Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The struggle continues and time grows short
I saw this film at a screening hosted by Clean Water for NC & Working Films' Reel Power and organized in conjunction with NCFrackFree, etc.
And it was moderated by banjo playin' Josh Fox himself.

I saw the film as tempered from the previous optics of flaming faucets and more attuned to the process of corporate infuence if not outright control of...
Published 15 months ago by Question Mark

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GASLAND II
The EPA study and findings needed to be expanded more by subject matter experts. The fracking problems was presented early in movie and in Gasland I , we get it; the opposing view was not expanded. The evidence on both sides should have been presented, and thus making a stronger case for the viewer. No doubt money drives the machine, we get that too. Cell Towers...
Published 8 months ago by FerdJ


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The struggle continues and time grows short, October 23, 2013
This review is from: Gasland Part II (DVD)
I saw this film at a screening hosted by Clean Water for NC & Working Films' Reel Power and organized in conjunction with NCFrackFree, etc.
And it was moderated by banjo playin' Josh Fox himself.

I saw the film as tempered from the previous optics of flaming faucets and more attuned to the process of corporate infuence if not outright control of government. The path is greased for the drillers. And the wells are spreading like a pandemic. The property, climate, and toxicity risks from fracking are real and happening. We can live without gas but we can't live without affordable potable water.

The bottom line message is to organize and develop vocal mass citizen opposition before the need is apparent. Ultimately, politicians truly must heed majority demands of their voters to get/stay in office.

However, when the need to oppose fracking is obvious as mineral rights are bought and wells are drilled, the politicians are already in the pocket and the juggernaut is already unstoppable.

In the film we see the wells adjacent and startingly close to Josh's previously secluded home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE! Covers the politics and also from the perspective of everyday people living adjacent to fracking sites., January 12, 2014
This review is from: Gasland Part II (DVD)
We obtained a copy of this film from the Gasland people and showed it at our local library. Its is long (2 Hours) but almost everryone stayed to watch it in its entirety plus we gave a presentation at the end that went on for another hour. If you are sitting on the fence about this issue, this film makes clear how much the oil companies are in bed with our politicians, and how they are dictating to them the laws and regulations they do or do not want enacted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Americans Don't Matter in A Global Commodities Market, January 18, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't think we realize or want to let in the fact that the United States as a discrete nation no longer exists. Therefore the lives of individual persons and families, once regarded as "Americans" also no longer exist as entities comprising such a country. That kind of former nationalistic identity has given way to a global market where natural resources as well as people are regarded as commodities whose value is determined by the monetary rate or profit currently attached to them. Energy corporations have determined that the market value of natural gas will rise in this country as the demand increases and will increase exponentially in other markets such as Europe and Asia where energy prices are already many times that of the US. Anything or any persons who may get in the way of that process are mere impediments to be removed by any available means, be it sickness and death, immanent domain of their property, or being driven out of the way. We saw this happening in China and criticized their government as "communistic", "totalitarian", "inhuman", etc. while touting our "freedom" and self-determination. Thanks to Josh Fox for exposing the fact that individuals and individual lives matter little in the context of enormous power and financial resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reasoning and Common sense, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was very pleased with Gasland Part 2 after seeing Gasland 1. This documentary explains in down to earth common sense terms of why hydro-fracturing deep gas wells and injection disposal has a very good chance of destroying water tables and causing damaging methane gas intrusion. By exposing this information which is actually common knowledge by the oil&gas industries we can value the need to proceed with caution in developing this resource and to continue to seek alternative forms of renewable energy. Hopefully to phase fossil fuels out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Def worth the time, November 29, 2013
This review is from: Gasland Part II (DVD)
Such an informative film. I had no idea any of this was going on. Everyone should see it. The End
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Documentary, January 16, 2014
This review is from: Gasland Part II (DVD)
An important film with great information, especially how bad ideas are marketed to the 'silent majority' to sell what is essentially harmful: fracking and its trail of environmental, climate and health damage. Give it a listen and consider the impact. If global warming (now titled climate change as the former title didn't work well) is a concern, then why are 2.5-3.0 million fracking wells permitted globally? All of them expel or permanently leak green house gases such as methane, well done Josh Fox!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful!, February 24, 2014
By 
Robb Kushner (Jersey City, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even broader in scope than GASLAND Part I.

Bravo - Josh Fox. Thanks for spreading the word so effectively. You're a modern hero!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must See Film, November 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gasland Part II (DVD)
This is an excellent film. Very powerful. It made me angry and a little sad, but it shows quite clearly that we will not be able to rely on the political process, as it currently exists, to protect ourselves and our environment for the generations to come. We will have to find another way. We will have to band together to take direct action -- by which I mean peaceful, civil disobedience -- if we want to have any hope of sustaining human civilization into the second half of this century and beyond.

Buy this film. Watch it, and lend it to your friends. Follow up with them, and then lend it to some other friends. Or host a party and watch it with a group. Then start or join a 350.org chapter and get ready to take action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our poor Aussie farmers are helpless to stop companies from exploiting ..., October 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gasland Part II (DVD)
Is Australia next to be decimated by all of this CSG exploration? We certainly haven't learnt much from the USA environmental effects.
Our poor Aussie farmers are helpless to stop companies from exploiting their land because of government policy. It's wrong.
What sort of Legacy are we leaving for our children and their children? Contaminated water supplies, air quality and food crops restricted.
It would appear the Australian Government has not heard of a company called Clean Teq Holdings. (CLQ) They specialise in treatment of all types of mining waste. This could be a step forward in stopping the development so that it doesn't get out of hand.
Worth a thought!
Well done Josh Fox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of two!, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Highly educational, even more gripping than the first installment- fantastic explanation this time around of what fracking actually is for the viewer who isn't in the know. Activism like this is just what we need more of in our American lives- hopefully it inspires and educates more than just it's already environmentally conscious targets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gasland Part II
Gasland Part II by Josh Fox (DVD - 2014)
$29.95 $16.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.