Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn how to make your genealogy research credible.
While short, Genealogical Proof Standard covers a lot of ground and gives the reader a good foundation in applying the genealogical proof standard (GPS) to their research. Readers learn what the GPS is, why it exists and exactly how to apply it to their work. There are a couple case studies in the book as well so the reader can follow along with the author.

The...
Published on January 2, 2012 by D. Koch

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good General outline
This book presented a good general out line but lacked details in how to execute them. It could be improved by including a systematic list of questions that allow the reader to better refine his search. Additionally, more examples of how to write a proof and address conflicting data should be included.
Published 12 months ago by John A. Sweat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn how to make your genealogy research credible., January 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Genealogical Proof Standard (Paperback)
While short, Genealogical Proof Standard covers a lot of ground and gives the reader a good foundation in applying the genealogical proof standard (GPS) to their research. Readers learn what the GPS is, why it exists and exactly how to apply it to their work. There are a couple case studies in the book as well so the reader can follow along with the author.

The book also includes a brief list of sources for further reading. If you're interested in learning more about the GPS in depth, I highly suggest you look at those as well.

The only reason I rated it a 4 rather than a 5 is that there are other books that explore this is more depth. However, if you're looking for an introduction to the GPS, this is a good book to start with before moving on to the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book explaining The Proof Standards, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Genealogical Proof Standard (Paperback)
This book is great for explaining what the proof standard is, how to build a solid case with primary and secondary information from the different records you are able to locate. It also explains how to pull all your data together to write up your proof argument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good General outline, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Genealogical Proof Standard (Paperback)
This book presented a good general out line but lacked details in how to execute them. It could be improved by including a systematic list of questions that allow the reader to better refine his search. Additionally, more examples of how to write a proof and address conflicting data should be included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Genealogical Proof Standard (Paperback)
Excellant and easy read. Helps improve genealogy sourcing. It forced me to re-look at other records and to review previous files. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd Edition Revised, May 22, 2013
By 
Betsy R. Miller (Central Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Genealogical Proof Standard (Paperback)
I updated from the original edition, and found the refined explanation and examples very helpful. Christine Rose is a go-to author for genealogical know-how!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genealogical Proof Standard, March 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Genealogical Proof Standard (Paperback)
It was very helpful to me. It guided me in how to write information about my ancestors. I would recommend this book to people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genealogical Proof Standard (purchased on 12/02/2011), January 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Genealogical Proof Standard (Paperback)
This book was received as promised in a timely fashion from Amazon.com. It is one of the best books I have found to show direction regarding proving Genealogical facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for genealogists at any level, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Genealogical Proof Standard (Paperback)
This is a must read for anyone who wants to research their ancestors. This is a quick read, and a great resource to keep handy. If you're going to research your ancestors, you may as well do it right then write it so others in your family tree won't have to start from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genealogy research, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Genealogical Proof Standard (Paperback)
This book was very helpful in providing ideas on how to prove a lineage when primary sources have not yet been located. The book explains the differences between primary and secondary sources with understandable examples. I found the book extremely helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Genealogical Proof Standard (Paperback)
This book helped me in my knowledge of what is needed to prove your research and ways to get the proof I need for my families genealogy. I have learned a lot and would recommend the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Genealogical Proof Standard
Genealogical Proof Standard by Christine Rose (Paperback - October 1, 2009)
$9.95 $8.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.