Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

98 of 108 people found the following review helpful
on October 28, 2011
Edition: Bluetooth, Lifetime Maps & Traffic
Just bought this unit today from a local store, and was VERY happy that it was ready to go straight out of the box. No activation, no crazy setup screens, and the unit had a GPS fix almost instantly after powering on. Why doesn't it get 5 stars, you ask? Read on...

Pros:
Gorgeous design
GPS position fix is locked on faster than you can program a destination in the unit
Huge 5" Touchscreen that was ultra responsive
Traffic/Power Cord is not ginormous or ugly
Voice Control works PERFECTLY (Even on the highway at 80MPH with music at a nice listening volume!!)
The photo-real exit display is amazing (No more confusion on what to look for!)
It's Garmin.... they have this stuff down to near perfection
LIFETIME maps and traffic updates

Cons:
The Bluetooth phone pairing was SO quiet during phone calls, it's not even worth using, even in the parking lot with the engine off... (Emailed Garmin support)
Might be too big of a unit for small cars/small windshields
Setting up Voice Control took a little bit of hunting, barely can consider this a con
Ads occasionally pop up as part of the traffic service (Should NOT be part of a $250 GPS unit)

Conclusion:
If Garmin can fix the phone call volume problem, it's a 5 star unit all day long. Many other users are experiencing the same problem with various phones... my case was with an iPhone. I'll repost if Garmin presents a solution. Now granted, you don't HAVE to use the hands-free calling, but that means you've paid $40 extra just for voice control... Garmin needs to fix the total package. If you are patient, or don't care about hands-free calling through the unit, buy this thing immediately. I'm a long time TomTom user for cars, and Garmin user for aviation, and I'll never go back to TomTom.... this thing does it all!!!

Garmin nüvi 2595LMT 5-Inch Portable GPS Navigator
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
167 of 189 people found the following review helpful
on August 17, 2012
Edition: Bluetooth, Lifetime Maps & Traffic
What amazes me about this device and the reviews of it is that the good reviews say very little about the poor functionality of the Traffic reports. On my older Garmin NUVI 680 I can see traffic delays and get re-routed automatically and without having to page through screens as I drive. If you live in an area with lots of traffic and you want that feature this unit is almost useless because you have to keep using your HANDS (yes, no voice command for traffic) to switch to the screen that shows traffic. Why Garmin would degrade the utility of this feature is beyond me. So far this year I've tried every other 5" Garmin (voice or nonvoice activated) and returned it either because the screen is not anywhere near as readable in bright daylight as my Nuvi 680 or because of the poor traffic report (or both). I recommend waiting for a better design; a unit with a 5" screen and at least the good quality functions of the 680, or try another brand. Magellan's 5" screen unit was a disappointing alternative once I listened to its garbled text-to-speech pronunciations. Check the reviews, you will find that mentioned.

Add to the above the insult of having the unit only a few days and it "locked up" and I was unable to turn it off. I could not find a "reset" button like the old units had so it had to await battery run down before I could restart it. I returned it of course.

It appears that in the recent attempt to make these automotive GPS units into multifunctional devices that store photos, play MP3 music and, by the way, do GPS, the GPS functions have badly suffered. I hope they will return to the GPS functions with traffic and good quality guidance the priority. Otherwise I might as well use my smart phone!

Are you listening GARMIN????
2727 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on July 15, 2012
Edition: Bluetooth, Lifetime Maps & Traffic
Since there are already so many thoughtful reviews of the 2595LMT, I am not going to provide a complete review of every feature. Instead, I just wanted to provide my impressions as a prior Nuvi owner and point out several issues that I have not seen discussed elsewhere. If you are looking for a full review, surf over to "GPS Tracklog"...or check out some of the great reviews here on Amazon.

Before I dive in, I would like to clear up a bit of confusion. Amazon has a single set of reviews for the 2555LT, 2555LMT, and 2595LMT, which is why you may see reviews here for models other than the specific 5 inch screen "Advanced" series model that you are considering. The differences are as follows:

2555LT - Base model with functionality common to all three devices
2555LMT - Adds lifetime maps to 2555LT
2595LMT - Adds lifetime maps, voice command, and Bluetooth to 2555LT...as well as the ability to connect an Android phone using "Garmin Smartphone Link" for additional fee-based services.

