Kindle Price: $4.00

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Genellan: First Victory Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$4.00
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Length: 388 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From the Inside Flap

INVASION ALERT!

The murderous alien force tore into hyperlight drive on the heels of an interstellar peace-seeking voyage. The creatures were determined to find the humans' home planet. Their first conquest? The beautiful, Earthlike Genellan.

Led by space pilot Sharl Buccari, the peoples of Genellan--humans, the alien cliff-dwellers, and kones alike--scrambled desperately to confront invaders who seemed to be indestructible.  There was no turning back. Genellan would fight . . . or face total annihilation.

About the Author

Scott G. Gier was born in Aiea, Hawaii, in 1948. He received his undergraduate degree from the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis and his MBA from Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, California. He served in the United States Navy for six years and now works for a software company in California.

Product Details

  • File Size: 1033 KB
  • Print Length: 388 pages
  • Publisher: Del Rey (Rights Returned), Third Millennium Publishing; DTP1 edition (November 3, 1997)
  • Publication Date: November 3, 1997
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003A83CUO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #390,566 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

I am a lucky man. Born and pretty much raised in Hawaii, I graduated from the US Naval Academy and became a Naval Aviator. There are no smarter, more genuine, more professional people than those that you will find in the American armed services. I am honored to be a veteran. There are also no better toys than Navy jets, and there are few adrenaline-pumping routines on this planet that can match landing on or taking off from an aircraft carrier. I was also privileged to be a regular watch-standing officer-of-the-deck, underway, on board the USS Hancock, a WWII vintage attack carrier.

After six years in the Navy (the Vietnam War was ending), I went to work for the next quarter-century or so in Silicon Valley, California, where I was again privileged to work with individuals of exalted intelligence and ambition: entrepreneurs. Working primarily in manufacturing and later in project management and customer service, I participated in the technological miracle of lasers, computers, and corporate software almost all at the start-up company level. Believe me, if you want to have fun (and angst) working, go join a start-up in the San Francisco Bay Area...

I have always enjoyed hiking and the outdoors and have come to believe that humanity's most important asset (after our respective families) is the Earth beneath our feet. That love of nature and my experiences in the military and high-technology companies define my novels.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
The book covers don't do justice to the content. This is the 3rd book in a series of 4. This is a great read, but don't miss the first 2. It has everything. the series starts with a mystery and crash landing in the first book. It develops into lots of great characters, Politics, seemingly genocidal ET's and successful first contacts and alliances against a common threat. Fans of David Weber, Heinlein, Sharon Lee & Steve Miller, John Ringo, Lois McMaster Bujold and Anne MacCafrey will like these books. The themes are well thought out, and the characters all deal with the choices, sacrifice and agony of war, loss and hope in a realistic manner and sometimes with a little humor and romance thrown in.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Mr. Gier's work reminds me of Steve White's stories, told with a similar feel for the grand tragedy of interstellar war, mixed with the almost heartbreaking courage of the human defenders. Gier's universe is interesting, his science works well and contributes nicely to the flow of events. Good story.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The whole series is well written this one leads you on a non stop ride of action and science that keeps you turning the pages i cannot wait for the next one in the series!
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This book is excellant!!!
I could not put it down.
Scott's writing style has matured during the writing of the Genellan series, and his characters have become more beleivable and human - not superhuman as some scifi writers perfer.
The reader can almost feel the tension and emotion throughout the book, as Scott takes his characters through events that are described in such a way as to seem almost lifelike. The events are described in such a manner that you can close your eyes and view the scenes as the occur. Scott's characters are as lovable and beleivable, with strengths and weaknesses, as those in the Star Wars universe. Even the unreal flavor of the aliens' (ullagi) thought processes seem to be accurately portrayed.
I look forward to Scott's next book; I hope it arrives on the market soon.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This book is excellant!!!
I could not put it down.
Scott's writing style has matured during the writing of the Genellan series, and his characters have become more beleivable and human - not superhuman as some scifi writers perfer.
The reader can almost feel the tension and emotion throughout the book, as Scott takes his characters through events that are described in such a way as to seem almost lifelike. The events are described in such a manner that you can close your eyes and view the scenes as the occur. Scott's characters are as lovable and beleivable, with strengths and weaknesses, as those in the Star Wars universe. Even the unreal flavor of the aliens' (ullagi) thought processes seem to be accurately portrayed.
I look forward to Scott's next book; I hope it arrives on the market soon.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is an excellent story, and a great addition to the two other books in the series. This combines space opera, good believable characters, and a hint of mystery which kept me reading into the night. I just hope there is a fourth in the series, then a fifth, then .....
Comment 4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?