Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Garage Inc
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$20.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 26, 2000
The return of Metallica as I like to call it. Yea these boys aren't as hard and heavy as they used to be, but the material on both CD's is their best since 1991's S/T effort, a.k.a.The Black Album. The new songs, all non-originals, sound convincingly enough like Metallica wrote them. They play the songs as though they wrote them which seperates a weak and lame cover album to those who perform the songs as if they were the bands own. Out of the new comes a ripper versions of Bob Seger's Turn The Page, Lizzy's Whiskey In The Jar, Nick Lowe's Loverman, another Diamond Head tune It's Electric and BOC's Astronomy. The centerpiece has to be the Mercyful Fate medley, clocking in at over 10 mins., it takes balls to do King Diamond, and James and Crew pull it off fantasticly. The down side of disc 1 is Tuesday's Gone, in acoustic form is fine, but it pales in comparison to the studio tracks. On disc 2, the band's covers and B-sides from the start of their career all the way up to Lemmy's 50th birthday party bash are all here. The 9.98 Garage Days Ep is here in it's entirety, making it an essential purchase for those who don't already own it. Other gems are pretty much all the rest of the songs as well, So What, Breadfan, Stone Cold Crazy and Killing Time. But the centerpiece of the 2nd CD is the Motorhead covers. Live, raw, energetic, and with the Lemmymeister himself sound amazingly awesome. Well I've bored you enough, buy it if you haven't already.
44 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2006
THE BAND: James Hetfield (lead vocals, guitar), Kirk Hammett (guitars), Jason Newsted (bass), Cliff Burton (bass on "Am I Evil" and "Blitzkrieg" only), Lars Ulrich (drums & percussion).

THE DISC: (1998) 27 total tracks clocking in at approximately 137 minutes (disc-1 approximately 66 minutes, disc-2 approximately 71 minutes). Included with the disc is a 28-page booklet containing song titles/credits, Metallica band pictures old & new, album covers and/or band photos of artists being covered, and 20-pages of written bio by David Fricke (Managing Editor, Rolling Stone Magazine). Disc-1 recorded Sept/Oct 1998 at The Plant Studios, Sausalito, CA. Disc-2 recorded at numerous locations from 1984-95. This is their 8th album. Label - Elektra.

COMMENTS: All cover tunes. Brilliant idea. Metallica pays homage to the bands they grew up with and admired. Many of the songs they cover here are hard to find - and you may not find them anywhere else but here. A few of my all-time favorite Metallica tracks are here... "Blitzkrieg", "Stone Cold Crazy", and "Killing Time". New classics from disc-1 include "Sabbra Cadabra" (Black Sabbath), "Astronomy" (Blue Oyster Cult), "Tuesday's Gone" (Lynyrd Skynyrd), and "It's Electric" (Diamond Head). Two great covers of "Turn The Page" (Bob Seger) and "Whiskey In The Jar" (Thin Lizzy) were also excellent, but sadly destroyed by being over played on the radio. Other artists being covered on "Garage Inc." include those listed above as well as Danzig, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Killing Joke, Motorhead (4 songs featured), Queen, Budgie (2 songs), Mercyful Fate (the track "Mercyful Fate" is a medley of their songs - "Satan's Fall", "Curse of the Pharaohs", "A Corpse Without Soul", "Into The Coven", "Evil"... at over 11 minutes, it's Metallica's longest song ever recorded), etc. "Garage Inc." enjoyed success on the charts - reached #2 on the Billboard Top 200 Album charts for 1998; singles "Turn the Page" (#1 on the Mainstream Rock charts), "Whiskey In The Jar" (#4 - also won a Grammy Award for best hard rock performance), and "Die, Die My Darling" (#26). This release - Great idea. Lots of music. Great songs (some more classic than others) played by one of the best metal bands of the '80's/90's. Something for old/new fans alike with plenty of thrash and mainstream heavy metal. Great sound production. Awesome set of discs (5 stars).
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2000
Many of these reviews are obviously biased to one of the two CD's as preferred. I'd like to say that I've been a huge Metallica fan since the beginning (and along with most of you, lost faith with Load/Reload...) and I think both discs rule in their own respects. I bought the CD set originally because I wanted a digital copy of the EP (my vinyl is showing the wear). All of these tracks are classic Metallica. The Prince is one of the most blistering hard-core Metallica tracks ever- check out the solo's. They don't make em like that anymore... It took me several months before I even tried disc one, which is now a favorite as much as disc two. Disc one really demonstrates Hetfields incredible vocal power and range that is not as apparent on some of the noisy stuff. While disc 2 is an incredible adrenalin rush a la early Metallica, disc 1 really sticks with you long after the listen if you give it a chance... (My faves: Whiskey, Astronomy, Die Die Die My Darling, and Loverman).
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2001
For many years, Metallica's 1987 EP Garage Days Re-Revisited was the most sought-after item in their catalog; it was constantly bootlegged in the '90s, and often supplemented by a host of covers Metallica had released on singles and compilations throughout the years. By 1998, the band had understandably grown frustrated with this situation and decided to confront the problem head-on by reissuing all these rarities. Savvy businessmen that they are, they also realized they needed to give hardcore fans who already owned all the covers a reason to purchase the new set - hence, the expansion of the Garage Days EP to the double-disc blowout Garage Inc. The second disc's rarities are balanced by the first disc's new covers, the bulk of which were recorded following the Re-Load tour. It shouldn't come as a surprise that these covers recall the blooze'n'boogie heavy rock of the Loads, but what is a surprise is that Metallica seems to have found their footing in this style through other people's songs. Whether it's Bob Seger, Blue Öyster Cult, Thin Lizzy, Nick Cave, or the all-star jam on Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Tuesday's Gone," the band effortlessly makes the songs seem like their own, through a bizarre mix of respect and ballsy irreverence. Sure, it may not be nearly as raw as early Metallica, but it is a better listen than either of the Load records. And if raw is what you want, the equally diverse disc two provides all the thrills you could hope for. At one time, it might have seemed a little odd that Metallica would cover Budgie, Diamond Head, the Misfits, and Queen, but if Garage Inc. proves anything, it's that the group's musical instincts, risks, and sense of humor have made them the greatest metal band of the '80s and '90s.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2012
A great package here. Two discs that cover many of the influences of one of greatest groups ever. The playing and singing is excellent. Some of their best. Strong and inspiring.