.

Initial Impressions of the 2595LMT

Wow.

While I was initially disappointed with some aspects of the device, I really have learned to love it with time...and the primary reason is the Voice Command function. I placed very little value on this feature while I was trying to decide between the three 5 inch screen models in this "Advanced" series since I had limited expectations for how well it would work. I was wrong. It is amazing. The device is always listening for your "command phrase" to enable this mode...and after it hears that phrase, it stands ready to perform a range of Voice Command functions. These commands work so well that I no longer type addresses...ever. Sure, it has issues at times, but you really need to try it to see how amazing it really is. Fantastic job Garmin. I will never buy another portable GPS device without this feature. BTW, props to Garmin for including the option to disable the unit's help prompts when you are in Voice Command mode. They were VERY annoying.

I also love the new sleep feature, which allows the device to wake immediately when I start my vehicle. I no longer need to wait as the device boots up...another fantastic improvement over my older Nuvi. Supposedly, the device can sleep for weeks.

I also like the fact that I now have the ability to select between multiple routes for my destination, although they really could do much better here (more on that below)...and also need to provide this option when you use Voice Command to initiate navigation.

The "Junction View" is quite neat and often helpful, but the "Lane Assist" arrows are ALWAYS helpful. Another great innovation since my last Nuvi.

Separate volume controls for phone, navigation, and media are also nice, as is a separate master volume. That said, even with them all maxed out, the volume level for a Bluetooth-connected phone is FAR too low, which is surprising, because the same speaker can deliver navigation commands at very high levels.

Another nice improvement since my last Nuvi - the device now no longer sits stuck on the main menu screen after I start my vehicle. That screen is displayed initially, but switches to the map view after I drive down the road a bit. It's a small thing, but being stuck on that screen until I punched the "View Map" button was annoying on my prior Nuvi. Of course on this Nuvi, I can also just say "Garmin..." (my command phrase)..."View Map"...and that works too. ;)

So what's not to like? Well, I do have some nits:

.

Issue 1 - Screen

Yes, it's large. That's great, but let's not get too carried away.

The screen resolution is quite coarse at 480 x 272 pixels. That spec is not often mentioned in reviews...and to be frank, it's poor. I do not expect a "retina" display at this price point, but a 5" screen with 480 x 272 resolution in 2012 should embarrass Garmin. My 3 year-old smartphone has a 3.1" screen with a higher resolution than my new Nuvi. The result is fairly jagged map tracking (including annoyingly bouncing letters overlaid on street names) as I drive.

Garmin's mid-tier "Advanced" series features screens with the same resolution as its entry-level "Essential" series. In fact, you get 480 x 272 pixels whether you choose a model with a 4.3" or 5" screen in either series. Yes, buy a Nuvi 2595 and you'll get the same screen resolution as the Nuvi 40. The 3xxx "Prestige" series bumps that resolution up to 800 x 480 pixels. In my opinion, there should be a middle ground.

Screen responsiveness is also horrible given that the device includes a "resistive" screen. One can scroll through menus simply by swiping the screen, but the pressure required and lag between action and movement makes that feature almost worthless to me. Instead I use the arrow buttons. Again, it seems that Garmin's definition of "Advanced" is somewhat suspect given that the quality of the screen components in this series appears to be nearly identical to those included in the "Essential" series. You have to jump up to the "Prestige" series to get a touchscreen that functions with the responsiveness of the least expensive smartphone currently on the market.

.

Issue 2 - POIs

I updated my Nuvi before taking it out for a spin. Unfortunately, even with the latest data, there are issues.

On our first trip out, we asked the unit to locate a major chain store that has been in its current location for 15 years. No dice. It suggested other stores in the chain, the closest being 50 miles away...and there are at least a dozen closer. We ran into this issue several times on our first day. Yes, this is a data issue and not a device issue, but it really dilutes the value of "lifetime maps" in my opinion.

