Start reading Genellan: First Victory on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Genellan: First Victory [Kindle Edition]

Scott G. Gier
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $4.00

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $4.00  
Paperback --  
Mass Market Paperback --  
Unknown Binding --  
Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Good Girl" by Mary Kubica.

Book Description

Invasion!

Fleet Admiral Runacres has taken the Tellurian fleet deep into the Red Zone trying desperately to make diplomatic contact, and now the Ulaggi mean to punish the humans for approaching too closely to the heart of their empire. The murderous aliens have come to kill.

Ulaggi battle cruisers, human motherships, and konish dreadnaughts converge on the planet Genellan, just as a convoy of Tellurian transports arrives to eject their vulnerable cargo of human settlers into the rugged planet’s atmosphere. Hotshot squadron commander Sharl Buccari and her corvette pilots are all that stand between the enemy and the helpless settlers.

Buccari is a living legend, but the Ulaggi have never been defeated. Can she stop them from invading Genellan? If not, Earth is next.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Editorial Reviews

From the Inside Flap

INVASION ALERT!

The murderous alien force tore into hyperlight drive on the heels of an interstellar peace-seeking voyage. The creatures were determined to find the humans' home planet. Their first conquest? The beautiful, Earthlike Genellan.

Led by space pilot Sharl Buccari, the peoples of Genellan--humans, the alien cliff-dwellers, and kones alike--scrambled desperately to confront invaders who seemed to be indestructible.  There was no turning back. Genellan would fight . . . or face total annihilation.

About the Author

Scott G. Gier was born in Aiea, Hawaii, in 1948. He received his undergraduate degree from the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis and his MBA from Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, California. He served in the United States Navy for six years and now works for a software company in California.

Product Details

  • File Size: 658 KB
  • Print Length: 388 pages
  • Publisher: Del Rey (Rights Returned), Third Millennium Publishing; DTP1 edition (November 3, 1997)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003A83CUO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #529,597 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
(9)
4.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***Don't miss This *** July 20, 2006
Format:Mass Market Paperback
The book covers don't do justice to the content. This is the 3rd book in a series of 4. This is a great read, but don't miss the first 2. It has everything. the series starts with a mystery and crash landing in the first book. It develops into lots of great characters, Politics, seemingly genocidal ET's and successful first contacts and alliances against a common threat. Fans of David Weber, Heinlein, Sharon Lee & Steve Miller, John Ringo, Lois McMaster Bujold and Anne MacCafrey will like these books. The themes are well thought out, and the characters all deal with the choices, sacrifice and agony of war, loss and hope in a realistic manner and sometimes with a little humor and romance thrown in.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Mr. Gier's work reminds me of Steve White's stories, told with a similar feel for the grand tragedy of interstellar war, mixed with the almost heartbreaking courage of the human defenders. Gier's universe is interesting, his science works well and contributes nicely to the flow of events. Good story.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book kicked butt from start to finish! September 14, 1999
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
The whole series is well written this one leads you on a non stop ride of action and science that keeps you turning the pages i cannot wait for the next one in the series!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third Time is a Charm for Scott Gier November 10, 1997
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This book is excellant!!!
I could not put it down.
Scott's writing style has matured during the writing of the Genellan series, and his characters have become more beleivable and human - not superhuman as some scifi writers perfer.
The reader can almost feel the tension and emotion throughout the book, as Scott takes his characters through events that are described in such a way as to seem almost lifelike. The events are described in such a manner that you can close your eyes and view the scenes as the occur. Scott's characters are as lovable and beleivable, with strengths and weaknesses, as those in the Star Wars universe. Even the unreal flavor of the aliens' (ullagi) thought processes seem to be accurately portrayed.
I look forward to Scott's next book; I hope it arrives on the market soon.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third Time is a Charm for Scott Gier November 10, 1997
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This book is excellant!!!
I could not put it down.
Scott's writing style has matured during the writing of the Genellan series, and his characters have become more beleivable and human - not superhuman as some scifi writers perfer.
The reader can almost feel the tension and emotion throughout the book, as Scott takes his characters through events that are described in such a way as to seem almost lifelike. The events are described in such a manner that you can close your eyes and view the scenes as the occur. Scott's characters are as lovable and beleivable, with strengths and weaknesses, as those in the Star Wars universe. Even the unreal flavor of the aliens' (ullagi) thought processes seem to be accurately portrayed.
I look forward to Scott's next book; I hope it arrives on the market soon.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

I am a lucky man. Born and pretty much raised in Hawaii, I graduated from the US Naval Academy and became a Naval Aviator. There are no smarter, more genuine, more professional people than those that you will find in the American armed services. I am honored to be a veteran. There are also no better toys than Navy jets, and there are few adrenaline-pumping routines on this planet that can match landing on or taking off from an aircraft carrier. I was also privileged to be a regular watch-standing officer-of-the-deck, underway, on board the USS Hancock, a WWII vintage attack carrier.

After six years in the Navy (the Vietnam War was ending), I went to work for the next quarter-century or so in Silicon Valley, California, where I was again privileged to work with individuals of exalted intelligence and ambition: entrepreneurs. Working primarily in manufacturing and later in project management and customer service, I participated in the technological miracle of lasers, computers, and corporate software almost all at the start-up company level. Believe me, if you want to have fun (and angst) working, go join a start-up in the San Francisco Bay Area...

I have always enjoyed hiking and the outdoors and have come to believe that humanity's most important asset (after our respective families) is the Earth beneath our feet. That love of nature and my experiences in the military and high-technology companies define my novels.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category