Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Classics and Essentials in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now HTL
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.75
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Garden of Earthly Delights

2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, October 24, 1995
"Please retry"
$42.00 $14.12

$25,000 Prime Sweepstakes: This Week Only
Listen to Prime Music for a chance to win $25,000 in Gift Cards. Play any song, station, or playlist to be automatically entered. No purchase necessary. See Official Rules for details and alternate method of entry. Ends December 5, 2015.

Editorial Reviews

La Nef

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Ipse dixit
  2. Rose, liz, rondeau for 4 voices
  3. El Rey que tanto madruga
  4. La Comida la mañana
  5. Lunga nahawend
  6. Pesrev (Yunus Emre - Ilahileri), chant
  7. En Këlohënu
  8. Cave Dominus videt
  9. Todo bueno tengo
  10. Pesrev (Yunus Emre - Ilahileri), chant
  11. Mignonne allons voir si la rose
  12. Aurora
  13. Deo confitemini
  14. Aiede, aiede Kimisou, kori mour
  15. Quando el rey Nimrod
  16. Kurdilicaz longa
  17. Comment qu'a moy lonteinne, virelai for voice
  18. Cave Dominus videt
  19. Es la pasion de Jesus/Lamentos de la animas

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 24, 1995)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Alliance
  • ASIN: B000001O9K
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #255,301 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By kaioatey on November 25, 2003
Format: Audio CD
This album offers an eclectic display of medieval music. We get pieces from the Cathar, French, Spanish, Andalusian &Sephardic traditions - yet the tunes blend easily - just like the bizarre beings in the famous triptych by H. Bosch melt into a fascinating whole. The Bosch painting is intensely personal, as each viewer picks out the details, patterns and configurations that speak to her.... and the same is true with this collection of 14th & 15th century music presented by La Nef, the sextet founded in 1991 by Sylvain Bergeron. the pieces are all played with medieval instruments (including lute, oud, the vielle, psaltery and santur); La Nef adapted a few pieces to address modern sensibilities, yet the adaptations ring true to me; perhaps this is what the Cathars really wanted?! I have listened to this CD many times and will listen to it again. And again. Recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Kimberly on February 10, 2007
Format: Audio CD
I have 4 of their albums, including "The Garden of Earthly Delights". I found this album to be more "mystically enchanting" than their other works. Typically, the album is presented as a themed play sung or played in about 17 acted scenes or "tracks". THE GARDEN* however, is more instrumental than say "Music for Joan the Mad", and, definately more mystical than "Le Monsignor".

I HIGHLY recommend you collect ALL OF LA NEF'S WORKS. This album is unique and isn't comparative to any of La Nef's other work. It stands out soley from all the rest and your collection wouldn't be complete without it. Although I prefer "Joan the Mad" and "The Quest for the Holy Grail" over this album (soley because I love the storylines), I'm very satisfied with my collection and happy I bought it.

My testimony of this troupe is -- BUY EVERYTHING THEY PRODUCE...THEY'RE THAT GOOD! Each album is a book. Each scene or "track" is creative, entertaining and thoroughly nourishing to the soul. If you haven't gone Mideval....JUST LISTEN TO THIS.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: turkish rose delight