.

Issue 3 - Routes

Finally, a Nuvi that offers routes! My last Nuvi only offered one route based on the current road-type preference. Thus far, however, the proposed routes have been limited and often excluded the most obvious choice...including ignoring the major highway in our town even though I have the device routing configured for "fastest" and "tolls are fine". Reviewing presented routes is also limited to a visual depiction of the overall route. Again, Garmin continues to fail to provide a routing option that is on par with the integrated GPS in my wife's 6 year-old vehicle. Furthermore, the route selection option is not available when you are using Voice Command. Since Voice Command is so fantastic, it is now the only way that I enter a destination...so I now no longer have access to route selection.

.

Issue 4 - Steps backward in some areas of the software

The new software has SO MANY great features...yet it also has taken inexplicable steps backward in other areas. Examples:

There are now separate volume controls for navigation, phone, and media. That's great...but on the other hand, one can no longer turn off the "action beep" that sounds each time that you push a button. Well, you can turn it off, by muting navigation or by muting the entire device...which is not really an attractive option. This is only just one of many configuration options that seem to have disappeared.

For searching, my old Nuvi assumed the U.S. state (allowing me to override) and then prompted me for town/city before asking me for a street address. That order was great since the auto-suggested street names were limited to that town/city. Thus, I would just enter a partial street name and the device would display a small list of matching streets almost immediately. No longer. You now must enter the street address first and the device assumes that the street is nearby and starts searching immediately...searching locally before expanding its (lengthy) search. I now find that if I enter an address manually (rather than using Voice Command), I need to interrupt its long-running search to specify the town/city/state regardless.

While Voice Command is great, a number of supported commands from prior Nuvi models have been dropped...for no apparent reason...and many others should be considered. Why can't I access the traffic or exit services screens without pushing buttons? How about a quick voice command to switch between navigation modes (i.e., fastest, shortest, eco). Voice Command recognition is so fantastic that they really should expand the set of commands.

.

Issue 5 - Bluetooth volume

I complained about this issue in the introduction and it's bad enough to complain about again. C'mon Garmin...fix this in a software update...ASAP.

.

Issue 6 - Powered Mount

Or, more accurately, lack thereof. I will never understand why Garmin abandoned this incredibly useful feature on all but its most expensive devices. Yes, it adds expense, but it was also a highly-valued feature that distinguished their units from devices offered by many of their competitors.

I don't need a speaker. How about just having a powered mount for the mid-tier "Advanced" series and including the speaker on the "Premier" series? Heck, how about just including charging contacts so I could optionally purchase such a mount? Instead, I am stuck unplugging and plugging the device in constantly...or leaving it on my windshield and taking a chance that my car seat will be covered in glass when I return. I have had that unfortunate experience in the past, so I am fairly diligent about removing my GPS from my unattended vehicle now...and the lack of a powered mount really makes that a pain when you have multiple stops during your driving day.

.

The noted issues may seem like nits, but I think that they are valid complaints in light of the fact that Garmin represents this line as their mid-tier "Advanced" series...and because the model that I am reviewing is the top-end of that series.

I also think that Garmin is doing itself a disservice by cutting so many corners. Many people have decided that they don't need a portable GPS, instead relying on their smartphone's navigation capabilities. Hey, those maps and POIs are up-to-date every day. Clearly, the Nuvi series and other portable GPS devices provide FAR better GPS reception and significantly more functionality, but the challenge for Garmin remains. Many of us already own a smartphone...and that percentage is only increasing. Thus, for most of us, it's not a decision between a smartphone and a portable GPS device. Instead, many of us must determine if we ALSO need the portable GPS. Garmin knows this. In fact, they tried to stay viable in this new connected world by developing their own smartphone. Unfortunately, they failed...and now find themselves needing to try alternate strategies to compel consumers to buy an additional device.

