Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A NEW STANDARD
Garmin, with the Edge 305 heart rate/cadence, has set the standard and literally eliminated the competition. The only thing the others can do at this point is to copy in attempt to duplicate. We have (2) with HR and CAD. Both have been used on the flats of Los Angeles County to the hills of Orange/San Diego County. The GPS has never failed to work. Actually nothing on the...
Published on June 1, 2006 by Adolph P. Rodriguez Jr.

versus
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but pricey!
I've tried all different types of bike computers, and this, to me, was going to be the holy grail. Although the price is very high, it has a lot of functionality that I wanted. One really cool thing is that it gets coverage everywhere. I went to one place where my older eTrex never got coverage, and this worked flawlessly.

One downside is the heart rate...
Published on February 27, 2006 by Phillip B. Shoemaker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A NEW STANDARD, June 1, 2006
This review is from: Garmin Edge 305 Waterproof Cycling GPS With Speed/Cadence (Electronics)
Garmin, with the Edge 305 heart rate/cadence, has set the standard and literally eliminated the competition. The only thing the others can do at this point is to copy in attempt to duplicate. We have (2) with HR and CAD. Both have been used on the flats of Los Angeles County to the hills of Orange/San Diego County. The GPS has never failed to work. Actually nothing on the Edge 305 has failed to work with about 1000 miles on each. You can program the screen to display multiple items and with a glance see all of your desired information. I monitor Speed, Distance, Elapsed ride time, Time of day, HR, CAD and Calories. Heck, The Edge 305 is better than the bike! The training software is also outstanding.

The only negatives have nothing to do with actual computer performance and in my opinion include:

*Price-This toy aint cheap.

*Size-Relatively big for a bike computer, but very light.

*Battery-Our units both are safe from four (4) to six (6)

hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect bike computer for gadget freaks!, October 22, 2007
By 
Wiley Hodges "Gadget Freak" (San Mateo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garmin Edge 305 Waterproof Cycling GPS With Speed/Cadence (Electronics)
I returned to cycling after a 20-year hiatus last year. Being a dyed-in-the-wool sucker for gadgets, I had to get the Garmin 305 as my bike computer. Cyclist friends of mine made fun of its size, made fun of my desire to map my rides afterward, and generally mocked the device. I ignored them, and I'm glad I did.

The 305 has been a great training partner. Thanks to its data recording ability, I can really easily correlate perceived effort on a day's ride with my actual performance in terms of speed, heart rate, and cadence.

Setting up all of the sensors on the bike was relatively straighforward (though the combined wheelspeed and cadence sensor setup was somewhat novel), and the directions were clear. You charge the 305 through its USB port. It comes with a separate power supply so that you can either charge it from a wall outlet, or from the USB cable connected to your computer.

On the bike, the display is large and clear. I've found it readable in any of the lighting conditions in which I'd be willing to ride the bike. The interface is relatively easy to navigate, though a bit puzzling to set up. Garmin's origins in navigation show in a couple of funny places. One of them is the default data fields displayed on the device: your heading is shown by default in the five data field configuration that I prefer, but your heart rate isn't. I was able to reconfigure it to display the fields that I watned to see, but I found the choice surprising in a product that is ostensibly aimed at athletes.

In use, I found that the GPS reception was generally good even in tree-shaded areas, but the startup process can sometimes be irritatingly slow. Data reception for the heart rate and cadence sensors has been glitch free.

In terms of durability, I've banged the 305 around quite a bit and ridden it in conditions that left other electronics begging for mercy (don't ride in the driving rain without putting your mobile phone in a plastic bag). The 305 still performs like a champ thousands of miles later.

As a Mac user, I found the Mac support lame at first, but it has been steadily improving with Garmin's release of their Training Center software for the Mac, a Mac version of their Web Updater tool, and improvements they've made to Mac support [...]. It's still not perfect, but it's very useful.

The ultimate endorsement of the 305 is that I'll be replacing it soon. Garmin has announced their upcoming new generation of Edge cycling units, and the 705 looks too good to pass up. I'm hooked on the capabilities and insight that the 305 has given me, and I'm looking forward to even more with Garmin's next generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but pricey!, February 27, 2006
This review is from: Garmin Edge 305 Waterproof Cycling GPS With Speed/Cadence (Electronics)
I've tried all different types of bike computers, and this, to me, was going to be the holy grail. Although the price is very high, it has a lot of functionality that I wanted. One really cool thing is that it gets coverage everywhere. I went to one place where my older eTrex never got coverage, and this worked flawlessly.

One downside is the heart rate monitor. Despite the fact that this device supports HRMs, it doesn't support the HRM standard, which means you need to buy the special Garmin-made HRM strap, which costs over double the price of other ones. You may ask Why, like I did, and the response is that this is a one of a kind device. Bad answer. The obvious one is "We want to make more money by marking the price up by 3000%!". Oh well, it is a neat device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice bike computer with cheap plastic mounting hardware, May 21, 2007
This review is from: Garmin Edge 305 Waterproof Cycling GPS With Speed/Cadence (Electronics)
Overall:

This is a clever and easy to use little device, but it comes with very poor mounting hardware. This is my first GPS.

