "Garage Days Re-Revisited" brings back the memories like a flood. And it just keeps getting better after that.

From the two tracks formerly available on "Kill 'em All" to the covers recorded during the Justice/Black sessions right on down to FOUR (!) Motorhead covers, doing Lemmy proud in 1995!

1995? Y'mean there was a time between Black/Load where Metallica didn't suck too? Now I'm REALLY beginning to feel cheated now!

Overall, if you kick "Tuesday's Gone" to the curb and can get over the feeling of being cheated this is a damn fine set. It's not original but damn, *THIS* is the Metallica oldskool fans know and love. Nicely mixed, somewhat produced and containing a big *FAT* inlay booklet (it's really thick at about 30 pages, filled with tons of text, photos and track info), it's that rare treat from the 90s.

Now, if only Metallica could only make that inspiration stick to some new material...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Garage Inc
Garage Inc by Metallica (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.