Garmin's current strategy seems based as much on cutting corners as adding features. I suppose that strategy is necessary to some extent to ensure that they can market their devices at a reasonable cost. I get that, but at some point they will cut enough corners to demotivate many of us from purchasing. No powered mount, no case, no printed manual, sub-par screen technology, and charging a premium for lifetime maps that require a convoluted update process and that deliver a data set that still has massive holes. Sorry Garmin, you don't get five stars for that effort.

The good news is that the 2595LMT really is a fantastic navigation device. Voice Command far exceeded my expectations...and in my opinion, you should not even consider the other two 5 inch screen models in the "Advanced Series" if you can afford to pay a bit more. If you would rather spend less, I suggest dropping down to the 4.3" screen and getting the 2495LMT instead, which also features Voice Command.

Happy trails...whatever gets you there! :)

cheers,
Steve
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
161 of 183 people found the following review helpful
on October 7, 2011
Edition: Bluetooth, Lifetime Maps & TrafficVerified Purchase
Being non-technically minded I had feared getting a GPS. A few friends were happy with theirs. I thought if only there was a good voice command unit , and it had a large, clear screen. Of course it had to be easy enough for me to use. I decided to contact Garmin directly. Garmin offered great buyer assistance. The nuvi2595LMT appeared to be the suitable GPS for a senior citizen who feared sophisticated technology. The operational booklet seemed a bit daunting at first. After trying the 2595LMT out just a few times a few easily answered questions came to mind. The booklet became easy to comprehend. The 2595LMT became easy to use after three short uses. I wouldn't go anywhere without it. I and my co-driver love it.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2011
Edition: Bluetooth, Lifetime Maps & TrafficVerified Purchase
I purchased a Nuvi 2595LMT mainly to replace my old Garmin Street Pilot which was one of the best GPS portables out there for many years. My reasons for purchasing the Nuvi 2595LMT were for the free map updates and voice recognition. This is a totally hands free unit but also has a easy to use touch screen. The voice recognition works far better than I expected having use VR on many other products. No learning process for the unit and being an ole southern boy, it recognizes my commands, verging on a 100% accuracy. That's better than my wife, lol.

The 5" dia. screen read out and format are easy to read. This unit's functionality is very intuitive. It has an onboard user's manual which I really have not needed. With the 8 gig internal memory and Mini-SD slot it has more than enough space available for future use. With Bluetooth, VR and its many other features it is one complete unit. I do wish the battery life (2.5 hrs.) was a little longer, but considering that this is a little 5" monitor/mini computer, you shouldn't expect but so much. I highly recommend this unit for all types of users.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
72 of 81 people found the following review helpful
on November 11, 2011
Edition: Bluetooth, Lifetime Maps & TrafficVerified Purchase
I purchased the Garmin Nuvi 2595LMT to test for my small fleet, and as an upgrade from the 3-year old Garmin navigators we have been using.

The Good:
Nice big screen.
Lifetime map updates.
Live traffic.
Plenty of volume even in a noisy van.
It has amazingly accurate voice command software. I told my passenger exactly that and Garmin replied, "Please say a command." So you need to be careful what you say - it's listening.
Better touch screen design than older model.
Better touch screen sensitivity and accuracy than older model.
Much more intuitive navigation search than older model. Type in street number and name and it quickly searches the entire country for city and state - then gives a list, starting with closest geographically.
When using voice command simply state then entire address including city and state. My experience was that Nuvi's results were accurate.
This unit shows which lanes to be in in multiple lane situations. This is a great improvement when it works right, but see "The Ugly" below.
It finds satellites much more quickly than the older unit.

New entry after thirty days: It appears to be learning. That seems a huge upgrade from the older models.

The Bad:
"Traffic" is not in the voice command menu. You have to touch the screen when driving to get that.
Advertisements on the screen.
You are still generally better off traveling with someone who knows the area than with Garmin's navigation software.
This navigator does not seem to lock.
On the older models there was a way to plug the power cord into the navigator's mount so you could easily remove the navigator and leave the cord in place. For myself I prefer to secure the cord to my dashboard semi-permanently, so now it is inconvenient to take the unit off the dash, and it doesn't lock. This is disappointing. This downgrade is a classic example of "penny wise and pound foolish" by Garmin. They save a few cents manufacturing while lowering the overall quality of their product, thus damaging the loyalty of their customer base.
There are less language choices than the old model, with only two American English voices, both female. But that is a small deal.