Pros:

The GPS has helped me find me way when I've gotten off course. Since it doesn't have street maps, it works by tracking your course then guiding you back to the course. There's also a homing feature to guide you back to a home location.

The altimeter is very accurate, relying on GPS and barometric pressure to measure elevation gain/loss.

It's nice to be able to download the data onto a desktop computer for viewing and archiving.

Lots of third parties offer software to help you view the data online and/or share it with friends (i.e., motionbased and trimble-outdoors).

The unit is highly customizable, and the screens can be set up with any number of bits of information (up to 8 pieces of information a time per screen). There are several "views" including ones that shows just a course map. The software is relatively easy to use.

It's fun to find or make a route worth exploring using a route toaster, then going to the new place with the help of the Garmin 305's course map as a turn-by-turn guide.

Cons:

My only real complaint is the mounting hardware. For a $300 bike computer - the mounting hardware is the worst. The unit comes with two mounts (one for the handlebar, another for mounting on the stem). Both of my mounts started to crack after two weeks, and were broken within 60 days. I emailed Garmin and they emailed me back saying the mounts are not in stock, check amazon for prices. I've been carrying the unit in my pocket and looking at data after my ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time to throw mine in the garbage, August 17, 2012
This review is from: Garmin Edge 305 Waterproof Cycling GPS With Speed/Cadence (Electronics)
Add me to the list. This is my 3rd season with the unit. Season 1, the unit would occasionally turn itself off. It happened rarely, once every 10 rides or so. When I powered it back up, everything was fine. I figured it was a minor inconvenience, so I did not complain to Garmin about it.

Midway thru Season 2, it began to happen with more frequency, like once every 3 rides. I started researching the unit and have discovered numerous threads from consumers with the identical issue. It was now just out of warranty, and everything I read said Garmin was not doing anything about repairing the unit out of warranty.

Now in my 3rd season with this unit, and it is time to pitch it. It will not stay on for more than a few minutes even if fully charged. I have tried the factory reset protocol with no relief. It will also frequently lock up when I plug it into the computer. I will also note that evidently, Garmin did start repairing some of the units out of warranty if you complained effectively to Garmin.

It is a great training device when it works properly, but it has become an object of frustration now. Garmin is well aware of the issue with this device. Consumers should get together and bring a class-action lawsuit against Garmin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garmin Edge 305, August 9, 2007
By 
J. Ormsbee (Oswego, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garmin Edge 305 Waterproof Cycling GPS With Speed/Cadence (Electronics)
I recently purchased the Garmin Edge 305, w/cadence, plus I added the heart monitor a couple weeks later. I commute daily on my bike and I do 350 - 450 miles per week, with weekend centuries. This is a great tool for anyone who wants to have a better understanding of their effort and cadence. I have found very quickly that by focusing on my cadence and heart rate, I have improved my overall times and have become even more efficient on my bike. The ability to, customize the display, set up interval trainings, upload rides to the computer, analyze the ride as a whole or part and compare to other days is outstanding. I would recommend the Garmin to anyone who wants to become serious about cycling, get the most out of their time on the bike, and improve their performance. A little expensive but worth every cent. It has even helped me find my way home when I have gotten out in an area I am not as familiar with. Must have for anyone who really wants to track results, understand effort, maintain data and improve performance. One negative is the battery life is truly only about 6 -6.5 hours, so for the longer rides I have left my Cateye on my bike so I have some reference for speed, mileage etc... another is the unit will go to "sleep" if left for more than a couple of days, but by holding both the Mode and Reset button for 30 seconds it will "wake" the unit back up. Still awesome!!! Ride Strong!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift that keeps on giving, February 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Edge 305 Waterproof Cycling GPS With Speed/Cadence (Electronics)
This was a gift for a family member who is a serious mountain bike rider. He rides his bike 25 to 50 miles per day in very rough terrian. He loves it and I am sure that anyone who reads this and purchases a like or the same item will be more than pleased with its performance. Makes me almost wanting to become a serious bike rider myself. I purchased this item from Amazon and I am 100% satisfied with the cost the quality and the fast shipping that I experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs a better mount, March 12, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Edge 305 Waterproof Cycling GPS With Speed/Cadence (Electronics)
Device works great but wish there was a way to have a route map with speed and hr on it as well. The bracket either needs to be rethought or you have to remember to place your fingers on the opposite to the button you're pressing you can NOT just push the buttons on the left otherwise it pops off the bracket and bounces down the road nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy husband, November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin Edge 305 Waterproof Cycling GPS With Speed/Cadence (Electronics)
i bought this garmin for my husband, he loves to bike long distances. I loved the fact that it was waterproof, so he can use it even with unpredictable weather. Garmin is a very good brand and i couldnt be any happier with the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only lasted two seasons, September 13, 2012
This review is from: Garmin Edge 305 Waterproof Cycling GPS With Speed/Cadence (Electronics)
Like other have reported, my unit worked great when new but steadily degraded over time with more frequent 'freezing'. This also happened with my 605 so it seems to be a general problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.