The booklet that comes with this package with notes by David Fricke, goes a long way in explaining the history of this group. Love it. This is one big salute to other artists that have meant so much to Metallica and they show their appreciation and respect by playing and singing their best. These guys are artists, not just headbangers. Unlike many other metal groups, they are versatile and can explore other territory. That's something that many of their fans and critics can't or won't accept. Just take a look at the reviews of the Black Album, St. Anger or Lulu. Some of this album outshines the originals. They do a terrific version of Nick Cave's "Loverman" and Thin Lizzy's "Whiskey in a Jar", Blue Oyster Cult's "Astronomy". All great renditions and more....

Everybody grows up and matures......if not, they're dead or might as well be. This band has definitely grown and matured. These guys are glad to be alive and thankful for the success and opportunity to express their art. They are respectful to all the artists and musicians that have come before. They are proud and they have a right to be. They have produced some of the best hard/heavy/rock/art... ever......by anybody.

If you like and respect Metallica, you probably will like this one....
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2014
Many bands try to do albums such as this and they generally do not fare too well. This is one of those exceptions, where Metallica pull off every song brilliantly. It is great to hear them play music by artistes that they admire or are inspired by. I actually have this on vinyl that I bought years ago and I got the CD to give it a rest. You cannot go wrong with this CD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2006
Metallica's Load and Reload were not very good compared to old Metallica sounds but although some of the covers here were recorded during that era, i love it. There are a lot of heavy punk and metal covers on this album that Metallica literally make it sounds like it was originally by them an they wrote the song! they practially own the songs here! and metallica cover things cannot be completed without covers of diamond head and misfits and motorhead as well. i like disc 2 the best because it's from the 80s metallica mostly and early 90s which was the metallica that i loved more than the new "polished" metallica without hair and extremeness in their concerts. but garage inc is still worthy of fitting into your heavy metal collection and metallica cd collecion!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 1998
Unless you've been raised in a dark, bottomless pit, you've most likely encountered, in any various form, the rich, driving, passions of the band who were undoubtedly one of the pivotal instigators of not only thrash metal, but mainstream metal: Metallica. In their humble beginnings, the band raged, an endless barrage of furious riffs and soulful vocals. As they progressed, the band matured, ever more noticeably; by their second album, they were approaching profound issues, suicide, self-destruction, genocide, and as the years passed, they kept growing. ...And Justice For All's "One" hit us hard, and "Enter Sandman", claimed as the bands first assault into the Mainstream medium gave the band their first real taste of worldwide addulation. Gone were the complex riffage of "Master of Puppets", the symphonic intricacies of "To Live Is To Die"; the band had matured unexpectedly, and now favored the soul of the epic over the neckbreak speed of their founding fathers. Their 6th album, "Load", became their ultimate progression, and deviation. Tracks like "Mama Said" and "Ronnie", tributes to James Hetfield's lifelong love of Southern Rock, shocked us all. The band still rocked, as "Ain't My Bitch" and "The Thorn Within" showed, but for some the change was just too much. When the band released their 7th album, "ReLoad", we saw a mild return to the roots that birthed them. Tracks like "Fuel" and "Devil's Dance" were undoubted onslaughts of pure metal; and yet, other tracks, like "Low Man's Lyric", and even the heartfelt "Unforgiven II" were still considered offset. The band was growing up, and nobody quite knew why. They still knew how to rock, so why didn't they? Why were the magnificent stylings of "Battery" being discarded? Why couldn't the band just, well, rock? It's hard to say; it's all based on individual opinion, and some would argue that now, more than ever, the band has reached their ultimate capacity, and has never rocked harder. The new album, "Garage Inc.", is hailed in halves: Some leap in ecstatic joy, praising the return to the "Old Style" found on parts of the album. Others rejoice, finding the band has matured even more, as tracks like Seger's "Turn the Page" and Sabbath's "SabraCadabra" illustrate. They can still pound out the riffs, but they do it almost strategically now, however unconventionally. They explore new realms, and it's apparent that the band has never enjoyed themselves more. You can feel James Hetfield pouring his soul into his work; He's doing what he loves, and it's very self-evident. "Garage Inc." is sure to please both Metallica generations. Those who crave the old Metallica, who want to meet an endless barrage of metal in it's purest form, will find their desires fulfilled on this album. Those who need a matured perspective, a steady stream of soulful expression, will find their hopes were not in vain. The album is almost perfect, and will no doubt be one of the most momentous and provocative of Metallica's ventures.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2013
I love this CD. I had the same one, but I borrowed it to my son. He loved it too, and I could never get it back from him. I checked on Amazon then, and I found it at a great price. I got such a good deal that I let him keep my 1st one and I got another one for myself. Amazon is always there for what I need.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
I've slowly been adding to my Metallica collection and finally got around to this one. Really like the "Turn the Page" cover and was pleasantly surprised by the "Tuesday's Gone" cover. Well worth the money to the Metallica fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.