After thirty days: The Jill Unit could not find Upper Road in San Rafael CA, because it is a private road. Funny, Google Maps had no problem finding it. Jill was sure I was driving cross country when I went on the road.

The Ugly:
I tested the navigator's lane choosing function in The San Francisco Bay Area at The MacArthur Maze, where highways 80, 880, and 580 converge and split with highways 24 and 980 also in the mix. Traffic is always heavy in this area. It is exactly the kind of place that if you did not know the area you would want your navigator to help you. I approached the maze from Berkeley on Highway 80 with a destination of Pleasanton, so she needed to get me on to the 580. Nuvi told me to stay to the right until I was 0.2 miles from the 580 split. Then she finally showed the lanes. I needed to be in lanes 1 or 2 (from left) of the 5 or 6 lanes there. If I had followed Garmin's instructions I would have had to make a dangerous crossing in heavy traffic to get in the correct lanes. If I had not succeeded I would have ended up on The Bay Bridge, and would have paid a toll and gone several miles to Treasure Island before I would have been able to get turned around. But that was not the end of it. As I proceeded (correctly) on the 580 Nuvi told me to get on the 980. It showed the lanes correctly (staying on 580) but if I heard her say 980 and followed the signs I would have once again gone the wrong way. I give her an F on the maze. It really makes me wonder how such a major freeway exchange could be so badly botched by what is supposed to be one of the best navigators out there. I commented to my passenger that the Garmin Nuvi 2595's performance there was unacceptable.

Later on that day she would not turn on again. She was only a week old, and apparently dead. Completely. I must have hurt her feelings with my criticisms.

She would not work in any power outlet. She would not work when she was unplugged and replugged. I tried the power button dozens of times. The green light was on on the transformer.

I then spent (wasted) many hours over a week's time, trying to get Car Toys, the vendor, to exchange the defective Jill unit. When I finally got a return authorization and went to package it up, I thought, let me try again, one more time before I return it (as Car Toys had promised me a three week wait to get it back). And she woke up! I don't know if I can really rely on her now, but I will give her another try.

After thirty days update: She was sure the approach to the Golden Gate Bridge from Park Presidio San Francisco was closed. She was right that there was a ramp closed, and it was about where she thought it was. But the ramp that was closed would not affect any approach to The Golden Gate Bridge. If there is one thing that is worse than lack of information it is wrong information. Therefore, I rate this error as "UGLY".

In short, this product has a looooong way to go, but it still is somewhat amazing.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
69 of 78 people found the following review helpful
on October 4, 2011
Edition: Bluetooth, Lifetime Maps & TrafficVerified Purchase
My first Garmin was the nuvi 350. It was great in many respects and was so far ahead of the competition when it was released that it felt like a revolutionary device. Since then I must have tried four or five new nuvi models. Very few were as good as that early 350 model and most of them, except my current 660, went back to Amazon.

The 2595LMT brings back some of the good memories I had when I first got the 350. Finally, this thing feels fast. Fast in searching, typing, and map drawing. It is an enormous improvement in the one area that has bugged me. No matter how slick looking and thin the nuvis have gotten, the interface felt SLOW and ancient. No more.

In terms of route selection, I will update my post as I use it more. My 660 chooses odd routes at times (yes, i disabled all the traffic re-routing (absolute garbage)), I hope the 2595LMT chooses more straightforward routes.

Voice control is pretty awesome. When you search by city, it helps a lot to say the city and state. It seems to do well on recognizing Spanish names. La Cañada is a tough one and I couldn't get it to recognize the name. Although as I type this maybe I should try "La Canada Flintridge" since that is the proper name for the city. One suggestion I have is if it comes up with a zero on a search name it should just list cities that are w/i a 100 mile radius or even slicker would be if you could tell it to find the cities within say 50 miles of another city. So if you say to the nuvi "cities NEAR pasadena california" then it would show a list of the cities around pasadena, la canada would be one of them. I don't know if this is just a novel feature that I will quickly get bored of or whether this is a game changer. Time will tell.

