Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by book4buck
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Six discs( 4like new, 2 with a few scratches) , booklet (very good) and cardboard case - very good ++.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Gene Vincent
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Gene Vincent Box set, Import

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, Import, October 1, 1990
"Please retry"
$248.00 $84.00

Editorial Reviews

151 Capitol and Columbia masters plus 29 previously unreleased out- takes on picture CD's.Contains a 48 page booklet of rare photos from the Capitol archive.Medium 1
  1. Be Bop A Lula (take 12)
  2. Woman Love (take 12)
  3. I Sure Miss You
  4. Jezebel
  5. Crazy Legs
  6. Peg O' My Heart
  7. Wedding Bells
  8. Waltz Of The Wind
  9. Lazy River
  10. Ain't She Sweet
  11. Gonna Back Up Baby
  12. Who Slapped John?
  13. Jumps, Giggles & Shouts
  14. BlueJean Bop
  15. I Flipped
  16. Bop Street
  17. Well I Knocked
  18. You Told A Fib
  19. Jump Back, Honey
  20. Teenage Partner
  21. Blues Stay Away From Me
  22. Five Feet Of Lovin'
  23. Catman
  24. Double Talkin' Baby
  25. Hold Me, Hug Me, Rock Me
  26. Unchained Melody
  27. B I Bickey Bi Bo Bo Go
Medium 2
  1. Pretty Pretty Baby
  2. Cruisin'
  3. Important Words
  4. You Better Believe
  5. Red Bluejeans & A Ponytail
  6. Five Days, Five Days
  7. I Got It
  8. Wear My Ring (take 5)
  9. Lotta Lovin' (take 9)
  10. Rollin' Danny
  11. Time Will Bring You Everything
  12. True To You (take 12)
  13. In My Dreams
  14. Dance To The Hop
  15. Your Cheatin' Heart
  16. Baby Blue (take 7)
  17. Walkin' Home From School (take 15)
  18. It's No Lie
  19. Should I Ever Love Again
  20. Flea Brain
  21. Brand New Beat
  22. Frankie & Johnnie
  23. You Belong To Me
  24. Keep It A Secret
  25. Yes I Love You Baby
  26. By The Light Of The Silvery Moon
  27. Right Now
  28. You'll Never Walk Alone
Medium 3
  1. Dance In The Street
  2. Git It
  3. I Love You
  4. Teenage Partner
  5. Peace Of Mind
  6. Lovely Loretty
  7. Little Lover...

See all items

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 1, 1990)
  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Format: Box set, Import
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: EMI Europe Generic
  • Run Time: 398 minutes
  • ASIN: B00004S6FJ
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #574,718 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Morten Vindberg on February 4, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Gene Vincent was one of the big rock'n roll pioneers of the 1950?s. Originally I used to think that anything recorded before the Beatles was not really anything of real interest. Fortunately at a certain point I grew curious about the roots of the Beatles, and it was not very hard to recognize the enormous influence that people like Eddie Cochran and Buddy Holly had had on the groups that came out of the 1960's.

John Lennon always talked about Gene Vincent as a big influence, so naturally his music had to be checked out, too. The majority of his material may not be quite as immedialtely catchy as that of many of his contemporaries, but his voice was unique and he had the ability to sing different types of music equally powerful. Even pretty mediocre material was lifted above average by Vincent. Moreover his backing bands were usually first rate. Several of his guitarists like Cliff Gallup, Johnny Meeks and Jerry Merritt have long since become guitar legends.

This 6 CD box-set contains his complete recordings for Capitol and Columbia 1956-1964; featuring 8 albums, a lot of singles and EP-only tracks; as well as rarities and alternate versions. Most of it really great stuff.

The 48 pages booklet contains a very detailed biography, as well as interesting notes about the recordings ( sessions, personel etc.)

Its very hard to bring out any particular tracks, considering how many there are, but I have to mention a few of those that opened my eyes to his music. The ballad "Over the Rainbow" was never given a stronger treatment ( I believe ) than Gene's from 1958.

His version of "Up a Lazy River" from his first album is just great.

From 1960's "Crazy Times" you'll find one Gene's greatest own songs "Greenback Dollar".
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: vinyl pop