Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Jayhawks Fire TV Stick Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars14
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 15, 2003
Having read the book I'm pleased to say that I found it both interesting, informative, and fun. I like the no nonsense get down to it approach to the different guitar players and there gear. The rundown of the various guitars, amps, strings, and pedals, pedals, pedals used by these "Guitar Legends" (most of them are... but a few really don't deserve that title) gives a great insight in to the many sounds and tones you can generate from a electric guitar. More so Pete and Lisa go in to the playing styles of these players to give you ideas on how to go about adding some of there "Mojo" in to your style.
Perhaps the most important thing I got out of the book was to reafirm what I have felt for many years now. YOUR SOUND IS IN YOUR HANDS...not in some amp, speaker, or little pretty colored box from who knows where. Great Players sound great on anything but, by seeing the choices they have made in guitars and other gear goes a long way into developing your own choices for your own sound and style. I think players of all levels would enjoy reading this book because it covers sounds from the dawn of rock & roll up to the present.
The enclosed CD by Pete Brown has many good examples of the different sounds and playing styles of the many guitarists in the book. It is not a big over produced demo. It sounds like it was recorded at home using gear most of us have or can afford. The cool thing is Mr. Brown has the guitar chops to pull off close approxamations of the various "Guitar Legends" in the book. They are not perfect but they are well done nontheless. See what I mean good players sound good on anything. I'll be stealing some of those licks in no time. Where can I get my hands on Volume 2.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2005
This book is packed with info which will be of great interest to guitar gear-heads. You would have to search throught decades of old guitar magazines to compile the facts found here. A lot of the popular guitar players from the last 40 years are represented here, with the obvious exceptions of Stevie Ray Vaughan, (Beats me as to why any book would leave him out???) and Jimmy Page. It also wastes a lot of pages on several contemporary one hit wonders who will be nobody in a year. For example, Tom Delonge of Blink-182 is included, but Slash, who is actually a talented guitar player, is left out. The CD that accompanies the book was a bit of a dissapointment. With all the info in the book about vintage amps giutars and pickups, the CD was recorded with a computer's digital amp simulator and sound very innaccurate and fake. Still, for the price, it's a lot of good info.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2012
the information here is very top level. A lot of the book is spent discussing the historic importance of the musicians and not on the gear itself. I was hoping to see more technical information about the gear and why it technically makes tone X sound the way it does. This is a fun read, but not for serious tone tweakers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2003
I like this book a lot--there a great tips for guitarists on how to improve your tone. I learned that, if you want to sound like a top guitarist, it's not about what gear you own--it's about how you set your amp and effects up, and how you play your instrument. (Just because you buy an Eddie Van Halen guitar, that doesn't mean you're going to sound like Van Halen!)
The CD that comes with the book also demonstrates how to sound like just about anybody--ERIC CLAPTON, VAN HALEN, ANGUS YOUNG, METALLICA and more. Overall, this book has really changed the way I approach my rig and my guitar playing. Cool.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2003
Gear secrets is an interesting book full of the type of thing you would have read in the old Guitar shop magazine. The diagrams are easy to follow and the explanation of the signal chains are often done in the own words of the artist.
There is a good mix of players from vaious musical genres and enough info to satisfy players of all types. Even if you are not interested in certain guitar players it IS interesting to read about how they set up their gear.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2008
I enjoy reading about the various guitars, amps, and effects that various rock guitar virtuosos use in their performances. I also enjoy reading about the evolution of equipment that these stars undergo over the course of their careers. If you share these interests, this book belongs on your shelf. It is probably the most in-depth treatment of the tools that help these stars create their unique sounds ever published. It is well-written, technically accessible, and filled with first-hand descriptions of the equipment by the stars themselves. It's the sort of book that you'll enjoy reading over and over - I sure do!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2003
Don't know what the *ekstasis16* is talking about--GEAR SECRETS is an fantastic book of guitar-gear information. If you've ever wanted to know how your favorite players get their tone, this is the book to get you going. There are lots of great gear diagrams and interiews. EVERYBODY who plays electric guitar should check this book out. And the CD really COOKS, too.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
The book has decent facts on various rigs not as in-depth as I would like but decent. My biggest complaint is it was suppose to come with a cd and they sent me the book twice without it..now im expected to send it back ...not happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
Book doesn't tell you how to achieve the tones of the Legends it just goes over the gear they were using at the time it was written
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2009
Great book - I good insight on how equipment is set up and who is using what etc. tone ideas etc not to heavy just interesting reading or reference book. enjoy
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.