One gripe about how this and probably many of the newer nuvis plug into the car charger. I loved the fact that on my 350 and 660 I did not have to mess around with a separate power plug. The power input was integrated into the mounting clip. Brilliant. Well, now when you want to remove the nuvi from its stand, it involves two steps- unclip the nuvi from the stand and then unplug the usb/power cable. Cost savings move, but it makes it a pain if you like to hide your nuvi when you park your car.

UPDATE- "La Canada Flintridge" in voice command works! However, a family member tried to get to LAX by typing LAX, and got everything with LAX in the name, everything but the airport. If you type "airport" you will get the airport category as a link and then you can pick LAX from a list. The iPhone's google maps is smarter and more intuitive and understands LAX. Garmin has come a long way in searching, but you still have to run searches in a particular way or it will balk and give you a long list of incorrect results. A little annoying and can be very frustrating if you get caught in the loop of entering search terms and getting the wrong results.

I've also had a couple of freezes usually when calculating a route. May be related to traffic downloads. If this continues, it will go back...
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on February 13, 2012
Edition: Bluetooth, Lifetime Maps & Traffic
The unit is good, but free traffic is not true. You get constant spam of advertising on your unit with this. For a fee you can buy the subscription of traffic and it is listed on Garmins website as "Advertising Free". They said on the phone it only comes on when the car is not moving, but it still pops up all the time. One day I had it show the "coupon" as they call it 7 times in an hour. I called and their customer service (after sitting on hold for 30 minutes, which is what their message says the wait time is, I was told to buy the upgrade for fifty or sixty bucks and I will not have that on my Garmin. Wish the box said you would get spam advertising on their free traffic units, but it doesnt.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
on June 2, 2012
Edition: Bluetooth, Lifetime Maps & Traffic
Tomtom Go Live 2535M vs Garmin 2595LMT

I recently purchased the Tomtom Go Live 2535M with HD traffic, but wound up returning it in favor of the Garmin 2595LMT. I have tested both unit extensively in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex putting them through their paces in some fairly complex routing and traffic situations. Perhaps my experience will help some of you who are comparing these two competitively priced units.

First the Tomtom Go Live 2535M

First this is a heavy, well built unit that feels solid in your hand. It has a great mounting set up. The mount is easier to attach to the windshield than the Garmin and it has the added advantage of coming with an amazing magnetic powered mount that makes taking the GPS up and down a snap. Although heavier, thicker, and certainly too big to comfortably carry in your pocket, I loved the physical feel and appearance of this unit. It is solid and beautiful.

The screen is higher resolution than the Garmin and has a glass touch screen that responds much like an I-phone. In terms of resolution and beauty, there is no comparison. The Tomtom wins hands down. However, the beauty of the screen is also its Achilles heel. I could rarely read the information on the bottom of the screen because it was obscured by reflections from the inside of the car and the Tomtom's screen was just not bright enough to compensate for this.

I also found the Tomtom's feature set to be much more robust than the Garmin. Because of it's live connectivity, you could find POIs that were excluded from the database, as well as see useful information such as current fuel prices at nearby stations. The Tomtom also was a dream to use when it came to avoidances and detours when compared to the Garmin. You could actually see your route on the screen and drag it to an alternate street, much like you can do on Google maps.

However, I purchased the Tomtom primarily for its purported traffic and routing ability and here it did not let me down. It was just better at getting me where I was going and the HD traffic feature routed me around traffic issues absolutely seamlessly. In this area it was near flawless and it was for this reason that I desperately wanted to love the unit.

But, I couldn't. For despite having better routing and traffic capabilities, and a much more robust feature set than the Garmin, I found myself continually frustrated with the unit. Both the voice and the touch interface are slow and unpredictable. Sometimes it didn't respond to my touch at all and I would have to tap it again. Other times a single tap brought about a double response. The voice interface was likewise unpredictable. Sometimes it worked reasonably well. Other times I could not get it to understand me no matter how many times I tried.

