Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice basic fishfinder
Purchased this fishfinder on Amazon with $30 off when opened Amazon credit card. Installation was pretty easy, everything I needed was in a box. Took the boat out the next day on Wye River in MD, worked pretty well for me: showed water temperature at 80 degrees, finally warm! the depth gauge was pretty accurate too. I measured the depth with a pole and compared with...
Published on July 1, 2006 by Z. Simkins

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Installation Issue
It is not stated in the description of the Garmin 90 but you have to drill a 1-1/8" hole in the top of the console in order to pass the transducer cable through to the unit. The large size of the connector also made it impossible for me to pull it through the under floor access tube from the transom to the center console. Take a look at the Humminbird PiranhaMax 160 as it...
Published on July 10, 2011 by Gary W. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice basic fishfinder, July 1, 2006
This review is from: Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer (Electronics)
Purchased this fishfinder on Amazon with $30 off when opened Amazon credit card. Installation was pretty easy, everything I needed was in a box. Took the boat out the next day on Wye River in MD, worked pretty well for me: showed water temperature at 80 degrees, finally warm! the depth gauge was pretty accurate too. I measured the depth with a pole and compared with Garmin and the accuracy was within 0.5 inches! I bought this unit because I had a budget under $100, but was looking for one that warns when the water is shallow and it also has a dual beam (you can set a narrow beam for more depth and accuracy or wider beam for greater coverage). The screen is big and clear, even in the sun thanks to a special anti-reflective coating, pretty easy to navigate through the menu, no need to load anything as this is NOT a marine GPS unit. Fish finding feature was neat (was assuring to see big and little fish on the screen). I think the manual stated the images on the screen had up to 5 seconds delay. Still not bad if you do not go too fast. I was crabbing that day, so cannot really tell if it helps you catch fish, but the images were definately clear on the screen. I did not get a portable hardware, but unless you switch between boats you do not really need it. I simply take the unit off the holder when park the boat, so it does not get wet/hot/stollen. The holder has a swiwel feature, so you can adjust it to whatever angle you like and then secure in that position. It also beeps when there is a school of fish nearby. I saw circles in the water and fish jumping, then Garmin started beeping, so it definately knows where the fish is. In overall, I think if you need a basic unit that warns you of water depth (you can set it to beep when it is less than X feet), shows where the fish is (including the depth where the fish is), and water temperature you will be happy with Garmin 90. It might not have a touch screen or complex menu options, but it definately does the trick for a lot less $. But if you also need a GPS feature, look into more expensive ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great deal !!, August 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer (Electronics)
Looking for something that works good but won't break the bank, I was wanting a fish finder that showed depth , fish and water temp. This Garmin 90 does all of that and more. Has many more features and for the price I could not be happier. If you are looking for something inexpensive to get you on the lake and find fish this will work great for you. A little disappointed that it takes Amazon so long to ship " in stock items ". Use to get in 2-3 days now it takes over a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for a small fishing boat, May 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer (Electronics)
It has everything you want out of the box. Reads the proper depth and temperature with no fuss. It was easy to install on my 15 1/2 foot aluminum boat; didn't need anything extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer, December 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer (Electronics)
Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer. This is a nice affordable fish finder for use on a small boat and or Kayak/canoe use. Swivil mount and compact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for Garmin 80, August 9, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer (Electronics)
I had a Garmin 80 which worked well for 7 years on our pontoon boat. When the Garmin 80 failed this year, I ordered the Garmin 90 from Amazon. I was able to just switch the display units since the cables and transducer were the same. I did not have to rewire anything. The new unit works well although it does lose the depth sometimes as the old one did. I think depth finders do not work as well on pontoon boats. Overall it is a fine depth finder at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for Garmin Fishfinder 85, July 12, 2007
By 
Bill B (Jackson, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer (Electronics)
Had to replace a Garmin Fishfinder 85 that failed after one year and only 3 months of service on the water. The Garmin 90 plugged into the boat's existing Fishfinder 85 sensors and worked immediately. Does an adequate job. I don't see a lot of differences from the Garmin 85.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy for the price, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer (Electronics)
Works good. Have had no problems. I have had it for a couple years and still works just fine. Easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, September 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i love this small fishfinder,it shows a lot more than i really expected and is clear,i can tell just what the bottom looks like and what is swimming by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Depth Finder, September 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer (Electronics)
The depth finder does everything its advertised to perform, operation is pretty straightforward. Only negative its really difficult to see with sunlight on the screen. Definetly would puchase this item again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, November 10, 2011
By 
Katie Orost (Johnson, VT USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Fishfinder 90 with Dual-Beam Transducer (Electronics)
This is a great product, works really well and is at an awesome price! I love that it shows the water temperature too, as that is not shown on every fish finder. Great product at a great price, we highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.