But the deciding factor to me was how the unit handled POIs. When I entered "Best Buy" the unit promptly provided me with a list of Best Buy stores (this is Dallas). Unfortunately, that's all it provided. Just Best Buy, Best Buy, Best Buy. No city. No phone. No address. Nothing to differentiate the locations except for distance. And even when you tapped on one, all it showed you was its location on the map. Of very little use here, since there are probably 6 Best Buys on I35 alone.

So, even though I desperately wanted to keep this unit, I knew I would hate myself every day if I did. Which brings me to the Garmin.

Garmin 2595LMT

The Garmin unit just looks and feels much more "average" than the Tomtom. Although it is solidly built, it is lighter than the Tomtom, and can easily be carried in your shirt pocket or purse. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but to me the unit feels like just another random GPS. Nothing special.

As stated above, the screen on the Garmin is much lower resolution than the Tomtom, and instead of the beautiful glass screen, you get a plastic matte finish. BUT, even though the screen is nothing to write home about, it is functional. That is, you can see it. On the dash it appears brighter and the matte finish avoids the reflection issues that made the Tomtom almost impossible to actually use. (No matter how beautiful a unit is, it's not worth much if you can't see it.)

The Garmin also lagged the Tomtom in the traffic and routing department. As stated above, the Tomtom was generally more accurate when it came to routing and always bested the Garmin at spotting traffic issues. So, even in this critical area, I didn't think the Garmin was anything special, despite the much trumpeted 2.0 navigation.

But, despite the "meh" factor I felt with the Garmin after using the Tomtom, I quickly realized that the 2595LMT was the unit for me. Why? Because it just works. The screen responds almost instantly to tactile input and the voice command feature works amazingly well. Even in my diesel powered pick up, it had no problem interpreting my commands driving down the interstate at highway speeds. I found the menus to be very intuitive and it even allows you to place custom buttons on the screen, so that features you use most often are always available right on screen. I was also very impressed with the new "Exit Services" feature. As you drive along, this feature will tell you what restaurants, hotels, and fuel services are available at each upcoming exit. I found this to be extraordinarily helpful. It also senses when you start or turn off your vehicle and turns itself off or on accordingly. For the user, it works so well as to practically disappear. It just becomes a part of your driving experience that you don't really notice, kind of like the steering or brakes. It's just there doing its job.

So, even though I wanted to love the Tomtom and was highly infatuated with it, I knew I couldn't live with it. Although the Garmin lags a little behind the Tomtom in features, navigation, and traffic, the Garmin gets you where you are going nearly as well as the Tomtom without the annoyances and aggravation. I still believe the Tomtom MIGHT be a better unit for those who have to drive in heavily congested urban areas every day. However, to gain the benefit of its moderately better traffic and routing capabilities, they will have to put up with a fairly glitchy device that is also difficult to see in bright sunlight. To me, what I would gain just wasn't worth what I would have to put up with.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
81 of 93 people found the following review helpful
on July 21, 2012
Edition: Bluetooth, Lifetime Maps & Traffic
I have several Garmin units, and this is the one that made me change my opinion of Garmin. I purchased the 2595LMT yesterday at Costco and immediately I noticed that its quality is far inferior to my 4 year old 765T, still I was excited to try out an updated Garmin. Once I turned it on, I noticed that the screen resolution was very poor which was a huge let down. My older 765 had more resolution then the 2595lmt ; which is touted to be in there advanced series? Next the updating is ridiculous, I know it part of getting a new unit but still! Then I went to pair my phone and then found out that the unit has a volume issue. This unit is absolutely useless with the Bluetooth connection for a phone call. The volume is way too low and there is no way to fix this issue. I took my first trip today with it (one day after purchasing) and 4 hours in, the unit died. Turned off and never came back on. My suggestion is to skip the 2595LMT wait for Garmin to fix these issues, I am returning mine to Costco and will have to decide if I go with a new company or different unit, I have loved all my Garmin's so this will be tough.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 740 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.